Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Amazing album,can't stop listening to every song.Melodies keep popping up in my head and have to search which tune it belongs to.
Published 10 months ago by Helen Reid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than OK
Not the most exciting album. Her voice isn't the strongest and songs are a bit samey. Attracting Flies is by far the best track.
Published 7 months ago by Mark Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
When I first heard them I knew I wanted their album. I highly recommend that you buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good start, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
Strong debut. Quality dips slightly in places stopping it from being a classic but it has plenty of high points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is pop-step, 29 July 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
'Body Music' is the début album from electronic duo AlunaGeorge.

What happened to pop music? Is it just regurgitated boy-bands? Hyperbole ridden talent-show wasteproduct and their resultant fairytale-cover-albums? Specimen A and Specimen B.

Fortunately not! Here is a fantastic pop album - complete and fulfilling.

Body Music is the genius pop-product of the not so genius pseudonym AlunaGeorge, the colloboration of Aluna Francis and George Reid. Without having made the cut to win the BBC Sound of 2013, Francis and Reid will still be one of the most successful of the long-list. Body Music doesn't necessarily possess the originality of Chvrches but what it does do, it does very very well.

Unable to get enough traction from 'Your Drums Your Love', it was their work with in-vogue Disclosure that brought this duo back into the spotlight. The key to this collboartion was to set AlunaGeorge into a sphere away from the obvious similarities of Ellie Goulding and Katy B and into the post-dubstep realms of SBTRKT.

Aside from the more forgettable moments of the album i.e. the awkward 'This Is How We Do It' re-hash, 'Body Music' is a recipe for success. Each track is lusciously layered by Reid who manifests the foundations for Aluna's cute yet affirmative vocals; in an album rich of relationship anxiety it is the marriage of Aluna's voice and George's production that sets this record on the path of success into what may be the actual sound of 2013.

Listen To: Outlines, Lost & Found, Just A Touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars much promised and mostly delivers, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (MP3 Download)
This is a group that promised much and has partly delivered.
The song writing and production range from excellent to good. The singe, attracting flies, as well as the collaboration with disclosure hinted at a cool electro R&B group that err on the pop side of the tracks.
The album starts off brilliantly and continues in much the same vein.
The biggest issue I have is that the production never varies from safe, almost MOR electronic pop. By the halfway point you almost stop listening to the beats.
The songwriting does stay strong enough but I feel Aluna's vocals, also, never stray too far from safe and wispy - beautiful, but never exciting.
So, this is quality album that will sit perfectly for lazy afternoons at home but it's not going to surprise or excite you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable with a few really standout songs, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (MP3 Download)
I had vaguely heard Attracting Flies on the radio but never really payed any attention to who it was by wrongly assuming that as it was on the radio ti was probably not worth further investigation. However when i came across the song on Soundcloud and hearing the other songs on this album, it was not long before i bought the album.

I love the sound of the album, nice bass and her vocals fit very well with the electronic sound. Obviously whether music is good or not is very subjective but i enjoyed it.

Moral of the story don't be a dirty radio dismissing hipster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars collection, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. Cooper "big ears" (maidstone kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
this was another recording for my son massive collection he was over the moon with his purchase as it arrived in good condition and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
Love this albumn! It isnt "pop", its isnt "RnB", it isnt "dance" - it is really cool and fantastic. Give it a chance. It is different but in a good way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool cd, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
The cd arrived earlier than stated plus after a few listens there are not any bad tracks, anyone who liked the single attracting flies and liked your drums your love should definitely get the cd, best 10 quid I have spent lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CD's I have heard in ages :o), 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (Audio CD)
I love this CD it plays none stop when I am in the car, I knew a few of the songs before I bought it which I liked but all the rest are so good too, the tunes and Aluna's voice go together so well. Get yourself a copy and enjoy :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars every bit as good as expected, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Music (MP3 Download)
Love this. Witty and spiky lyrics delivered in Aluna Francis' curiously little-girl voice over inventive beats that avoid the obvious route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Music
Body Music by AlunaGeorge
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews