Customer Reviews


1,353 Reviews
5 star:
 (916)
4 star:
 (240)
3 star:
 (95)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEEDS OF THE MANY...
In order to appreciate this film, one must be familiar with the original series as well as the film series. To talk about the plot is pointless, other than to say Khan is back. Benedict Cumberbatch is a rather boring Khan who lacks the exotic look and class of Ricardo Montalban. Fortunately the cast of regulars can carry the film.

The film also introduces Carol...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed
I really wanted to like this film, but by the end I was left disappointed. Lots of action, but not a lot else. Poor Benedict Cumberbatch's acting talents were never given any chance to shine. His character had little to do except fire weapons and hit people. But, I could say that about nearly all the actors. There's pretty much no plot or depth. We just go from action...
Published 4 months ago by J. W. Berry


‹ Previous | 1 2136 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed, 25 May 2014
By 
J. W. Berry (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really wanted to like this film, but by the end I was left disappointed. Lots of action, but not a lot else. Poor Benedict Cumberbatch's acting talents were never given any chance to shine. His character had little to do except fire weapons and hit people. But, I could say that about nearly all the actors. There's pretty much no plot or depth. We just go from action scene to action scene, then the credits role. At the end I was left thinking, 'Is that it?'. And yes, it was. The relationship that's supposed to be going on between Spock and Uhura still seems unlikely, and what we got here was the two of them having an ongoing falling out between the action scenes. A falling out that seemed to rise up again at the most inappropriate of moments. And, why did we have to see the female weapons expert posing in her bra and knickers? That was just unnecessary. So, the two stars are for the special effects team, but everything else needed for a good story was missing. No criticism of the actors, they just weren't given much to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 174 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive bonuse disk with another 35mins of extras
The Voyage Begins... Again
Rebuilding the Enterprise
Vengeance is Coming
Me. Spock and Mr. Spock
Kirk and Spock
Visual Affection
..........
Tesco Blinkbox Online service gets 20mins extras which I think are
Down With the Ship
NIF: Home of the Core
Safety First
Unlocking the Cut
The Sound of Music and FX
Aliens Encountered
( [...] )
................
iTunes gets the audio commentary
Plus this version is the full IMAX scenes (ie no black bars in certain shots)
(which if you have the blu ray you can actually claim for free with the digital copy code, just claim it on itunes)
............
This is all a bad joke. But then there more if you want the special case like a metal one or one that comes with a ship then you can only get that from Play.com and even at £50 it still dosent come with the special features. So annoying as a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEEDS OF THE MANY..., 18 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In order to appreciate this film, one must be familiar with the original series as well as the film series. To talk about the plot is pointless, other than to say Khan is back. Benedict Cumberbatch is a rather boring Khan who lacks the exotic look and class of Ricardo Montalban. Fortunately the cast of regulars can carry the film.

The film also introduces Carol Marcus (Alice Eve). In the original film version Carol Marcus was an early conquest of Kirk (Chris Pine). She would have his child, a son who was ultimately killed by Klingons. If you have never seen the Khan film, then this film will be meaningless and the genius and enjoyment hindered.

Another aspect of the early series is that it was reflective of the era with Klingons representing Russia and Romulans being China. That symbolism is meaningless today, so our writers cleverly use the aspect of terrorism as a way to maintain the original flavor of the series. Likewise the character of James Kirk, who did things on hunches and "out of the box" is maintained in this film, perhaps the only real reason we tolerated Shatner in that role in the first place.

Dialogue is recycled. Zachary Quinto captures Spock. The role of Uhura has been expanded and Zoe Saldana kicks a lot of women to the curb. Bones (Karl Urban) still throws out the metaphors. Simon Pegg still needs to work on Scotty. John Cho is working hard to fill the big shoes of Sulu, whose stardom has multiplied as an Amazon reviewer. There is mention of Nurse Christine Chapel from the original TV and film series which didn't fit into the plot, perhaps a clue to the next script, or maybe I missed something. Perhaps some nice Trekkie could toss me a bone on this one in the comments section and I can edit this review.

Be warned, there is zero character introduction. If you don't know who these characters are, the film will just be a special effects meh. The picture has its light moments, but I thought could use some more. Hopefully the next film we can re-introduce Harry Mudd a Star Trek favorite who made two episode appearances.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. A man wakes up in bed with two women. Alice Eve bra/panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first one, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a fan of the original series, it took me a little time to get used to Chris Pine as Kurk, but I must admit, the cast is just perfect. Great action, beautifully directed, completely true to the spirit of the original. Zachary Quinto makes a really good Spock.Thumbs up to JJ Abrams, for taking on such a classic (at the risk of disappointing) and making it work so well. Absolutely loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu-ray disappointment, 26 Sep 2013
By 
D. J. Constable (sussex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness - Limited Edition Steelbook (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just to be clear from the start; I love this film. I've been a fan of Star Trek since the original series came to the UK in the late sixties and greatly enjoyed the recent JJ Abrams reboot and this its sequel. I was very much looking forward to the Blu-ray release as I assumed that it would be similar in format to the previous film.
What a disappointment! The actual film looks great and I enjoyed it in 2D at home much more than the eye straining 3D version I saw at the cinema. However, there is a distinct lack of special features, just a handful of behind the scenes shorts -no trailers, no deleted scenes, and, worst of all, no commentary. As for the Digital Copy, what you actually get is a code for a download from Itunes. This does give you access to the excellent commentary, but you can only watch it on your computer etc. and not on your tv. This should have been on the blu-ray disc.
So only 3 stars for this release, even though I would give the film itself 5 stars! Once again, we miss out on the best features on a UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness. (DVD), 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like all things "Star Trek" and enjoyed this film at the cinema upon its release. Just could not wait to get the DVD and add to my collection. A very good film indeed, if you, like, me, am a fan of the Star Trek genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is as good as its forerunner. The leads were great casts in the first, and return on form here. Benny Cumberbatch is outstanding, and truly terrifying as the baddie...particularly when he tells you his name. Visually stunning, with a soundtrack the shakes the house through a good cinema system, its a great way to escape for a few hours.

Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are the voyages..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original series and upgraded to blu-ray with all the 3 series, I then purchased the latest star trek film and loved it, I then got this film and was blown away. The film has a great story and harks back to the original series with some great one liners and the ending is awesome. I got this cheap and it was well worth it, what can they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Pete N (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe it's the addition of Cumberbatch, but this film is chillingly good. I know the title suggests it, but the whole feel of this film is darker than the original series or TNG. All is not well in the future, and this film oozes expectation that they'll be more to come in the franchise. If you're undecided, it's worth the gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a rip off, 20 April 2014
By 
R. Nicklin (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this at the flicks and the plot ending and actual words are almost a direct lift of ST 2 - Wrath of Kahn.

Effects are spot on - as you'd expect - but saw the ending coming like a train - family thought it was great hence buying the BL- but I didn't bother watching it as its so poo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2136 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews