Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb follow up to 'Singing the Bones', 4 Nov 2013
By 
J. Goldthorpe (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Phillip Henry and Hannah Martin's second album takes it's title from an old English word meaning, amongst other things, memory and remembrance. The title is well chosen as a theme of remembering runs throughout the album, giving it a melancholy, reflective feel.

The songs commemorate a variety of subjects - Neolithic monuments, soldiers from the Napoleonic and First World Wars, eighteenth century astronomers, Victorian gardeners and protesters. But the album isn't simply rooted in the past - Last Broadcast is dedicated to the memory of a journalist killed in Syria in 2012.

Phillip Henry's haunting dobro and lap steel playing forms the basis of the duos sound, with Hannah Martin's viola, fiddle and banjo adding to the atmosphere. Both contribute vocals - Henry's soft and understated, Martin's high and soaring. One song features Henry's amazing beatbox harmonica playing - although you have to see this live to fully appreciate it.

The album has a wonderful flow, perfect listening for autumn evenings as the nights draw in. Folk album of 2013? Too early to say, but this album is certainly amongst the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking! A New Favourite., 17 Oct 2013
By 
Kelz (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Make room for a new favourite folk LP.

It contains a sound that is uniquely English, natural and honest yet dynamically eclectic. Packed with melody and verse crafted to perfection and finely produced.

The storytelling spanning the centuries and allowing you to follow its journey effortlessly with its evocative accompaniment. Scoping from ambient serenity and pastoral beauty, through to haunting and mesmerizing and leading well into foot tapping and head bobbing territory, all tinged with an energy of contemplative experimentation.

Anyone who has seen them play will already be aware of their uniquely skilled instrumental-ism, including Phil's sublime Dobro & Guitar playing that is perfect down to the subtlest levels, and his simultaneous harmonica and beat-boxing has to be seen to be believed. Hannah's fiddle playing is wonderfully layered and adds a varied and sometimes orchestral depth, and her guitar and banjo playing are equally effective.

Hannah's beautiful yet powerful vocal, and Phil's cool soft singing voice give the album further variation. Likewise, the vocal harmonies are notably varied and well-constructed. This album sees that musicianship and vocal charm reach new heights.

I expect this could, and should be a landmark album for the British folk scene, strengthening the roots and bringing it into full blossom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album!, 24 Sep 2013
By 
G. Davenport (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (MP3 Download)
I had not been aware of this duo, but bought this after hearing a track on the BBC Radio2 Folk programme. It is fantastic! Beautiful vocals and brilliant musical accompaniment. There are several outstanding tracks, but to write a stunning song about Caroline Herschel ( sister of the astronomer Sir William) is a real tour de force : it would be my nomination for 'Folk Song of the Year'. I am hoping to get to see them soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radio 2 Folk Awards Brought me to them, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Along with Josienne Clarke/Ben Walker and Lisa Knapp the 2014 Radio 2 Folk Awards have brought my attention to some outstanding acts with this album being one of them. Brave, original and innovative with some unusual offbeat songs in terms of arrangements and subject matter. Both artists are fine multi-instrumentalists and singers who perfectly complement and harmonise with each other. The future of folk is definitely in very safe and capable hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
The talent these two have between them is amazing and the CD is fantastic. To hear it is to love it. These two will be around for a long time - they deserve it. Looking forward to the next CD already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good for all us old Hippies, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Really good for all us old Hippies! Seems to have come from Switzerland by post, well wrapped & a surprise, as I was not expecting it, my memory AWOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album from amazing musicians., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Great selection of intelligent songs.

Beautiful singing and instrumental.

Have played it over and over. Love it.

Got to see them live too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
I watched this duo perform during Broadstairs folk week and was carried away by the beautiful and haunting pieces played. Very musical and meaningful, full of memory, history, love and loss, the music and vocals just carry the listener away where time seems to melt away. Wonderful and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hilights of my musical purchases in the last five years, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (MP3 Download)
The layers and eclectic mix of musical interventions in this album strikes a chord with me and I will return to this album for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow up to 'Singing the Bones', 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Pd Blower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Superb 2nd album carries on from singing the bones with several standout tracks esp nail makers strike
Best recent folk album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mynd
Mynd by Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews