Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A side-splitting good read from this multi-talented musician
A word of caution- only buy this book if you can spare quite a few hours as there's no way you'll be able to put it down until you've completed it!

An hilarious account of Gordy's experiences on the road as additional drummer with top British band The Moody Blues. All of the trials and tribulations are recounted in Gordy's unique and inimitable style, from the...
Published on 8 Sep 2012 by Tony Brown

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok
Once you get the idea he is on tour , he gets up, goes for a run, has breakfast, plays the gig . that's about it really . thought there would be more insight to the moodies and the others in the band .Rather disappointing read
Published 12 months ago by brickbat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A side-splitting good read from this multi-talented musician, 8 Sep 2012
A word of caution- only buy this book if you can spare quite a few hours as there's no way you'll be able to put it down until you've completed it!

An hilarious account of Gordy's experiences on the road as additional drummer with top British band The Moody Blues. All of the trials and tribulations are recounted in Gordy's unique and inimitable style, from the tedium of never ending tour buses, private jets and hotel check-ins, to the unexpected encounters with A-list fans and moguls, all whilst busily trying to keep down a steady stream of appopintments with top West End musicals.

For those of us that followed them across parts of the US, UK and Amsterdam tour of 2010, to get the perspective 'from the other side' is a rare treat, and, the flashbacks to other key moments in his career with the band show why he is held in so high regard by the fans.

With a fantastic Foreword by co-skins-thumper and original member of The Moody Blues, Graeme Edge, this book should be high on the list for anyone remotely interested in rock-n'roll. On a score of 1 to 10, this one goes up to 11.

Tony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey, 3 July 2013
By 
Fabulous read. I couldn't stop reading due to the wonderful 'journey' I was able to travel through the eyes of band member and actually be a part of in concerts. An honest look into 'life on the road'. Bravo, Gordon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Special Friend, 20 Mar 2013
I loved this from start to finish. Gordy gives a witty, amusing yet realistic insight to being on tour. It's not all fun, it's hard work, and captured perfectly in his 'blog', snapshot style of sharing his experiences. Reading it was like having a friend drop by with their latest news. I feel bereft now it's finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Entertaining Read, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a massive fan of the moody blues for the whole of their musical journey (apart from the very early "go now" days)i have been to many of their concerts in the uk, one thing you cant disguise is the sheer love of music, the enjoyment of what they do, night in / night out and the incredible talent on stage is a real pleasure to experience. And for sure you cant help but notice Gordy Marshall sat behind his drums, he his a serious drummer / percussionist (and multi talented musician) who adds real power and theatre to the mooodies stage presence. It was when buying Justin Haywards latets solo CD that i was directed to this book, well all i can say as a person that doesnt really read a great deal...if you are a moodies fan, and even better if you are a drummer!! (i like to pretend i am) and if you like a different sort of read....buy Gordy's book, its light hearted, and informative. i found it really easy to read, i really couldnt wait to get back to read a few more "postcards" its just simple no frills stuff that gives a real insight into a long tour of the US, Canada, UK & into Europe with the real highs and also some lows...you can really feel those good days and also understand the occasional bad day...but its always inspiring...its also nicely light hearted, many times i just found myself laughing aloud at some of the many humourous incidents that he recounts so well.

Anyway, half way through this book it just made me want to see the Moody Blues (with Gordy Marshall) on tour once more!!..so i ordered a couple of tickets to the Moodies NEC concert. By just reading his book it has inspired me to be a better drummer!!, i just cant wait to get to band practice again!!

Have a look, its well worth the money, i was sad to get to the last page.

Rock on Gordy, rock on the Moodies !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enlighted travellogue of a rock band, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
20 years with the Moody Blues and he rarely gets a mention - this is a great honest travel guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Rock & Roll fans, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a fan of the Moody Blues for what seems a lifetime,this was a must read. Gordy Marshall has been a backing drummer for the band for over 20 years. He gives a good insight to life on the road with a major rock band. He tells of the good and bad times also the funny and serious times.it is also not a bad travel guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Rock & Roll fans, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved it! So absorbing that I almost feel that I have been travelling on the Good Ship Everything too! And Gordy's wonderful sense of humour kept me smiling from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was such a fun read. Don't make the mistake of thinking it is about the Moody Blues - it isn't. It's what it says on the cover, and from a very down to earth perspective. Very easy to read - only wish it had been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared for your sides to ache while reading this book...., 9 Aug 2013
As the 'second drummer' for the Moody Blues, Gordy Marshall is well known for his illustrious musical talent and career that spans over several decades. 'Writer/author' should now be added to his list of accomplishments.

Each chapter of this book gives the reader a snapshot view of life on the road while touring with a world class band, The Moody Blues. I rarely laugh out loud while reading most books but I simply couldn't stop with this one.

However without giving too much away, it's important to note that this is certainly not just a light-hearted book. There are many thought provoking 'moment to pause' passages as well.

Gordy Marshall's writing style is reminiscent of Bill Bryson and Garrison Keillor. But make no mistake, Gordy offers his own unique and special way of sharing his road warrior tales with the reader.

I highly recommend this book!

[ASIN:B0094MHW6K Postcards From a Rock & Roll Tour]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The words of a hard working rock drummer., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please don't buy or borrow this book in any shape or form......if you are looking for a book that dishes the dirt on a touring rock band. But if you are looking for a funny, enjoyable book that goes further than "went here, did that, got drunk went to bed, got up" then this is the one.
Gordy's writing style is entertaining, conversational and informative with plenty of interesting facts about the places he passed through. The fact that he was touring with an internationally famous rock band,(and at the time of writing is touring the UK )is the icing on the cake. This book took me with him to the US and Canada and around various venues in the UK. I ate with him, jogged with him and watched him sweat on the drum stool. It felt like I was chatting to a mate in the pub, someone who's life experiences are so different to mine, yet likes nothing more that a cuppa in bed. He puts the rubbish out, sees the kids off to school and walks the dog. He's a decent hard working bloke who happens to do a job that we of a certain age dreamt about once, but life took over. I met him once, it was twenty years ago and it's unlikely he'll remember, backstage in Manchester. I was a guest of Paul Bliss, the then Keyboard player. He was warm, friendly and had none of the Rock Star attitudes. A normal bloke, and it's this endearing attitude that comes across in his writing.
I would gladly recommend this book as an intelligent and thoroughly good read, and eagerly anticipate " Postcards 2 "
As a footnote, since publication of the book, Gordy has got together with some friends, including Paul Bliss, as a touring band called "Reflections of a Rock and Roll Tour ". Check them out on You-Tube or live when current commitments allow. ( Written by John Adams......even though the account is in my wife's name, with her permission!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews