Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.42
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2013
With many "classic" works of science they are totally outdated after ten or 20 years, and you are better off reading an up to date introduction to the subject. This book is really an exception.
Maslow's insights are still fresh and valid, his ideas are broad, his concepts are useful, and his writing is very concise and transparent. It's a joy to read. If more psychology and humanities professors wrote with as much honesty, humility, sincerety and wisdom as Maslow, the world would be a better place indeed.

The book contains 14 essays:
Introduction: Toward a psychology of health
What psychology can learn from the existentialists
Deficiency motivation and growth motivation
Defense and growth
The need to know and the fear of knowing
Cognition of Being in the peak-experiences
Peak-experiences as acute identity-experiences
Some dangers of Being-cognition
Resistance to being rubricized
Creativity in self-actualizing people
Psychological data and human values
Values, growth and health
Health as transcendence of environment
Some basic propositions of a growth and self-actualization psychology
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
I love the writing of A.H.Maslow ! BUT this edition is an absolute disgrace ! The book cover is wholly unsuitable for the subject matter.The formatting and layout are deplorable! Chapters start on left hand side pages ! Font size is tiny and barely legible, page numbering starts too soon. There are no page breaks between chapters, and even the print quality is compromised. If you do purchase this edition you will be sorely disappointed as I was. I do not like to complain but feel it is a moral imperative to do so in this instance. I believe that Maslows work deserves so much better than this....Of course I would give the authors work five stars but the whole package is an insult to his brilliance......This is an example of how not to publish with Amazon.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
In my opinion, Maslow never disappoints in terms of a good philosophical and theoretical discourse that is even more relevant again since the positive psychology movement. I always felt that he was a little under-valued and this maybe due to the relatively theory-heavy way he writes, which relies less on research evidence than we expect today. However, a lot of his theories are now integral parts of positive psychology in some form or another, often un-acknowledged.

This book is well written and outlines the important elements of positive emotional wellbeing. I find it very useful in my work with clients and have been able to apply it in practice. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in a less problem-focused approach to psychology.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Maslow's ideas on self actualisation are pretty much the same as Erich Fromm's transcendentalism or Alfred Adler's Individual Psychology. However Maslow has been accepted by the mainstream due to his hierarchy of needs. What standard psychology forgot however, was the tip of Maslow's pyramid - self actualisation - the act of becoming the self. Within this book, which is written for the intelligent lay person are the themes which demarcate those who self actualise and those who do not.

On this basis, Maslow is very similar to Nietzsche's concept of the superman, those who overcome who they are. He also wades into the deification of science and the shortcomings of Freud, echoing Berne that most people are ok, it is just how they are stunted which creates the problem.

Therefore for anyone in the psychological field, I would read further than the idealised mechanistic man, to discover someone who exists beyond the paint by numbers concept of humanity. For here is the route out of robotics
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
A fascinating study of mentally well people (as opposed to mentally unwell people) But the book is a bit too technical for the lay reader with no exposure to the study of psychology. A very good reference book to keep on the shelf
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Abraham Maslow provides a practical and useful account of his concept of the basis of human psychology in terms of a cognitive structure that is practical and understandable. I found this work helpful, instructive and well written.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This a great book ,useful to anyone in the teaching profession.The book looks at human growth, social theory and self motivation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
A gift for my studious daughter; she is delighted, She lost her hard copy at Portsmouth Railway station so we ordered the Kindle copy, she was able to finish reading to the end & then returned my Kindle to me. All's well that ends well. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
A.H.M. is a genius.........B-Cognition, D-Cognition; peak experiences, creativity, perception.............explained in layman's terms......not explainable here but highly readable........Everyone should read this whatever his/her disfunction.......Life assumes itself for each........
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I was very pleased with the item. i was also pleased with the speed of delivery too. i recommend this item to anyone. good quality and excellent value for money
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)