Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Whether you are a native Glasgwegian or not 'This Road is Red' is well worth a read. Having lived just north of Glasgow for most of my life, many of the references resonated with me. However, whether you know what giant kerby is or not the journey Irvine takes you on is emotional and entertaining. You find yourself drawn into life in the Red Road, living alongside the...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by Ms. Claire Mcdaid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars High Living in Glasgow
I heard this writer at the Edinburgh Book Festival and I had the impression that
it was written as part of her research into living in high-rise flats in Glasgow.

It was well written ,I'm sure the information was accurate but it was a bit clinical.
I wouldn't recommend it unless to someone who needed to know about the
subject.
Published 18 months ago by Sylvia Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
Whether you are a native Glasgwegian or not 'This Road is Red' is well worth a read. Having lived just north of Glasgow for most of my life, many of the references resonated with me. However, whether you know what giant kerby is or not the journey Irvine takes you on is emotional and entertaining. You find yourself drawn into life in the Red Road, living alongside the long, and short term residents. Irvine weaves the tales of those who lived in the high rise in a way that makes you feel they are your own neighbours; you recognise names as the book progresses and you find yourself trying to make the connections to the stories earlier in the book. Ultimately however this is a story about people. The Red Road is what tied them together and Irvine demonstrates this beautifully. Irvine should be proud of her debut novel, it has fast become one of my favourites. I recommend this to anyone, whether you have a connection to Glasgow or not - if you are interested in people then this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charlie, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
i was one of the tower crane drivers on the [RED ROAD] so i read this with great feeling of history, as it was demolished. happy people, sad people, a town within a city, it gave people fresh hope great read thank u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Read, 1 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
As a proud glaswegian I was both humbled and inspired by this beautifully written book about Glasgow's Red Road. The author manages to portrey the happy, sad, symbolic, funny and poignant aspects of everyday life in the red road from their pioneering build in the sixties to the decline and deconstruction at present. The characters are well developed, emotive and real. The book takes you on a journey through the generations, people and races all to have graced the red road and manages to portrey a balanced view of of the good and bad that is the red road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very very special book, 29 April 2011
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
Much more than the sum of its stories, very intimate and raw in places, funny and heartbreaking in others. Never sentimental, cuts through stereotypes to the steel of the people and place. A special book, it totally absorbed me and some passages will stay with me for a long time. It manages to move you through Five decades, but the constancy of the setting of the flats themselves keeps you right in the moment of the characters. One of those books you can't wait to pass on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning debut, 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
This is a beautifully written fascinating debut from a hugely talented writer. She is obviously in love with her subject and this is a book that should be read north and south of the border. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, strong, skilled, 27 May 2014
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
The writing in this novel is very impressive, and more remarkable considering it's a first novel. Strong, assured, incisive and human. Beautiful prose. Impressive dialogue. The material may have come from interviews with residents and ex-residents, but Irvine has handled the material masterfully, creating coherent, authentic characters and entanglements over the decades of Red Road. An important addition to the Glasgow canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stories Within A Story, 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Road is Red (Kindle Edition)
Super book, well written, historically significant, endearing, heartbreaking and I couldn't put it down but didn't want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Odd and delightful, 18 May 2014
By 
K. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Road is Red (Kindle Edition)
Read it. And tell everyone else to read it. This collection of vignettes spanning 4 decades of high-rise living in urban Britain is at turns shocking, sugary, disturbing, funny and profound. It made me laugh and cry. Without the need for a polemic it is a manifesto of sorts, revealing the compassion and integrity that are necessary to survive such closely confined communal living but that are also perfectly natural to the majority of the people who rub up against each other everyday: told with humour and honesty. It's a life-affirming book. Some might think it's a little too sweet overall, but it's refreshing to read something that confronts cynicism so effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting entertaining read, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Road is Red (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't sure what to expect but this is a really interesting book about a whole lifestyle many if us never see or experience. Easy to read with great characters. Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Road is Red (Paperback)
i enjoyed the book. It was an easy read. Brought back a lot of good memories of living in the red road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Road is Red
This Road is Red by Alison Irvine
3.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews