Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!
Exploring Arduino is a very well written book. I love the fact that the author goes into technical details of not only how to write a code (which is kind of expected) but also of operation of Arduino itself and all sensors you use throughout the book (i.e. Xbee). All instructions are clear and easy to follow and author encourages experimenting with the code after...
Published 15 months ago by K.Klab

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not worth the money?
Firstly, I partly bought the book in error which was a slip that can happen using kindle. I'm going to return.
However, there seems to be a lot of theory about Arduino and electronics which may be just what your looking for, but not me. I wanted to be filled with enthusiasm for the endless possibilities of the Arduino, with some mad examples to demonstrate these...
Published 3 months ago by Andrew C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exploring Arduino is a very well written book. I love the fact that the author goes into technical details of not only how to write a code (which is kind of expected) but also of operation of Arduino itself and all sensors you use throughout the book (i.e. Xbee). All instructions are clear and easy to follow and author encourages experimenting with the code after completion of each chapter. This is an excellent way of learning because right from the beginning you write, modify and combine code all by yourself. The code doesn't work so you're forced to analyse and correct your mistakes and by doing it you learn even more.

The book definitely lives up to the expectations after watching Jeremy's excellent series of Arduino video tutorials on Youtube.

Pros:
- level of technical detail of hardware (not to deep, not to shallow, just right)
- creative and practical projects
- clear instructions
- nice progression

Cons:
- still looking

This is my first ever review on Amazon but since this is a brand new release and doesn't have any other reviews yet I thought I'll go into the effort to let others know how good it is. Easy 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in gold!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Look, I'm a physicist - not an electrical engineer - who dabbles in electronics. It's fun! And what better platform to use for programmable electronics than the Arduino (yes, the Raspberry Pi could also be used, but the learning curve there is certainly steeper as the Pi cannot control hardware as easily as the Arduino can). There are many good websites that describe projects for the Arduino: adafruit.com, instructables.com to name a couple. But if you want to go beyond those examples and really understand what's going on so you can design your own non-trivial projects...well, this is where this book comes in!

Blum has done a superb job presenting aspects of the Arduino in a comprehensive, fairly complete and accessible manner. Lots of bits and bobs of the material covered in this book is available online, but nowhere will you find this level of detail and coherence. The descriptions are very very clear and the projects are cool, entertaining and teach you a heck of a lot!

I have used other books on the Arduino before and always found them lacking. Yes, they had a number of projects described, but if you wanted to know why something was the way it was, well, you were out of luck. Blum's book has no such issues. He covers both basic and advanced topics clearly, always explaining how things work.

Blum covers advanced topics like serial communication, interrupts, data logging, wireless communication, communication via the ethernet, plotting data in real-time on websites and others clearly. I have already used this book to set up a number of projects involving these topics and I now feel like I actually *understand* what's going on! You can get information on many of these topics from the web, but I doubt you will really feel like it makes sense.

Get this as your reference to the Arduino and as your everyday project book. Combine this with the cool resources at adafruit.com and instructables.com and you are set to spend many a Saturday afternoon making stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious, practical, well written book that takes you from nothing to doing great things, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Kindle Edition)
This is so far the best of the auduino "how to do it" books. With this book, the downloadable example code, and a handful of easy to obtain electronic components, you will be writing and building your own projects in no time. The illustrations are clear and the reference material accessible and relevant. I thought I knew the arduino pretty well, this book showed me how wrong I was, and I am glad of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. M. Ferrar "ashman121287" (leicester united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great walk throughs and intro to electronics,4 stars given as i would have liked to see more industrial applications,but overall a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and a very complete Arduino primer, 29 Sep 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Jeremy Blum is an electrical engineer with a large following on YouTube for his series of videos on building gadgets using the Arduino board. He has now distilled his knowledge into a 300+ page book, covering the basics of programming the Arduino, using the tools and interfacing to a lot of common devices.

The book sections cover sensors, a variety displays and actuators, and ultimately embrace wireless, writing to a memory card and sending data to the internet. Going beyond the basic "connecting LEDs to an Arduino" tutorial (of which there are already many), Blum takes time to explain some of the principles of electronics, and other key topics, like the computer representation of signals. He explains interfaces that will allow your Arduino to connect to other devices, including the serial interface, SPI and I2C. The latter interfaces are widely used in sensors, and understanding them allows you to interconnect multiple Arduinos (and also incidentally the Raspberry Pi). There is a lot of transferable knowledge in this book.

If you're thinking of building some kind of robot or other self-contained gadget that needs sophisticated on-board processing, then this book is an excellent starting point, and will guide you how to program and connect the various components you need. It's easy to follow and clearly describes how to test various hookups, and download or create the software that you need to drive them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not comprehensive, few projects, but a great grounding book, 29 Sep 2013
By 
David Burton "aenikata" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While most Arduino books focus on providing a range of projects to build, this takes a different approach. It discusses some things that you could do with an Arduino, and focuses on how you do various things that will be required for implementing those. Rather than canned projects, you have details about reading a range of sensors, controlling motors (and controlling circuits requiring a higher voltage or current), serial communication, and how to work with a number of supporting chips (such as I2C for controlling displays and other devices with just a few wires, and XBee communication).
With this information you could implement a sensor with wired or wireless serial output, or a display box, or a robot that can be controlled via XBee - there's lots of potential projects. While this avoids outlining a lot of toy projects, if you do have an idea this book may well give you a fairly complete idea on what components will do what you need and how to use them, so for those with their own ideas, this is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes it pays to read the text book first, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having picked up Arduino programming from examples and lots of trial and error I wish I had read this book first or at least quite soon after starting my Arduino projects. Very well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the basics..., 26 Nov 2013
By 
S. D. Spicer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've had a couple of books from Amazon Vine on Arduino now and they have all been pretty good. Blum's book is a bit more technical and a little less prescriptive that the others and thus makes a good reference if you want to develop beyond just following someone else's prescriptions.

The sample programs are easy to follow and anyone with a reasonable interest in programming should be able to follow them and build on them without too much difficulty. certainly my son who is doing Java at A level had no problem writing programs or using it as a hardware cookbook.

I am less impressed with the hardware side through. It's very US centric and despite an exchange of messages with the author who assured me that the companion website was available world-wide through Farnell/Element 14, I have to say at the time of writing this is not the case. Of course it is easy just to order the components from Farnell UK; once you've found the equivalents - but dangling a discount that you can't get is frustrating and it felt like really the author wasn't that interested.

Despite that gripe, overall this is a fantastic book for those wanting to move on from novelty uses and wanting to explore more deeply what the Arduino can do; at the current price of less than £12 it make a formidable textbook and cookbook for hobbyists and students exploring micro controllers. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point for the Arduino, 13 Nov 2013
By 
A. Taylor (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I purchased an Arduino a couple of years ago, more out of curiosity than anything else. My background is in software development but the hardware side of things has always interested me. Apart from running through a few basic projects I never really did anything that interesting with the Arduino, so I was hoping Exploring Arduino would change that.

Exploring Arduino starts off nice and easy and introduces the reader to several new concepts in each chapter. The text of the book is written clearly and is very readable even as you progress on to the more complicated subjects further through the book.

The sample programs in the book are pretty clear and easy to follow, although anyone with a working knowledge of Java or any other modern programming language is not going to struggle with the software side of the Arduino.

My main gripe is that it would have been nice if the circuit and breadboard layout diagrams were clearer. Whilst it's not essential, I feel the breadboard diagrams would really have benefited from being in colour as it would make things a lot simpler to follow.

There is also a companion website to the book which lists the parts you'll need to build the projects. The site links through to a commercial website called Newark/element14 which sells the hardware you'll need in bundled kits. This is an American site though, so it's not much use for those of us in the UK.

Having already got an Arduino and a few bits and pieces I really just wanted to buy the additional components I'd need. I found it tricky to find the equivalent bits on UK websites, presumably because they are made by different manufacturers and have different part numbers. In the end I had most luck using the RS components website for this and the majority of the parts are not that expensive.

Overall, I would say Exploring Arduino is a good book for learning about the basics of the Arduino, electronics and software, but is let down by the quality of the diagrams. If you already know your way around the Arduino then I'd say this is not the book for you. There are plenty of books and websites dedicated to the Arduino, so it's worth looking around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to arduino and electronics, 27 May 2014
By 
R. murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good, well paced and structured intro to Arduino and electronics and I'm very happy with what I have purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews