Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers album number two, not quite as good as the first, but still worth it.
Mr Lanegan's previous album of covers helped cement his tombstone outlaw persona of the late nineties, it was very much an American album in sound and feel with tracks like Little Sadie and Shiloh Town contributing to the overall feel of a life lived in shadows on the run from the chain gang. This record is a very different prospect, whilst still largely an acoustic...
Published 19 months ago by Matthew Charlton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another album of covers
Lanegan's previous release, Blues Funeral was absolutely essential listening. This one is okay - its an album of covers and for the most part quite mellow and subdued ones. He previously released an album of covers called I'll take care of you - a better batch of songs there in my opinion.
Published 16 months ago by Mad Saro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better cover albums, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
Every artist seems to have the desire to do a covers album, and the most interesting arethe ones where they choose tracks that seem to be outside their comfort zone. Lanegan has done this here and because of his unique throaty yet melifluous voice he has stamped his own personality all over these songs and genuinely made them his own. My highlight is Mack the knife, just the voice accompanied by a picked acoustic guitar. Eerily brilliant. Not all the tracks are stripped down though, the closer Autumn Leaves has a full string section attached for example.
I suspect this album may split Lanegan fans as it is very "out there" and quite a departure from previous works but I applaud his bravery and really enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
I have all of Mark Lanegan's CDs (solo, collaborative or group) spanning some years now and after reading various critical reviews (mostly positive) was looking forward to hearing his version of a number of "classic" tracks on this CD, despite not really being a fan of cover versions. The vocal delivery is as good as always but I must confess that personally I find some tracks very difficult to listen to more than once - Mac the Knife, Solitaire and You Only Live Twice being particularly examples. Not to everyone's taste and probably of more interest to the avid collector of Mark Lanegan's music rather than the curious or occasional purchaser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible cover album, 25 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
Superb album. Mark lanegan's vocals are so powerfully different that the songs almost seem to be rewritten as he sings them. Regardless of whether or not you know the songs already, Lanegan's vocals makes the album worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lanegan triumphs again, 29 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
Don't expect your typical Mark Lanegan album. I was skeptical at first but after a few listens I was won over. This album of cover versions is brilliantly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather pointless, 18 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
I have been a Mark Lanegan fan since the early Screaming Trees days and have stuck with him throughout his solo career, even though I've had the feeling for a while now that he is just treading water. I'm afraid that on this album he appears to be sinking.

It is always worrying when established artists do covers albums; it is usually the last refuge of those who are running out of ideas. Regrettably this is very much the case here. Most of the renditions are simply lacklustre - even the great Lanegan voice can't come to the rescue. In fact two or three tracks are downright turkeys, particularly Autumn Leaves and Elegie Funebre, which is truly appalling. A bit of advice: if If you can't sing in French then don't sing in French.

So, much as it pains me to say it, unless you are a Lanegan completist I wouldn't waste your money on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
Not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a Disappointment, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
I am a real fan of Mark Lanegan and thought he could do no wrong. How wrong can you be! This is an awful album with no link to his previous work. It just feels like an opportunity to cash in on his reputation. Nothing original or even interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
jonathan Goodliff (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imitations (Audio CD)
Buy Whiskey for the holy ghost and enjoy it as a truly brilliant album but a one off as the rest of his work is dross this being the worst
Can I have my money back...oh no as I threw in the bin in disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imitations
Imitations by Mark Lanegan (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews