Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So beautifully sung
This is a collection of beautiful songs. The covers are carefully chosen and the originals have great melodies and clever, incisive lyrics. The arrangements are tasteful and the instrumental playing is sensitive and very professional.

But it's Stacey Kent's singing that turns this from a good jazz album into a great one: she is SO good at this. Her diction is...
Published 9 months ago by Charl Engela

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap imports alert.
Paid good money, received a cheap south american import. I've seen pirated CDs made better. Utterly disappointing. Careful who you buy your CDs from.
Published 17 days ago by KC Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So beautifully sung, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Charl Engela - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
This is a collection of beautiful songs. The covers are carefully chosen and the originals have great melodies and clever, incisive lyrics. The arrangements are tasteful and the instrumental playing is sensitive and very professional.

But it's Stacey Kent's singing that turns this from a good jazz album into a great one: she is SO good at this. Her diction is absolutely perfect - you can hear every word clearly - and her intonation (tuning) is spot-on. Listen to her articulation of the quick passages in One Note Samba - it's very difficult to produce the words so accurately and still sing all the correct notes, but she does it beautifully. On top of it all she manages to inject just the right amount of emotion into every song - no over-the-top histrionics here, but neither is it ever dry and dull. It's just perfect.

Stacey Kent is not just a singer, she's a seriously good musician. Any aspiring young jazz singers - or any singers, for that matter - should study her technique.

I can't recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 29 Oct 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
Stacey Kent's latest recording again demonstrates her vocal mastery. The immaculate intonation, timing and diction are flawless to the point of sheer purity. Her voice becomes an instrument with impeccable clarity and minimal vibrato. Her focus on this album is largely Latin numbers switching English with clever changes into Portuguese, and French imperceptibly. There are covers of bossa nova numbers from Tom Jobim and two songs written by novelist and lyricist Kashou Ishiguro; namely the title song 'Changing Lights', a sublime number, and 'The Summer We Crossed Europe' a story gracefully sung by Ms Kent. 'Waiter, Oh Waiter' is a neat request for help in choosing from a foreign menu. 'How Insensitive' is quite the opposite. The Brazilian 'One Note Samba' is a difficult number to handle at such pace with the short-spaced almost staccato notes; Stacey effortlessly takes the scale runs in her stride.

The arrangements and accompaniment of husband Jim Tomlinson are outstanding. The rhythm section is wonderfully subtle with particular praise for the percussionists, pianist Graham Harvey and the Latino guitarists' phrasing. However, this is Stacey Kent's record first and foremost; impressive and top class. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap imports alert., 6 July 2014
By 
KC Lee (london, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
Paid good money, received a cheap south american import. I've seen pirated CDs made better. Utterly disappointing. Careful who you buy your CDs from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stacey just keeps on producing the goods, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
Stacey's last studio album, 'Raconte-moi', was a massive risk which paid off in spades. Let's face it, releasing an album which only contains songs sung in French was a very brave thing to do. How many other musicians at the height of their careers, jazz or otherwise, would do such a thing? But 'Raconte-moi' is a beautiful album & is one of my favourites from 2010. So just when I thought Stacey had released the perfect album out she comes with yet another: 'The Changing Lights'. What I love about this, her tenth, album is the return of the Stacey Kent, Jim Tomlinson, Kazuo Ishiguro partnership. They first collaborated on Stacey's wonderful 2007 album, 'Breakfast on the Morning Tram'. And on 'The Changing Lights' Stacey's crystal vocals, Jim's beautiful arrangements, and Kazuo's narrative-style lyrics are a joy to behold on tracks such as 'The Summer We Crossed Europe In The Rain' and 'The Changing Lights'. "The Changing Lights' has now replaced 'Breakfast on the Morning Tram' as my favourite Stacey Kent track. Yes, it is that good.

I recently went to see Stacey at Ronnie Scott's in London. It was a fabulous night. Stacey has such a great band of musicians backing her and the camaraderie amongst them was a joy to behold. Long may it continue to produce excellent albums such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorite Stacey Kent CD's, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
I have seen Stacey a couple of times in Newbury, and really like her music, especially the more swingy numbers. My favorites on this album are One Note Samba, and Waiter, Oh Waiter. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chill out tunes, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
I am new to Stacey Kent and bought the CD after hearing a track on the radio. It did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stacey Kent's unique brand of poetry and music, 3 Jan 2014
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
I love Stacey Kent's blend of almost-monologue delivery of some of her songs, which I first heard on the album 'Breakfast on the Morning Train' and which she develops more fully here. Her command of European vernacular widens to include Spanish songs as well as French (at which she also excels) and this album is a lovely combination of all the strengths and originality of Stacey's approach to what is partly jazz, partly classic popular, with the European overtones which make her renditions extra special. A thoroughly enjoyable album to be relished in the quiet of the library or music room (or corner of the sitting room, away from distraction). Not recommended for the car as its subtle and low delivery is spoilt by engine noise. Listen alone and enjoy a unique relationship with this unique singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
We discovered Stacey Kent when we won complementary tickets to a show and have been fans ever since. Pure delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of another angel, 16 Feb 2014
By 
RKR WD (Hillingdon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
As always Stacey has provided us with absolute musical pleasure, glad to see you are now recovered.
We remember that memorable evening a few years ago at the Pizza Express in Dean Street, London where we shared a drink, bought autographed copies of more of your albums (and Jim's too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Changing Lights (Audio CD)
Another great listening experience for any fan of Stacey Kent. It's a good buy and I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Changing Lights
The Changing Lights by Stacey Kent (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews