Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New book by Francine Rivers...
This book is a definite winner! It's a thick book, well worth the money. It's a gripping, exciting and dramatic story of one girl's struggle to be accepted in the world. Believing the lies she's made up in her head, she tells herself she doesn't fit in and that she's unwanted, unloved. So, when her foster sister's ex-boyfriend takes an interest in her, she's so ecstatic...
Published 10 months ago by Bookworm1

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A good read until the "finale", then a bit too sickly sweet and neatly tidied up for me.
Published 7 months ago by Karen Hamilton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New book by Francine Rivers..., 6 May 2014
This review is from: Bridge to Haven PB (Paperback)
This book is a definite winner! It's a thick book, well worth the money. It's a gripping, exciting and dramatic story of one girl's struggle to be accepted in the world. Believing the lies she's made up in her head, she tells herself she doesn't fit in and that she's unwanted, unloved. So, when her foster sister's ex-boyfriend takes an interest in her, she's so ecstatic she doesn't think about the consequences. Ending up so far in the deep end she doesn't know who or what to turn to, she's desperate to escape the mess she's made. Through it all, her loving adopted family have worried and prayed about her constantly, not knowing where she is. She's built a false life for herself and she'll pay for the consequences... but can she learn to trust God, her family, and those who she wants to believe are her friends? And will she find true, actual love without all the pretence, in all this? Presented with love, a fresh look on life and a clever pen, Francine Rivers takes you on a journey you will never forget!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TALE OF LOVE, FORGIVENESS AND REDEMPTION!, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Hardcover)
Francine Rivers' new larger-than-life novel, Bridge to Haven, is a powerful and intense story of a seventeen-year-old girl who is unable to get a grip on her life. Rebellious, she has been struggling all through her young life, physically and emotionally. Her life in the small town is filled with boring study, mundane chores and practicing the piano, and she is stiff tired. She believes Haven, California, is the dullest place on earth. She is dreaming to escape the drudgery of her life by moving far away to a big city, even dreaming of Hollywood and becoming a movie star.

Bridge to Haven by Francine Rivers is an incredibly poignant and soul-searching story - a sweeping tale of love, forgiveness and redemption. It is the story of a newborn baby who was found one night in 1936 under a bridge by Haven's minister Ezekiel Freeman. Zeke and his wife Marianne named her Abra. Five years later, Marianne dies forcing Zeke to give up on Abra to be adopted by Peter and Priscilla Matthews. So, Abra Matthews grows up under their watchful eyes but the searing imprint of her childhood left an agonizing scar on her. "I've been hurting my whole life," she said.

Years later, when a wily character Dylan Stark tempts her with the idea of trying their luck in Hollywood, she is seduced. She runs away with him, rejecting the advice of family and friends. She receives a make-over and becomes a starlet with a new name Lena Scott. But what initially promises to be an exciting journey brought her much heartache and disappointment. Everyone wants to exploit her, including her boss Franklin Moss who later committed suicide. Her life falls apart, leaving her painfully aching for the love and comfort of Haven and the dear people back home.

But when all seems lost, things can fall together miraculously beyond the hope of one's imagination. Joshua, the young son of Zeke who is deeply scarred by his experiences in the Korean War, is growing restless and wants to bring back Abra. His search brings him to Agua Dulce, and there in the most unlikeliest of all places they meet again. Abra was in her motel room, resting and reading the Gideon Bible. Every reading seems to point to her guilt. When Joshua brings Abra home to Haven, Zeke is praying on the bridge, almost as if he is waiting for her.

Bridge to Haven by Francine Rivers is inspired by the biblical story found in Ezekiel 16. It is a compelling story that will resonate deeply with readers. It is based on the life of 1950s Hollywood starlet Lena Scott, whose real name was Abra. Francine has meticulously researched about the lifestyles in the forties and fifties, Hollywood studios and stars, Second World War, the Korean War and many other details necessary to craft a realistic and believable story. It is an incredibly delightful story with memorable character that will leave a lasting impression on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridge to Haven, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
As always, Francine Rivers' story is amazing and well written - an enjoyable read from start to finish - by far my favourite fiction writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven PB (Paperback)
Love Francine Rivers, and this book does not disappoint! Only halfway through the book, but it's gripping. Francine at her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redeaming love is still my number 1 but this is a very close second place!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
I loved reading this book so much so I had finished it within 3day's of my holiday. I don't want to give the story away and spoil it so I will just say this...the characters are easy to follow and easy to relate to, there are some unexpected turns and a few teary moments of both joy and sadness. I highly recommended this book. Thank you again Francine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
A slowish start, interesting characters, the usual proximity of sin, passion, christian love,grace and what we all need, forgiveness. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Francine Rivers new book, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed it. Couldn't leave it down. Different for Francine Rivers. Would certainly recommend it. Definitely goo value for money. Barbara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from first page, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
I am a lover of Francine Rivers novels, this is one of my favourites so far! I found it had my interest from the first page and I just couldn't put it down. It normally takes me weeks if not months to read a book and I read this in 2 days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge to Haven (Kindle Edition)
As always, another gripping book from Francine Rivers! I could barely drop the book anticipating every next twist in the story. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge to Haven
Bridge to Haven by Francine Rivers
£6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews