Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great record from the best band in the world.
I'm a massive Devotee so anything this band does I will buy. One of my favourite tracks from Delta Machine!
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Shaun Michael Pears

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great track, but these mixes aren't so hot
Plumped for the remix CD EP, and also the 12" as no overlap, as the Radio Mix by Mark "Spike" Stent is also on this CD. The original album version is incredible, and for me the highlight of the very strong Delta Machine album. As such I wasn't expecting these mixes would better it, but hoped they'd still include some good reinterpretations.

Very mixed bag - I...
Published 10 months ago by M. B. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great track, but these mixes aren't so hot, 18 Oct 2013
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
Plumped for the remix CD EP, and also the 12" as no overlap, as the Radio Mix by Mark "Spike" Stent is also on this CD. The original album version is incredible, and for me the highlight of the very strong Delta Machine album. As such I wasn't expecting these mixes would better it, but hoped they'd still include some good reinterpretations.

Very mixed bag - I only enjoyed the Little Vampires and MAPS remixes, as both are still very electronic but take the track in different directions (MAPS mix is quite ambient in places). Neither are as strong as the original, but they are both worth having. However for me the 2 'guitar-laden' mixes (tracks 1 and 4) are a bit of a mess, although I'm sure the rockier tinge will appeal more to other fans. The Spike Radio Mix is perhaps the most disappointing, as the mix boosts certain sounds I would've preferred were left lower in the mix, whilst almost removing the bleeps that develop the track nicely through verse 2. Mr Stent often produces the goods, but for some reason this just had me wishing he'd done an edit of the album version, rather than a slight tweak/mix.

Remixes are a very personal taste, but I wish the band/producer/Flood had sat down and given us a proper extended remix of this superb track themselves - it really deserved it! Oh well.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Clunky Noise, 19 Nov 2013
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
It seems that more remixes these days are less in line with the original sound and style of the band and more in tune with the 'club' 'boom boom' 'bang bang' noise of these days.

I miss the DM remixes of a decade ago that is not only an expansion of what they did, but adds another aspect of their style to it. It's like someone has appreciated what they did, are developed by it musical-wise, and then remixed it after being thus inspired.

Now, it is mostly a noisy soulless deviation from it. For instance, you can compare DM's remixes 1 with the current release. Same applies.

People whom are into DM's remixes of these days will rarely be able to produce something as good or better than that which inspired it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great record from the best band in the world., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
I'm a massive Devotee so anything this band does I will buy. One of my favourite tracks from Delta Machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 19 Mar 2014
By 
D. L. Carroll (Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
I would go and and buy this if you're a Depeche Mode fan. Even more than the previous single, this is surprising really good as often their remixes are a bit crap. I really can't stop playing these versions. Loved the song and love these..buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
Love Depeche and a great track on a very good album, best album for years, even better in concert! But then they have been the best live band on the planet for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's not OK anymore., 27 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
Fantastically well produced slab of an authentic dépÍche mode single quality tune. Then the straight remixes. Safe, formulaic, genre box ticking blandness. Nothing pioneering, fresh or original. Why speed up a vocal? Children and adult remix packages should be separate just like their TV schedules. Perhaps I am over critical of this release, perhaps it is just the straw that broke the camel’s back and made him explode in a busy market covering everybody in camel hair, guts, tobacco and coconut milk (what, I’m not a vet, who knows what is inside those humps, it is a truly genuine mystery of the east), perhaps I will play this some evening as the power fluctuates and it will be all woozy and interesting, spewing all frequencies and tones unfamiliar and intriguing with clip and thud loops faded and spiralling as vocals blossom bloom and boom sellotape and binoculars on Tuesday whe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
Had heard the Jim jones mix a few weeks earlier and then heard the Grinderman remix was on it and thought this would be a complete train wreck. Fortunately the little vampire and MAPS mixes pulled this release out of a big hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Higher, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
Great versions for a great song. Enjoyed them a lot!!! Depeche Mode are just superb!!!
Can't wait to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Higher- The Remixes, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
One of the best songs that symbolize Delta Machine.
The Grinderman remix is very good, more than other remix.
Overall is a good record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed release, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Should Be Higher- The Remixes (Audio CD)
Can't understand why They released this song- there are much better songs on the album- and hence the mixes are only ok. The album is 50/50 but still worth getting as its DM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Should Be Higher- The Remixes
Should Be Higher- The Remixes by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews