Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just so well done - it will last for years
I was allowed to purchase this once it was available on condition I waited until December to listen; which only seems appropriate. I am glad I have waited; so much better to hear this wonderful CD in the approach to Christmas. I have played it a few times so far and its getting better with each listen. Just two songs that are familiar to me but all the others are so...
Published 10 months ago by Xris

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
I love Nick Lowe. His five albums from The Impossible Bird to The Old Magic make up an extraordinary body of work. I am not alone in believing that this amazing run of albums established Lowe in the upper echelons of British song writers and performers.

I think Quality Street is a mixed bag of sweets. Christmas at the Airport is one of the only two Lowe...
Published 9 months ago by Reader from London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just so well done - it will last for years, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
I was allowed to purchase this once it was available on condition I waited until December to listen; which only seems appropriate. I am glad I have waited; so much better to hear this wonderful CD in the approach to Christmas. I have played it a few times so far and its getting better with each listen. Just two songs that are familiar to me but all the others are so well written and presented in a variety of fitting styles, all capitalising on the gentle vocal refrains of Mr Lowe.

A new classic for me and earnestly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice slice of mature cheese for Christmas, 16 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
You can always rely on Nick Lowe to come up with his own knowing take on things - his choice of songs and arrangements is never predictable. So I'm enjoying his selection of seasonal songs - some new, some old, bit quirky and to the point without being cynical. Fans of his recent stuff will like this, I think, even if the cheese-ometer hits 11 on occasions. Will happily give this a spin as a foil to the dreaded "favourites" we get bombarded with at this time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A record of delights, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
I love Nick Lowes song writing this seasonal effort includes examples of his talent as well as cover versions done in his laid back country rock style. Amongst the tracks that make this an enjoyable listen are 'Christmas at the Airport', 'Hooves on the Roof', 'Silent Night' and a country rock version of Wizzard's 'I Wish it could be Christmas Everyday'. This is a great listen irrespective of whether it is Christmas or not. Enjoy this album and have a great Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your sugary Christmas stuff but witty and very enjoyable., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
I love Nick Lowe and thought why is he doing a Christmas album, I should have known better. Buy it, one to enjoy without the faux sentimentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unwrap a green triangle and put a log on the fire. Perfect easy listening Christmas album, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
If you like your Chrismas music unadorned with anything but the simple feeling and emotions the season inspires then this is the album for you. It brings in influences as diverse as Andy Williams and Johnny Cash and blends them with a wry humour and a sense of fun. It opens with the gospel of "Children Go Where I Send Thee" and runs through the full range of seasonal joy until it ends with a ska tinged version of the glam rock classic "I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Day". There are some originals penned by Nick, Ron Sexsmith and Ry Cooder but all the tracks are made to feel fresh. I initally felt guilty listening to this when it arrived in October but great music is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and new Christmas album., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
This is not like your normal Christmas album. As well as the tracks written by Nick Lowe himself he has selected a rather unusual mix of traditional and modern carols and songs. "Christmas Can't Be Far Away" is a wonderful song to revive, originally recorded by Eddy Arnold, I think, years ago. From the opening bars of track one, "Children Go Where I Send Thee" to the fade-out of the rockabilly version of "I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday" this album is a class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
Great, Lovely refreshing music, can easily be played the rest of the year, not just at Christmas. Highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Christmas album, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. Jodieanne English "Jodieanne" (St. Ives, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
Enjoyed this as an addition to my Christmas music traditions, refreshing and a great way to rework the old and add a bit of new without losing the Spirit of Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of purple ones!, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Richard A. Mccook "Dr Van Scaredstiff" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
An excellent companion to 2011's awesome "The Old Magic". Although the majority of these tracks are either traditional or cover versions recorded in Lowe's wonderful laid back style, there are still two corking Lowe originals with "Christmas At The Airport" being outstanding. Buy it, it's probably the second best Christmas album around (Jim Reeves' "12 Songs Of Christmas" will never be beaten).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Lowe's Christmas CD, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quality Street - A Seasonal Selection For All The Family (Christmas Wrapped Edition) (Audio CD)
Great CD, I bought it more out of curiousity but was really pleased with it. Was sorry to put it away in January.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews