Customer Reviews


1,309 Reviews
5 star:
 (884)
4 star:
 (231)
3 star:
 (95)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (56)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rath Of Khan take 2
Well - and its a big well - I really loved this film. Its well acted,well directed,and the photography(35mm and IMAX)is absolutely stun ning(exept where they keep adding those chromatic reflections from the on set lights where any decent DOP would keep them out). So - well - well, its all been done before from a Star Trek Universe time line. The story is one of Khan -...
Published 18 days ago by Ivor Allison

versus
153 of 174 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive...
Published 12 months ago by Vincent Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 2131 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

153 of 174 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, Special features Stupidity, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Love the film so that's why it's gets a three stars but how the special features have been released is a joke.
On the disk you get 35mins of extras all in HD
Creating the Red Planet
Attack on Starfleet
The Klingon Home World
The Enemy of My Enemy
Ship to Ship
Brawl by the Bay
.................
Sainsburys will have an exclusive bonuse disk with another 35mins of extras
The Voyage Begins... Again
Rebuilding the Enterprise
Vengeance is Coming
Me. Spock and Mr. Spock
Kirk and Spock
Visual Affection
..........
Tesco Blinkbox Online service gets 20mins extras which I think are
Down With the Ship
NIF: Home of the Core
Safety First
Unlocking the Cut
The Sound of Music and FX
Aliens Encountered
( [...] )
................
iTunes gets the audio commentary
Plus this version is the full IMAX scenes (ie no black bars in certain shots)
(which if you have the blu ray you can actually claim for free with the digital copy code, just claim it on itunes)
............
This is all a bad joke. But then there more if you want the special case like a metal one or one that comes with a ship then you can only get that from Play.com and even at 50 it still dosent come with the special features. So annoying as a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rath Of Khan take 2, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness (Blu-ray)
Well - and its a big well - I really loved this film. Its well acted,well directed,and the photography(35mm and IMAX)is absolutely stun ning(exept where they keep adding those chromatic reflections from the on set lights where any decent DOP would keep them out). So - well - well, its all been done before from a Star Trek Universe time line. The story is one of Khan - remember Khan from the earlier Trek series THE RATH OF KHAN well here is is again - including the scene where someone has to go into the reactor to align the coils cept this time its Kirk rather than Spock - with the same hands on the glass door in salute . SO - is nothing original in the Star Trek Universe - it seems not - J.J.Abrams has simply stolen the previous story and reworked it a bit. In a rebooting such as this I was hoping for a totally original, unseen, new story. For gods sake - after seeing the trailor with the good ship Enterprise crashing in flames from earth orbit to land on London????? Los Angeles??????San Fransisco???? I was expecting much more than it simply being a new better version landing on Star Fleet HQ. I read that Into Darkness has only performed reasonably at the box office - that leaves the the franchise itself in darkness - will Paramount spend another $ 230 million in their aniversary year - I think not - and there is much speculation that the whole thing would look a lot better as a tv series where it can be cheaper and potentially more successful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed, 25 May 2014
By 
J. W. Berry (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really wanted to like this film, but by the end I was left disappointed. Lots of action, but not a lot else. Poor Benedict Cumberbatch's acting talents were never given any chance to shine. His character had little to do except fire weapons and hit people. But, I could say that about nearly all the actors. There's pretty much no plot or depth. We just go from action scene to action scene, then the credits role. At the end I was left thinking, 'Is that it?'. And yes, it was. The relationship that's supposed to be going on between Spock and Uhura still seems unlikely, and what we got here was the two of them having an ongoing falling out between the action scenes. A falling out that seemed to rise up again at the most inappropriate of moments. And, why did we have to see the female weapons expert posing in her bra and knickers? That was just unnecessary. So, the two stars are for the special effects team, but everything else needed for a good story was missing. No criticism of the actors, they just weren't given much to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Into Darkness. (DVD), 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like all things "Star Trek" and enjoyed this film at the cinema upon its release. Just could not wait to get the DVD and add to my collection. A very good film indeed, if you, like, me, am a fan of the Star Trek genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu-ray disappointment, 26 Sep 2013
By 
D. J. Constable (sussex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Into Darkness - Limited Edition Steelbook (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just to be clear from the start; I love this film. I've been a fan of Star Trek since the original series came to the UK in the late sixties and greatly enjoyed the recent JJ Abrams reboot and this its sequel. I was very much looking forward to the Blu-ray release as I assumed that it would be similar in format to the previous film.
What a disappointment! The actual film looks great and I enjoyed it in 2D at home much more than the eye straining 3D version I saw at the cinema. However, there is a distinct lack of special features, just a handful of behind the scenes shorts -no trailers, no deleted scenes, and, worst of all, no commentary. As for the Digital Copy, what you actually get is a code for a download from Itunes. This does give you access to the excellent commentary, but you can only watch it on your computer etc. and not on your tv. This should have been on the blu-ray disc.
So only 3 stars for this release, even though I would give the film itself 5 stars! Once again, we miss out on the best features on a UK release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is as good as its forerunner. The leads were great casts in the first, and return on form here. Benny Cumberbatch is outstanding, and truly terrifying as the baddie...particularly when he tells you his name. Visually stunning, with a soundtrack the shakes the house through a good cinema system, its a great way to escape for a few hours.

Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are the voyages..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original series and upgraded to blu-ray with all the 3 series, I then purchased the latest star trek film and loved it, I then got this film and was blown away. The film has a great story and harks back to the original series with some great one liners and the ending is awesome. I got this cheap and it was well worth it, what can they do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good sequel, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Pete N (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe it's the addition of Cumberbatch, but this film is chillingly good. I know the title suggests it, but the whole feel of this film is darker than the original series or TNG. All is not well in the future, and this film oozes expectation that they'll be more to come in the franchise. If you're undecided, it's worth the gamble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a rip off, 20 April 2014
By 
R. Nicklin (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this at the flicks and the plot ending and actual words are almost a direct lift of ST 2 - Wrath of Kahn.

Effects are spot on - as you'd expect - but saw the ending coming like a train - family thought it was great hence buying the BL- but I didn't bother watching it as its so poo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have had to wait along time but the wait was worth it. This exciting new instalment I the Star Trek franchise continues in the alternate time line established in the first of the new movies. Cumberbatch is an excellent villain and turns an old enemy into a slightly cleverer incarnation leaving you no qualms about how things have changed. This is classic Trek and a must for every collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2131 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews