Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair or not fair?
Having read the two previous reviews on Amazon.co.uk site, I think the award of just 2 stars is not fair on this occasion.

An album that contained their three outstanding recordings in 'Just The Way You Like It', 'Weekend Girl' and the superlative 'No One's Gonna Love You' to warrant just 2 stars is beyond me. In contrast to one of the previous reviewers, I...
Published 12 months ago by A rhythm person

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No-one's Gonna Remaster This The Way It Should...
Firstly, I have to say that this is a fantastic album and deserves a place in every soul-lovers collection - just as good as the day I first heard it back in '84. It's an amazing collection of songs with excellent production - arguably one of The SOS Band's finest.

Sadly the remastering is flat and lifeless but at first listen it sounds like it's from a master...
Published 13 months ago by Haitch71


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No-one's Gonna Remaster This The Way It Should..., 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I have to say that this is a fantastic album and deserves a place in every soul-lovers collection - just as good as the day I first heard it back in '84. It's an amazing collection of songs with excellent production - arguably one of The SOS Band's finest.

Sadly the remastering is flat and lifeless but at first listen it sounds like it's from a master tape source. However, on closer inspection sound quality decreases as we get closer to the ends of what would have been sides 1 & 2 - I suspect they have used a vinyl source and mastered using CEDAR or another de-noise/de-hissing programme in an attempt to remove all the tell-tale signs. Even more alarming is the poor sound quality of the bonus tracks which sound even worse - like mp3 rips from bad vinyl sources.

I was so excited by the prospect of the Tabu catalogue finally being given the respect it deserves, but this is just your typical cash-in by another reissue label not willing to take the time (Do it right???) or spend the money on doing these much sought-after classic recordings justice. I have seen similar complaints on the Tabu-Reborn facebook page and here on Amazon. Such a shame that reissue labels like BBR or Funky Town Grooves didn't get there first. Demon (and their parent company, the BBC!) seriously need to up their quality control - these kinds of poor quality releases are simply not acceptable in the 21st Century - especially for collectors who have waited so long for these albums to become commercially available. This is most definitely not Just The Way You Like It.

Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality below par. Hopefully one day another company will create a better sounding CD, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for: Just The Way You Like It - Tabu Re-born Expanded Edition
Hmmm... It has been well documented that Demon Music Group have been less than honest and are undertaking this reissue of the TABU back catalogue without having all the original master tapes. People who bought previous CDs in the range have come to realise that bonus tracks (such as 12" mixes) are sourced from vinyl and begrudgingly we have had to accept this. However, this time it sounds like the original album may have been taken from vinyl. The sound quality is certainly dubious. What are Demon Music Group playing at with these CDs? They are substandard. How can you have a reissue campaign for the TABU back catalogue without all the master tapes? It's just a joke. I am giving this one star because it isn't acceptable quality and I am hoping that another company manages to reissue this at a later date with better sound quality. The 12" mix of "Break Up" is unlistenable sound quality. It sounds like an mp3.

*** Update 29/11/2013: I have just purchased the CD: Dance Classics Vol.59&60 and the S.O.S. Band "Break Up" sounds fantastic quality - Take note Demon Music Group! This is how it should sound! ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sadly another vinyl rip filled release..when will tabu/demon learn???, 5 Aug 2013
By 
dj richi .com (TOTTENHAM / LONDON) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is my favourite tabu album RUINED BY ADDED MUFFLED VINYL RIPS YET AGAIN!! come on get a grip tabu? learn from funkytowngrooves and use the proper mastertapes...roll on the next label who does this series justice!
and AMAZON thanks for the auto rip but why when i try to download your installer it shows up as a virus??? pointless if you cannot download this ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair or not fair?, 30 Aug 2013
Having read the two previous reviews on Amazon.co.uk site, I think the award of just 2 stars is not fair on this occasion.

An album that contained their three outstanding recordings in 'Just The Way You Like It', 'Weekend Girl' and the superlative 'No One's Gonna Love You' to warrant just 2 stars is beyond me. In contrast to one of the previous reviewers, I don't believe the re-issue is flat. On the contrary, I believe it draws out the Flyte Time Jam and Lewis sound rather better than previous offerings including the terrible CD transfer that ended up on the compilation CD The Best of the SOS Band.

Ok, down to brass tacks. Yes this reissue is making the best of available sources and perhaps in places is padded with the 12" mixes, but let's be somewhat less critical and more praising. This album influenced what happened afterwards - no doubt! With the release of 'Sands of Time' us fans were taken full circle and without 'Just The Way You Like It' we would not have had the brilliant 'Sands of Time' album...

'No One's Gonna Love You' is quite simply the master track on this album. It was also used famously for the backing on Maxwell's 'Accension' found on the MAXWELL'S URBAN HANG SUITE album and also released as a single in 1996.

'Weekend Girl' is an amazing song. In the UK it did ok but should have been right up there. When released, Jazz Funk and Soul was going very commercial (hence the success of 'Just Be Good To Me' and early releases by Alexander O'Neal and Cherelle) but seemingly the UK chart buying public just didn't catch 'Weekend Girl.' The 12" mix was brilliant - the album mix just as good - the 7" single mix appalling!

As remasters go, I like this one. Yes I agree the vinyl has been used in the process, but I do believe there is a new balance on most of the tracks and the loss of percussion on the original long version mix of 'Just The Way You Like It' is replenished and given a forward position in this remaster - hence the feel that the remaster is "flat" - with all digital remastering, when the percussion is brought forward, there is a certain amount of bass that has to be reduced. I believe in this case it is warranted - there is barely a mixdown of bass here - other opinions are available.

Having revisited the youTube videos of the S O S Band recently (and in particular enjoying the footage of their appearances on Soul Train), it is no wonder that the original recording process was problematic. They were a big band! But what we have is a body of work that has stood the test of time.

The funkiest band around at the time, I am a massive fan of their "Groovin' (That's What We're Doin') / 'High Hopes' to 'Sands of Time' period. 'Just The Way You Like It' was a massive milestone from 'Groovin''

And now we are just a few weeks away from gaining the real acid test in remasters with 'Sands of Time' album being reissued with extra tracks... bring it on and let's party!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sos, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the cd I expected for so long...I had only on vinyl and was very used for all the listening times thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews