Customer Reviews


1,453 Reviews
5 star:
 (999)
4 star:
 (253)
3 star:
 (97)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Movie on Blu ray
The picture and sound quality on the blu ray is terrific. The only draw back I had is that for some stupid reason, Paramount home entertainment only decided to place the audio commentary on digital download version of the movie. I find when a movie includes an audio commentary to be a huge bonus. I don't know why they did this, maybe to encourage people to abandon...
Published 9 months ago by cathal

versus
158 of 183 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive...
Published 15 months ago by Vincent Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 2146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

158 of 183 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive bonuse disk with another 35mins of extras
The Voyage Begins... Again
Rebuilding the Enterprise
Vengeance is Coming
Me. Spock and Mr. Spock
Kirk and Spock
Visual Affection
..........
Tesco Blinkbox Online service gets 20mins extras which I think are
Down With the Ship
NIF: Home of the Core
Safety First
Unlocking the Cut
The Sound of Music and FX
Aliens Encountered
( [...] )
................
iTunes gets the audio commentary
Plus this version is the full IMAX scenes (ie no black bars in certain shots)
(which if you have the blu ray you can actually claim for free with the digital copy code, just claim it on itunes)
............
This is all a bad joke. But then there more if you want the special case like a metal one or one that comes with a ship then you can only get that from Play.com and even at £50 it still dosent come with the special features. So annoying as a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu-ray disappointment, 26 Sep 2013
By 
D. J. Constable (sussex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness - Limited Edition Steelbook (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just to be clear from the start; I love this film. I've been a fan of Star Trek since the original series came to the UK in the late sixties and greatly enjoyed the recent JJ Abrams reboot and this its sequel. I was very much looking forward to the Blu-ray release as I assumed that it would be similar in format to the previous film.
What a disappointment! The actual film looks great and I enjoyed it in 2D at home much more than the eye straining 3D version I saw at the cinema. However, there is a distinct lack of special features, just a handful of behind the scenes shorts -no trailers, no deleted scenes, and, worst of all, no commentary. As for the Digital Copy, what you actually get is a code for a download from Itunes. This does give you access to the excellent commentary, but you can only watch it on your computer etc. and not on your tv. This should have been on the blu-ray disc.
So only 3 stars for this release, even though I would give the film itself 5 stars! Once again, we miss out on the best features on a UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Movie on Blu ray, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture and sound quality on the blu ray is terrific. The only draw back I had is that for some stupid reason, Paramount home entertainment only decided to place the audio commentary on digital download version of the movie. I find when a movie includes an audio commentary to be a huge bonus. I don't know why they did this, maybe to encourage people to abandon physical copies of movies for digital copies? Stupid idea anyway. Other than that. Good movie, on a brilliantly rendered Blu ray disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have had to wait along time but the wait was worth it. This exciting new instalment I the Star Trek franchise continues in the alternate time line established in the first of the new movies. Cumberbatch is an excellent villain and turns an old enemy into a slightly cleverer incarnation leaving you no qualms about how things have changed. This is classic Trek and a must for every collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are the voyages..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original series and upgraded to blu-ray with all the 3 series, I then purchased the latest star trek film and loved it, I then got this film and was blown away. The film has a great story and harks back to the original series with some great one liners and the ending is awesome. I got this cheap and it was well worth it, what can they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Pete N (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe it's the addition of Cumberbatch, but this film is chillingly good. I know the title suggests it, but the whole feel of this film is darker than the original series or TNG. All is not well in the future, and this film oozes expectation that they'll be more to come in the franchise. If you're undecided, it's worth the gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb film and a fantastic follow up to the first instalment, special effects are a marvel and the characters have matured since the first film, I only hope that more get made with this cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 9 Feb 2014
By 
L.C "@@" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this a bit weak actually but I have only watched it once.
It didnt have me wanting to watch it again though which was a disappointment.
Benedict Cumberbach was amazing however Hmmmm, I think as this character, it was a bit of a miscast..and there is the option for his character to return.
The effects were outstanding...The CGI is mind frying in its presentation , its really outstanding eye candy for the sci fi genre bods amongst us.
I find though, that maybe there is too much CGI and we have moved or are moving away from the story because the CGI take up so much of the composition of all sci fi films...just my opinion, as an example, The older Dr Who storys and special effect if you can call a sonic screw driver capable of anything a special effect and guys in suits as terrifying..but who isnt intimidated byt he buckets..the daleks first seen in 1963.. I was mortified by them.
OK times have moved on and today's audience is very very sophisticated..which by its definition tends to spoil a good plot sometimes. Coming back to StarTrek, these films are good but complicated to the trekkies who watched the first series with Capt Kirk in it.. Just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first film was excellent, this is superb! Great storyline and awesome special effects. Lets there are a lot more films.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ' 'KHAN' HAS HIS OWN ADGENDA', 3 Sep 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this the second instalment of 'Star-Trek's exciting 'prequel's to the
iconic and much admired series of yester-year.
after breaking 'Federation' guide-lines in an effort to save friend, 2nd
command 'Spock' ..'Kirk' looses his position as captain of the 'Enterprise'
after a unprovoked attack on earth's federation H.Q and the death of 'Kirk's'
friend and Commander 'Christopher Pike' circumstances have changed, the
ruthless 'John Harrison' known as 'Khan' has declared a one-man war on 'Earth'
and the 'Federation'
'Kirk' is re-installed as the captain of the 'Enterprise' along with his trusted
team, their mission ---kill 'Khan' .....however because 'Khan' has chosen a
'Klingon' planet in which to hide, use of weapons there could trigger a war with
the 'Klingon' empire.
things are not as cut and dry as they appear however........the adventure begins.
again, sympathetic and credible attention has again been afforded to the original
character's that many of us remember well, this is an action-packed thrill-ride,
with dazzling special effects on board.......this is again a must for 'Trekkie'
fans both old and new,
( superb on both B/R 3-D and Blu-Ray disc )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2146 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews