Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Movie on Blu ray
The picture and sound quality on the blu ray is terrific. The only draw back I had is that for some stupid reason, Paramount home entertainment only decided to place the audio commentary on digital download version of the movie. I find when a movie includes an audio commentary to be a huge bonus. I don't know why they did this, maybe to encourage people to abandon...
Published 16 months ago by cathal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A DISAPPOINTINGLY AVERAGE SEQUEL
being a big star trek series fan (next gen/DS9/voyager)i approached the first 'star trek reboot' film with an open mind.i accepted that the next generation movies had run their course and they wanted to make star trek more trendy and appealing to new fans whilst not forgetting its roots/history.happily the result was an enjoyable,pumped up version with an appealing young...
Published 3 months ago by Richard Labbett


‹ Previous | 1 2176 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Movie on Blu ray, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture and sound quality on the blu ray is terrific. The only draw back I had is that for some stupid reason, Paramount home entertainment only decided to place the audio commentary on digital download version of the movie. I find when a movie includes an audio commentary to be a huge bonus. I don't know why they did this, maybe to encourage people to abandon physical copies of movies for digital copies? Stupid idea anyway. Other than that. Good movie, on a brilliantly rendered Blu ray disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A DISAPPOINTINGLY AVERAGE SEQUEL, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
being a big star trek series fan (next gen/DS9/voyager)i approached the first 'star trek reboot' film with an open mind.i accepted that the next generation movies had run their course and they wanted to make star trek more trendy and appealing to new fans whilst not forgetting its roots/history.happily the result was an enjoyable,pumped up version with an appealing young cast that wasn't trying to be something it wasn't.which is why its a shame this follow up falls a bit flat.theres not much by the way of space battles,the plots a complete rehash of a story done to death in trek and the actors all seem to spend most of the film running round shouting a lot.a disappointment,unless your'e adding it to your collection i'd wait until its on tv!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining sci-fi adventure., 7 Dec. 2014
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So i'm no Star Trek purist, grew up with Picard rather than Kirk so although i've seen the original series and movies and understand the references I greatly appreciate the modern take of these last two moviies.

Star Trek Into Darkness is the follow up to J.J. Abrams Star Trek (2009) reboot. In London in a secret underground Star Fleet archive an explosion rocks the city killing innocent people, not long after that Star Trek headquarters itself is attacked, both incidents can be tracked down to one rogue Star Fleet agent. With friends of Kirk dead the enterprise heads off on a mission to track the man down but not all is as it seems.

I rather enjoyed the story, it has fairly good pacing throughout, at no point was I bored by events going on. The cast once again step into their previous iconic roles with Karl Urban and Zachery Quinto as Bones and Spock especially standing out though Benedict Cumberbatch's performance as the main villain simply stole the movie for me, what an actor, he was genuinely menacing. I'm not personally sold on Chris Pine as Kirk though, he's great during the action but his performance is a little over shadowed by the other actors in other places. Doesn't harm the experience however.

The special effects are truly outstanding on my TV, the seamless integration of them into the film creates a level of believability, keeping the immersion. One of the better looking blu-rays image quality wise i've seen.

The only downside with the film is the lack of extras on the disc, essentially just half a dozen making of videos for certain scenes in the film that only run collectively for maybe 35-40 minutes. The film was so good however it didn't bother me much but should be noted for others who enjoy the extra features.

+ Fantastic pacing.
+ Some excellent performances.
+ Benedict Cumberbatch.
+ Fantastic special effects.

- Blu-Ray extras are lacking for such a big budget film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are the voyages..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original series and upgraded to blu-ray with all the 3 series, I then purchased the latest star trek film and loved it, I then got this film and was blown away. The film has a great story and harks back to the original series with some great one liners and the ending is awesome. I got this cheap and it was well worth it, what can they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 191 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity, 1 Sept. 2013
By 
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive bonuse disk with another 35mins of extras
The Voyage Begins... Again
Rebuilding the Enterprise
Vengeance is Coming
Me. Spock and Mr. Spock
Kirk and Spock
Visual Affection
..........
Tesco Blinkbox Online service gets 20mins extras which I think are
Down With the Ship
NIF: Home of the Core
Safety First
Unlocking the Cut
The Sound of Music and FX
Aliens Encountered
( [...] )
................
iTunes gets the audio commentary
Plus this version is the full IMAX scenes (ie no black bars in certain shots)
(which if you have the blu ray you can actually claim for free with the digital copy code, just claim it on itunes)
............
This is all a bad joke. But then there more if you want the special case like a metal one or one that comes with a ship then you can only get that from Play.com and even at £50 it still dosent come with the special features. So annoying as a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as amazing as the first recent Trek, but still Very Good, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Star Trek Into Darkness is an interesting mixed bag. It's almost as though the creative minds involved decided that they wanted to stretch the formula and style a bit further to hammer home the point that the new Trek movies weren't going to suffer from the safe over-familiarity of the old. This time it's resulted in a bumpy road loaded with goodies in between a few minor misfires.
Let's get the 'bad' out of the way first: -
The tone overall is more serious than the last movie. While some viewers won't mind, others may. It didn't bother me much, but it was noticeable.
The villain's identity was impossible to keep under wraps in this day and age of social media leaks, and although I'm not going to spoil it here, knowing it in advance does flavour how you feel about the movie, especially the earlier scenes where we're not supposed to know much about Cumberbatch's character.
Several major characters who enlivened the first movie get almost no screen time here. Chekov gets little to do except look panicked, and even Simon Pegg's Scotty is largely sidelined. The Kirk/Spock banter and spiky friendship gets a fun workout for the first third of the film, but then gets largely forgotten as the chase develops and the tone darkens.
Finally, the plot feels rather like a string of exciting events strung together, rather than a particularly coherently told story.
The Good: -
It opens fantastically, with a brilliant, visually inventive and very entertaining escapade.
Kirk and Spock's relationship gets to develop and evolve, with a lot of fun moments.
The effects are stunning, including a lot of scenery and ideas I haven't seen done before.
Cumberbatch is a thrilling and dangerous character, more than able to fascinate the viewer even in a scene with several of the lead characters.
The film also advances the 'politics' a little, bringing in a traditional Star Trek species in an important storyline role.
Into Darkness is very much Star Trek's 'anti-terrorism' story and if analysed, many elements tie in discreetly as commentary on how America has reacted post 9/11. However, while 'darker' than the previous film, it doesn't take itself too seriously and does come packed with surprises and thrills, and ties up some storyline elements in very clever ways.
Top-drawer big-budget Hollywood fare at it's 'almost' best, and a film that gives great hopes for the series' continuing future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Into Darkness, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
From the blistering opening to the brutal finale Into Darkness builds upon everything its predecessor set up to offer a bigger, better and more emotional story.

JJ Abrams' first take on Star Trek was a bold move to modernise the franchise but didnt work on every level. Even though we know these characters the film suffered from the usual origin story trappings as we had to get to know these characters with new faces. Free of those reigns Into Darkness doesn't pause for breath.

The action is superb and thrilling. Everything a blockbuster film should be. With dog-fighting, fisticuffs and gun fights, this pretty much caters for every taste. The opening volcanic scene offers suspense and emotion and it is a testament to the writers that this is not the only time you will be left wondering if a key character will survive.

As with the first film Star Trek lives and dies on the relationships between its crew members. Once again this is where the film excels. The relationship between Spock and Kirk in particular is powerful and funny with an easy going feel to it. All the supporting characters have their moments to shine and this brings together a whole crew of people you can easily spend more time with.

The story is interesteing without being too clever for its own good and provides enough suspense and twists to hold your attention easily for the running time. Into Darkness zips along at a great rate and before you know the finale is upon you.

With the inclusion of a memorable baddie, providing Benedict Cumberbatch with some great moments to shine, this really is the Start Trek film to beat. Improving on every aspect of the first rebooted film and including some unforgettable moments this is surely one of the stand out films of the year. Fantastic fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular link to the original TV series, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
M. Kidger "bristolcity" (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film serves as a bridge between the first film and the TV series, ending with the crew setting out on its five year mission. There are spectacular special effects (the scene inside the volcano is just as spectacular even when you see in the extras how it was done on the set), humour and strong links to the TV series. However, there are also a series of hard to believe incongruities: how plausible is a (presumably) intense sexual relationship between Spock and Uhura? In the film we hear that Christine Chapel has obtained a transfer and feels happier for it but, the reason is not that Spock cannot be interested in her, but instead that she can't stand seeing him in a deep emotional relationship with a crewmate! Vulcan has been destroyed, so there is a New Vulcan, but presumably populated by only the tiny handful of survivors rescued from the disaster, unlike the world portrayed in the TV series (I kept expecting to find that time would be mysteriously reversed and that the destruction of Vulcan had never happened). We see a replay of the story of the encounter with the Botany Bay, but played out in a totally different way., etc.

Benedict Cumberbach is magnificent, but is a very different version of Khan to the one familiar from the original TV series and the films. However, there is no question that he is extremely menacing and, in his way, more human than Ricardo Montalban.

For the die-hard trekkies, such details will probably annoy them intensely. However,. if you take this simply as a sequel to the first film, showing how the crew relationships developed and what happened before the events in the TV series, you will most probably love the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continues a stunning reboot of The Original Series, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is based on having watched the film at home with my family on Blu-ray.

"Star Trek: Into Darkness" is the sequel to Director J.J. Abram's 2009 film version of "Star Trek [DVD]." Both are set at about the same time as, or slightly earlier than, the original series but in an alternative timeline. I'm not going to explain more than that because to do so would be a spoiler for the previous film and "Star Trek: Into Darkness" works best if you have previously watched Abram's first offering. Abrams said that "The idea, now that we are in an independent timeline, allows us to use any of the ingredients from the past - or come up with brand-new ones - to make potential stories."

He does that many times in this film, which includes a lot of references to the most popular features and characters from the original TV episodes, from the Kirk/Picard voiceover during the title sequence to Tribbles, but you don't have to be a massive Star Trek fan to enjoy it.

I would advise against looking up the cast list on the internet before watching the film, because this would give away the identity of the first villain. That would be a spoiler: the real name of the first villain was such a closely guarded secret before the film came out that even Bendedict Cumberbatch, who performs the part brilliantly, was not told who he was playing until a week after he was cast.

I say the first villain because there are more than two sides to the conflict and it is not at all obvious at first who the bad guys are.

There is some element of sympathetic parody of the original series, which perhaps can be best illustrated by two quotes from this film. At one point Kirk (Chris Pine) tells his away team "Don't set your phasers to stun - theirs certainly won't be" which rather reminds one of the line attributed to his TOS character in a comic song,

"We come in peace - shoot to kill."

On another occasion Dr McCoy (Karl Urban) asks Kirk "Tell me, are you feeling homicidal, power-mad, despotic?"

Kirk replies: "No more than usual."

Zachary Quinto is magnificent as Spock (Leonard Nimoy has a brief cameo as Spock's older self), Pine and Urban are equally brilliant as Kirk and McCoy, while Zoe Saldana makes a convincing Uhura and Simon Pegg is an excellent Scotty (it grates slightly that his accent is from a different part of Scotland than James Doohan's was, but never mind.

Special effects are, of course, superb, with the Enterprise managing both to look true to the sixties original (though apparently she is quite a bit larger) and also like a magnificently sophisticated creation of the twenty-third century.

The film delivers non-stop action and excitement, and anyone who is into science fiction is likely to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You Can Change the Laws of Physics, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ask around and you will find that many people believe that J. J. Abrams did a good job when rebooting the Star Trek universe. He did not disregard the cannon that the film was based on, but embraced it and created an alternative universe instead. Therefore, why are people so surprised that `Star Trek into Darkness' should follow the same trend? Kirk and company return on a new adventure that sees them go up against the mysterious John Harrison. On their journey they will meet foes familiar to the Trek fans everywhere, but can they also succeed where their previous incarnations trod?

As a fan of the universe I very much enjoyed `Into Darkness', this is a film that is all about the spectacle and providing a rip roaring adventure. Many modern blockbusters try and create a seat of your pants ride, but few succeed. I believe `Into Darkness' succeeded where they failed. There are some great action set pieces and twists, that some may see coming, but are fun nonetheless. The cast remain excellent; Pine, Quinto and Pegg in particular. Some of the other crew are a little underserved this time, but future outings may reset this balance.

It is probably the controversial third act that splits people from loving the film, or not. I for one found it a fun way of connecting to the past, whilst maintaining its own identity. It is more the very final scenes that annoyed me, almost as it everything had to be wrapped up cleanly for the modern simpler audience. Throw out any potential controversy with the film and you are left with an excellent summer blockbuster that has brilliant action sequence and pithy cast chemistry that lifts the dialogue. Not quite as good as the original reimagining, but still a great flick.

This is a film to watch in High Definition, the action looks magnificent and you can bask in the glow of Abrams lens flare. The special features on the disc are a little dry and will appeal to people more interested in special effects creating than the actual movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2176 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews