Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and original plot set against the backdrop of glorious Galloway.
This is the eighth novel featuring DI Marjory Fleming, based at the headquarters of Galloway Constabulary in the fictional town of Kirkluce. Kirkluce lies on the A75, roughly half way between Newton Stewart and the busy ferry terminals of Cairnryan and Stranraer, and not far from the real - but much smaller - village of Glenluce.

It's a strong point of the...
Published 10 months ago by Stanwegian

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t get into it.
It is rare that i do not finish a book. I didn’t like this one. I’m not sure it was the fault of the book maybe it was just poor choice.
I can’t say why i didn’t enjoy it
Published 5 months ago by K. Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and original plot set against the backdrop of glorious Galloway., 15 Oct 2013
By 
Stanwegian (Tyneside, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the eighth novel featuring DI Marjory Fleming, based at the headquarters of Galloway Constabulary in the fictional town of Kirkluce. Kirkluce lies on the A75, roughly half way between Newton Stewart and the busy ferry terminals of Cairnryan and Stranraer, and not far from the real - but much smaller - village of Glenluce.

It's a strong point of the series that Marjory is an utterly convincing character. She followed her late father into the police force, but married Bill Fleming, a local farmer, and although there is a deep bond between them the conflicting pressures of domestic and professional life are often problematic. They have two children, Catriona (Cat) and Cameron (Cammie), both of whom are young adults at the time of the present novel.

Marnie Bruce suffers from hyperthymesia - a condition which enables her to remember everything she has ever seen. If a memory is triggered, she re-lives the past as if watching a film - except for one night, 31 October 1993, when she was 11 years old. She remembers coming home from celebrating Hallowe'en, but her mind is blank from that point until she was found by a neighbour the following morning, covered in blood from a severe head injury. And her mother had vanished completely. Now, following the breakdown of a relationship, she decides to return to Galloway in search of answers. A young PC Fleming was part of the initial response to the neighbour's call for assistance on that black day in 1993, and Marnie looks to her for help. But that raises difficult problems for Margery, because to provide any sort of explanation for the events of 1993 she would need to reveal information about a crime committed twenty years earlier, and that information is very definitely not for public consumption ....

To provide further details of the plot would be unfair to prospective readers, but it's perhaps worth mentioning that the cast of characters is quite substantial. All of them are introduced in the early chapters, but bearing in mind the 40-year period explored in the novel, readers who share my capacity for confusion may find it helpful to list the names and relationships as they appear, especially if they expect to spread their reading over several days. That's not in any sense a criticism of the plot; it hangs together very well, but it IS quite complex and every character has a necessary part to play.

The broad setting will be familiar to anyone who has spent time in Galloway. In the East, it begins at Clatteringshaws Loch, in the heart of the Galloway Forest Park, lying on `The Queen's Road' (the A712 between New Galloway and Newton Stewart) and stretches in the West to the shores of Loch Ryan, a few miles north of Stranraer. In between, there are miles of remote and beautiful countryside. If you don't know the area, it might be worth spending half-an-hour on Google. Galloway is definitely NOT Home Counties rural, and an understanding of the remote and sometimes desolate landscape will help you to appreciate the `feel' of the story.

Aline Templeton seems to me to be seriously underrated. This really is an excellent crime novel, combining a sensitive portrayal of the kind of people to whom Galloway is home with a sharp and original plot offering plenty of `page-turner' moments. Hyperthymesia was only identified as a specific condition in 2006, and so far as I'm aware it has never previously featured in a crime novel. There are other very contemporary themes in the tale, as the reader will discover. What's not to like? Well, a couple of other characters turn out to have obsessive tendencies, and whilst by no means outside the bounds of possibility I didn't feel wholly convinced about the consequences stemming from these tendencies - but that's a minor criticism when weighed against the many good things in this book. I thoroughly enjoyed `Bad Blood' and have no hesitation in recommending it to other crime buffs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different DI Fleming story in that its more about ..., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
Slightly different DI Fleming story in that its more about her team than herself but no less readable for this change of emphasis. Thought the ending a little contrived and rushed which is why i only gave it 4 stars. If coming new to the series read earlier novels first and get hooked on Fleming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Blood, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Some parts reminded me of my younger days so I found an easy read. Will read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She gets better and better, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
OK, I admit I know Aline Templeton personally, and I don't normally review books by people I know, but in Bad Blood she has written a bloody good novel. It has everything that a good detective story should: an intriguing police team with their own personal conflicts, an appealing detective who is an extraordinary woman with ordinary problems, and at its core a plot that is fresh, original and topical. A very entertaining six hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
I do like British crime, this stands out as a great in line with so few others, written in such a style that you can belive that is how things are done in the police, I had to Finnish this as soon as I could so as to get onto the next book, I hope that Aline keeps this standard up, it would make a great TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn’t get into it., 25 Mar 2014
By 
K. Gibson "K.Gibson" (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
It is rare that i do not finish a book. I didn’t like this one. I’m not sure it was the fault of the book maybe it was just poor choice.
I can’t say why i didn’t enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
great read, enjoyed the book from begining to end. Love Di marjory flemming its like meeting an old friend. this is the eight book and i have enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific first novel, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
Having lived in this area for a while, I found the spirit of the place very well described, and the storyline an interesting one. Having taken the trouble to really establish the characters in the early part of the book, the story gathers pace later on. I like that approach, and the fact that there are supporting characters and storylines to the main whodunit. Perhaps the denouement was less surprising than it could have been, but it was not until fairly late in the book that that became apparent. I've already bought the next book, and am enjoying that too, so a good new author found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and entertaining., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
Some of the 'history' the book is set against is pretty uncomfortable reading, as with any child murder. But I enjoyed this book and liked the way the whole story unfolded. There are a few bits which seem a bit too implausible. I didn't quite 'believe' all the characters behaviours but it's a cracking story.

I noticed another reviewer mentioned potential as tv show/film and I'd agree with that. If they stuck to a short series more 'The Killing' than 'Taggart' I think it could be a very gripping watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 8th DI Marjory Fleming is a real page turner, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming) (Kindle Edition)
Marnie Bruce has hyperthymesia; she can remember everything she has ever seen. Everything except from one fateful night when she was eleven; she woke up in an isolated cottage with a head injury and her mother gone. Twenty years later Marnie heads back to Scotland seeking answers to what happened, but in the small town of Galloway, her mother’s disappearance still burns in the air and Marnie’s return looks set to tear open old wounds for many of the locals. For DI Marjory Fleming the disappearance of Karen Bruce is a case she would prefer not to re-open but the ripple effect of Marnie’s return makes it clear this is one mystery that must be solved. As Fleming unravels the secrets of the past, she realises Marnie’s life is inextricably, terribly linked to a monstrous crime decades ago. Can Fleming fit the puzzle together before it’s too late? And will the truth be one Marnie wants to remember?

Bad Blood is the 8th novel in the DI Marjory Fleming series of books set in the Galloway Region of Scotland, the majority of the action takes place in the fictional town of Kirkluce, which in real life it lies on the A75, roughly half way between Newton Stewart and the busy ferry terminals of Cairnryan and Stranraer, and not far from the real but much smaller village of Glenluce. They are many elements that make these novels work so well from the main character Marjory Fleming battle between home and work of being a good dectetive and a good mother and wife,the other likeable characters such as DS Tan MacNee, Andy MacDonald and Ewan Campbell. And of course the storylines which sees the author Aline Templeton untilise the small tight knit Scottish communities with a world of mystery and murder where the people may be cruel,weak or foolish, where bad things happen to good people and sometimes to people who aren’t very nice but ultimately where most are kind, decent and honest.

What I truly enjoy about Bad Blood and Aline Templeton other novels is that she has a way of writing books that take you on a journey of emotions and she keeps you guessing right up till the final pages of the book. I also like the fact that the Marjory Fleming series of novels can be enjoyed by every reader not just fans of crime fiction. I can’t wait to see what happens next and here hoping that we will be enjoying these books for a few years yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Blood (DI Marjory Fleming)
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews