Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, unmissable documentary for music lovers
I saw this film twice in small cinemas and it still holds as a film. There's so much to take in, so much background to divulge and if you don't want to hop on a plane and visit Alabama then you must be mad! If you love music, and particularly the likes of Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Percy Sledge etc, then this film will entertain you. For those who don't...
Published 6 months ago by L. Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disapointing...
A bit disapointing as I was expecting more "historical" music sessions. Very few and mainly pictures.
Published 2 months ago by François


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, unmissable documentary for music lovers, 12 Mar 2014
By 
L. Miller (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film twice in small cinemas and it still holds as a film. There's so much to take in, so much background to divulge and if you don't want to hop on a plane and visit Alabama then you must be mad! If you love music, and particularly the likes of Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Percy Sledge etc, then this film will entertain you. For those who don't or, like me, don't know the background and influence of this small recording mecca on music, it serves as a wonderful form of education.

Slightly disappointed that the DVD extras didn't extend to a 2-DVD set given the obvious depth and amount of interviews that must have been conducted. The extras amount to just 33 mins. However, there are two interesting commentaries from both the director and the key characters of the documentary - Rick Hall and the Swampers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muscle Shoals DVD, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film . So many insights into how musical magic happened. I would have been happy to have seen more of Dan Penn and a lot less of Bono but that is a personal preference . Highly recommended regardless of which form of music you have interest in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Already available to buy on iTunes - Great Documentary, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really interesting documentary that peaks behind the soundboard of Muscle Shoals Studio. Avoiding naming the plethora of musicians that have recorded there this doc tells a fascinating story for anyone interested in the 'golden age' of making records and that indescribable 'thing' that musicians search for when playing...a feeling!

Would have liked a 'hard copy' of this film but looks like it's not released in the UK until 2014; But, it is available in digital format now on iTunes for £9.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific music and social documentary, 29 Sep 2013
By 
J. R. Dersley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at the London Sundance 2013 Festival. Although my musical tastes include soul it's not my favourite genre but I found this film completely engrossing and very entertaining. It's well told, with ego trips by the stars who've recorded at Muscle Shoals kept to a minimum so that the music and how it came to be made is in the foreground. I'll certainly be buying this next year - but no blu ray version?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovers Of Rhythm And Blues, 2 Jun 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
What is it about Muscle Shoals that has made it on the map for musicians? This small Alabama town on the banks of the Tennessee River has two music studios, FAME Studios and Muscle Shoals Sound Studios. The man with the last name of Hall is mentioned often for the success of Muscle Shoals, and we hear him talk about his life and success. One musician likened the water of Mersy in England tonged water of the Tennessee for making the music what it is. An old folklore has the river singing like none other.

The list of musicians appearing in 'Muscle Shoals' who tell us of their experiences include, Gregg Allman, Etta James, Alicia Keys, Keith Richards and John Paul White of the Civil Wars. Aretha Franklin speaking of its allure. We may never know, but the sound of rhythm and blues is long associated, and this documentary is excellent. For lovers of music, this us a film to see.

Recommended. prisrob 06-01-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Soul Lovers, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
Great story, beautifully filmed. I will watch it over and over again. Lovely archive footage and great stories from the survivors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
Such an important chapter in the musical history of my lifetime. A compelling tale of the effect ordinary folks can have if they are open try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mississippi River rools (and rocks) on., 19 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Pickles (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
I stumbled across this film on BBC4. I had missed the first half hour, but was drawn in to this atmospheric affair that was akin to dealing out a pack of cards. Just when you thought that you knew what was going to happen next, a new musician turns up and the programmes shifts into another direction.
Personally I loved it.
I was delighted to find it on DVD so soon after its transmission on BBC4, and have watched it a number of times, each time discovering something new.
For those considering buying it, just look down the list of artists featured. Although not all of them get equal amounts of screen time, consider how they are linked and whether that link is something that would interest you.
Essentially the thread is the life story of Rick Hall who founded Fame Records and was responsible for the Muscle Shoals sound.
A range of artists (talking and playing/reprising their music) help to carry the story forward, with Rick Hall and the Mississippi River (and its environs) filling the gaps.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Daniel Duffy (Thornhill, Dewsbury, West Yorkshire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great DVD. The story oe Muscle Shoals and its people is a fabulous one. Some amazing footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Soul Ever - Possibly!, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. D. Walsh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle Shoals [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD, always loved the music but this documentary gave a real insight into the people and music of this amazing studio.
If you like or love soul and R&B - with just a touch of blues this is an absolute must for your collection.
Tony Walsh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muscle Shoals [DVD]
Muscle Shoals [DVD] by Greg Camalier (DVD - 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews