Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just so well done - it will last for years
I was allowed to purchase this once it was available on condition I waited until December to listen; which only seems appropriate. I am glad I have waited; so much better to hear this wonderful CD in the approach to Christmas. I have played it a few times so far and its getting better with each listen. Just two songs that are familiar to me but all the others are so...
Published 12 months ago by Xris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
I don't know what family they are aiming their songs at, it certainly isn't mine
Published 20 hours ago by Mrs. T. S. Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All perfect, thanks, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All perfect, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent christmas selection with a little difference to most christmas releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 17 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Audio CD)
I don't know what family they are aiming their songs at, it certainly isn't mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It fun and cheesy but not like all the oldies that are constantly being played
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Audio CD)
I love Nick Lowe. His five albums from The Impossible Bird to The Old Magic make up an extraordinary body of work. I am not alone in believing that this amazing run of albums established Lowe in the upper echelons of British song writers and performers.

I think Quality Street is a mixed bag of sweets. Christmas at the Airport is one of the only two Lowe originals and fits into the canon of his best work but some of the covers - "Silent Night" and "Children Go Where I send thee" - are dire and the balance somewhat mediocre.

If you don't have all the albums mentioned above but want more Lowe than frankly you should avoid this one.

Frankly this was a great disapointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars quality street, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Audio CD)
Only 2 good songs on album which were both played during interview on radio 2. The rest slow and dreary. Waste of money
. A disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Christmas pudding, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Audio CD)
Quality Street? More like Christmas pudding. A really stodgy load of poor covers and banal new songs (listen to Christmas at the Airport: a soppy, uninspiring dirge with awful rhymes). Time was that Nick Lowe could write fantastic material: Curtis Stigers's cover of Lowe's "What's so funny about peace love and understanding?" made Lowe a millionaire when it appeared on the sound track of The Bodyguard, selling over 40 million copies. Lowe also produced some good music. But that was then and this is now. It is an indulgent exercise that only sad people will actually like. Sorry. Nick Lowe is clearly a nice man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews