Customer Reviews


1,394 Reviews
5 star:
 (948)
4 star:
 (248)
3 star:
 (96)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
STAR TREK: INTO DARKNESS [2013] [3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] Action-Packed Adventure!

The year’s best-rated blockbuster is nothing short of “spectacular” [Empire]. When a ruthless mastermind known as Khan [Benedict Cumberbatch] declares a one-man war on the Federation. Captain Kirk [Chris Pine], Spock [Zachery Quinto], and the daring...
Published 13 months ago by Andrew C. Miller

versus
156 of 177 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive...
Published 13 months ago by Vincent Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

156 of 177 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive bonuse disk with another 35mins of extras
The Voyage Begins... Again
Rebuilding the Enterprise
Vengeance is Coming
Me. Spock and Mr. Spock
Kirk and Spock
Visual Affection
..........
Tesco Blinkbox Online service gets 20mins extras which I think are
Down With the Ship
NIF: Home of the Core
Safety First
Unlocking the Cut
The Sound of Music and FX
Aliens Encountered
( [...] )
................
iTunes gets the audio commentary
Plus this version is the full IMAX scenes (ie no black bars in certain shots)
(which if you have the blu ray you can actually claim for free with the digital copy code, just claim it on itunes)
............
This is all a bad joke. But then there more if you want the special case like a metal one or one that comes with a ship then you can only get that from Play.com and even at £50 it still dosent come with the special features. So annoying as a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free], 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
STAR TREK: INTO DARKNESS [2013] [3D Blu-ray + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] Action-Packed Adventure!

The year’s best-rated blockbuster is nothing short of “spectacular” [Empire]. When a ruthless mastermind known as Khan [Benedict Cumberbatch] declares a one-man war on the Federation. Captain Kirk [Chris Pine], Spock [Zachery Quinto], and the daring crew of the USS Enterprise, set out on their most explosive manhunt of all time. It will take everything in their arsenal to defend Earth and eliminate Khan’s deadly threat in J.J. Abrams “exhilarating better of a blockbuster” [The Sun].

Cast: Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, John Cho, Zoe Saldana, Anton Yelchin, Bruce Greenwood, Alice Eve, Peter Weller, Leonard Nimoy, Noel Clarke, Nazneen Contractor, Christopher Doohan, Amanda Foreman, Jay Scully, Jonathan Dixon, Aisha Hinds, Joseph Gatt and Sean Blakemore

Director: J.J. Abrams

Producers: Alex Kurtzman, Bryan Burk, Damon Lindelof and J.J. Abrams

Screenplay: Alex Kurtzman, Damon Lindelof and Roberto Orci

Composer: Michael Giacchino

Cinematography: Dan Mindel

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 7.1 Dolby TrueHD, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio Description, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Italian: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Castilian, Italian, French, Dutch, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish

Running Time: 132 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Paramount Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: In 1990, Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry told the L.A. Times "there's a good chance that when I'm gone, others will come along and do so well that people will say, 'Oh, that Roddenberry. He was never this good." Casual audiences might agree, but for the many lifelong Star Trek fans, J.J. Abram's franchise revival opened an interesting aside for a franchise fast approaching 50 years of age, but hardly represents a return to form for the core Star Trek ethos; its philosophical ideals and the promise of a brighter future – in direct contravention of a film entitled Into Darkness. Three years on from 2009's franchise reboot, whose plot created an alternate timeline allowing the film to take certain liberties with established canon and morph into its own version of Trek, J.J. Abrams and company return with ‘Star Trek: Into Darkness.’

Following a suicide blast at Starfleet HQ and subsequent aerial attack resulting in the murder of Starfleet commanders masterminded by turncoat Starfleet agent John Harrison [Benedict Cumberbatch], the Enterprise crew headed by Captain James T. Kirk [Chris Pine] are re-commissioned to mount a mission to kill Harrison on Kronos, the Klingon home world. Kirk refuses to accept orders at face value and decides to take Harrison hostage. After a brief battle, Harrison unexpectedly gives himself up, willingly boarding the Enterprise as a prisoner. Unfortunately, it's quickly revealed that neither the mission, nor Harrison are quite as expected, when the crew of the Enterprise finds itself in the middle of a much larger plot and grave danger.

For the uninitiated, Star Trek circa 2013 is an entertaining science fiction adventure, which commands viewers' attention right from the opening scenes. But saddling itself with the name Star Trek automatically attaches 50 years of baggage, and that does this film no favours. The truth is, this modern incarnation of the franchise has little in common with it older siblings. Star Trek has always gladly worn its heart on its sleeve with the epitaph of 'thinking man's sci-fi', but ruminating about the plot only reveals the numerous holes that riddle the script, not least the mind messing alternate timeline, which try as I might to explain to women who are not interest in sci-fi films, which I really struggled to do so.

In true J.J. Abrams fashion, there's a few surprises, but perhaps the worst kept is that of the true identity of the mysterious John Harrison – he's Khan Noonien Singh from both the Original Series episode 'Space Seed' and the feature film The Wrath of Khan. But Khan was never an Englishman, nor does Benedict Cumberbatch even remotely resemble Ricardo Montalban. Try explaining that to newcomers - and that's the whole problem with the film. It tries to be all things to all people and it just doesn't make a lick of sense. Why try and shoehorn Trek lore into a film and then not even attempt to make it cohesive? For every cameo by a tribble or inflection of a classic phrase, we have another franchise contradiction or out of character motivation.

I hope for future Star Trek franchise films that J.J. Abrams will now slink off from the franchise that he's revealed he was never a fan of, leaving the gates open for someone else to take the reins. I can only hope that that person will stay true to the core ethos of Star Trek, rather than continue to churn out what amounts to, admittedly entertaining, but otherwise generic science fiction action, trading on the basis of Star Trek's branding.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The main track for this release is the 7.1 Dolby TrueHD mix and it’s one that does a very strong job overall as there’s a good deal of directionality throughout it. Because of the direction used and the way the camera weaves and moves throughout all of the action, there’s a lot going on even in the quiet scenes quite often, so the rear channels get a lot of activity throughout it and the forward soundstage has a strong and immersive feeling to it. The swell of the music is one of the bigger parts of it as it works in conjunction with the visuals beautifully as it goes for the large, epic moments, but the film has some very good quiet moments of incidental music as well that definitely adds to the overall flavour of it all. The mix is one that definitely has summer blockbuster written all over it and its transition to home video works very, very well.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Originally released in cinemas in the 2013, the transfer for the film is presented in its original aspect ratio of 2.40:1 in a stunning 1080p encoded image. I was so excited to view it 3-D, which I viewed in the cinema and was totally disappointed, as it was the worst 3-D I have seen it in the cinema, but viewing it in this stunning 3-D Blu-ray and it was definitely a fantastic very wild ride. The film has a lot of pop to it when it comes to a number of the action sequences and several moments where things are thrown out at the viewer. The layered look is used quite often throughout it as there are a good number of natural moments for it, but there are also a few where it just feels forced. The action scenes make the most use of it and it feels the most natural there while I found some of the standing around and talking in the 3-D moments a bit disappointing. But these are few and far between, instead leaving me with a film that definitely engaged and was made fun by the 3-D. The transfer captures this well and a look at the 2-D side shows a strong attention to detail, colour definition and quality. The presentation across the board just works really well and made the purchase of it worthwhile.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Creating the Red Planet [1080p] [8:28] Cast and crew discuss ditching the idea of shooting in Hawaii and share the painstaking details behind creating Nibiru, both the leafy red surface and the volcanic set piece. The supplement also examines alien design and the technical details and challenges behind shooting the sequence.

Attack on Starfleet [1080p] [5:25] A look at the dramatic undertones behind one of the film's most critical scenes. It also studies set design, technical details behind the making of the scene, and creating the explosive action elements and the corresponding stunt work.

The Klingon Home World [1080p] [7:30] An examination of incorporating Klingons into the film, keeping them familiar but also making them unique to this universe, construction of the Kronos set, Klingon costume design and makeup, and coaching the actors in the Klingon language.

The Enemy of My Enemy [1080p] [7:30] An examination of incorporating Klingons into the film, keeping them familiar but also making them unique to this universe, construction of the Kronos set, Klingon costume design and makeup, and coaching the actors in the Klingon language.

Ship to Ship [1080p] [6:03] Creating one of the film's most daring action sequences, from pre-visualisation to final product. The supplement also examines shooting the end of the scene with no major digital enhancements.

Brawl by the Bay [1080p] [5:44] Shooting some of the climactic scenes in Los Angeles, Zachary Quinto's physical preparations for his role, and stunt double work.

Finally, the 3-D generally adds greatly to the feature in a welcome way to give it more pop and engagement while not coming across as wholly gimmicky or problematic. It’s definitely one more in the slow but steady stream of 3-D Blu-ray presentation. This film has had some criticism about this franchise for a variety of reasons (though they all get a lot of criticism for many, many reasons), but as the second instalment of this timeline franchise, I’m very pleased by it and am hopeful that a third instalment is produced faster than this one – and without J.J. Abrams. Maybe it is time for a different pair of hands to see where Star Trek can boldly go next. But despite some negative review to this film, but instead I am so pleased to add this to my Star trek Blu-ray Collection, as it gives me a great thrill every time I view these Star trek films on the Blu-ray format and especially in the stunning 3-D image. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu-ray disappointment, 26 Sep 2013
By 
D. J. Constable (sussex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness - Limited Edition Steelbook (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just to be clear from the start; I love this film. I've been a fan of Star Trek since the original series came to the UK in the late sixties and greatly enjoyed the recent JJ Abrams reboot and this its sequel. I was very much looking forward to the Blu-ray release as I assumed that it would be similar in format to the previous film.
What a disappointment! The actual film looks great and I enjoyed it in 2D at home much more than the eye straining 3D version I saw at the cinema. However, there is a distinct lack of special features, just a handful of behind the scenes shorts -no trailers, no deleted scenes, and, worst of all, no commentary. As for the Digital Copy, what you actually get is a code for a download from Itunes. This does give you access to the excellent commentary, but you can only watch it on your computer etc. and not on your tv. This should have been on the blu-ray disc.
So only 3 stars for this release, even though I would give the film itself 5 stars! Once again, we miss out on the best features on a UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness. (DVD), 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like all things "Star Trek" and enjoyed this film at the cinema upon its release. Just could not wait to get the DVD and add to my collection. A very good film indeed, if you, like, me, am a fan of the Star Trek genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is as good as its forerunner. The leads were great casts in the first, and return on form here. Benny Cumberbatch is outstanding, and truly terrifying as the baddie...particularly when he tells you his name. Visually stunning, with a soundtrack the shakes the house through a good cinema system, its a great way to escape for a few hours.

Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are the voyages..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original series and upgraded to blu-ray with all the 3 series, I then purchased the latest star trek film and loved it, I then got this film and was blown away. The film has a great story and harks back to the original series with some great one liners and the ending is awesome. I got this cheap and it was well worth it, what can they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEEDS OF THE MANY..., 18 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In order to appreciate this film, one must be familiar with the original series as well as the film series. To talk about the plot is pointless, other than to say Khan is back. Benedict Cumberbatch is a rather boring Khan who lacks the exotic look and class of Ricardo Montalban. Fortunately the cast of regulars can carry the film.

The film also introduces Carol Marcus (Alice Eve). In the original film version Carol Marcus was an early conquest of Kirk (Chris Pine). She would have his child, a son who was ultimately killed by Klingons. If you have never seen the Khan film, then this film will be meaningless and the genius and enjoyment hindered.

Another aspect of the early series is that it was reflective of the era with Klingons representing Russia and Romulans being China. That symbolism is meaningless today, so our writers cleverly use the aspect of terrorism as a way to maintain the original flavor of the series. Likewise the character of James Kirk, who did things on hunches and "out of the box" is maintained in this film, perhaps the only real reason we tolerated Shatner in that role in the first place.

Dialogue is recycled. Zachary Quinto captures Spock. The role of Uhura has been expanded and Zoe Saldana kicks a lot of women to the curb. Bones (Karl Urban) still throws out the metaphors. Simon Pegg still needs to work on Scotty. John Cho is working hard to fill the big shoes of Sulu, whose stardom has multiplied as an Amazon reviewer. There is mention of Nurse Christine Chapel from the original TV and film series which didn't fit into the plot, perhaps a clue to the next script, or maybe I missed something. Perhaps some nice Trekkie could toss me a bone on this one in the comments section and I can edit this review.

Be warned, there is zero character introduction. If you don't know who these characters are, the film will just be a special effects meh. The picture has its light moments, but I thought could use some more. Hopefully the next film we can re-introduce Harry Mudd a Star Trek favorite who made two episode appearances.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. A man wakes up in bed with two women. Alice Eve bra/panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Pete N (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe it's the addition of Cumberbatch, but this film is chillingly good. I know the title suggests it, but the whole feel of this film is darker than the original series or TNG. All is not well in the future, and this film oozes expectation that they'll be more to come in the franchise. If you're undecided, it's worth the gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have had to wait along time but the wait was worth it. This exciting new instalment I the Star Trek franchise continues in the alternate time line established in the first of the new movies. Cumberbatch is an excellent villain and turns an old enemy into a slightly cleverer incarnation leaving you no qualms about how things have changed. This is classic Trek and a must for every collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb film and a fantastic follow up to the first instalment, special effects are a marvel and the characters have matured since the first film, I only hope that more get made with this cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2140 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews