Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking! A New Favourite., 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Kelz (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Make room for a new favourite folk LP.

It contains a sound that is uniquely English, natural and honest yet dynamically eclectic. Packed with melody and verse crafted to perfection and finely produced.

The storytelling spanning the centuries and allowing you to follow its journey effortlessly with its evocative accompaniment. Scoping from ambient serenity and pastoral beauty, through to haunting and mesmerizing and leading well into foot tapping and head bobbing territory, all tinged with an energy of contemplative experimentation.

Anyone who has seen them play will already be aware of their uniquely skilled instrumental-ism, including Phil's sublime Dobro & Guitar playing that is perfect down to the subtlest levels, and his simultaneous harmonica and beat-boxing has to be seen to be believed. Hannah's fiddle playing is wonderfully layered and adds a varied and sometimes orchestral depth, and her guitar and banjo playing are equally effective.

Hannah's beautiful yet powerful vocal, and Phil's cool soft singing voice give the album further variation. Likewise, the vocal harmonies are notably varied and well-constructed. This album sees that musicianship and vocal charm reach new heights.

I expect this could, and should be a landmark album for the British folk scene, strengthening the roots and bringing it into full blossom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album!, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
G. Davenport (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (MP3 Download)
I had not been aware of this duo, but bought this after hearing a track on the BBC Radio2 Folk programme. It is fantastic! Beautiful vocals and brilliant musical accompaniment. There are several outstanding tracks, but to write a stunning song about Caroline Herschel ( sister of the astronomer Sir William) is a real tour de force : it would be my nomination for 'Folk Song of the Year'. I am hoping to get to see them soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radio 2 Folk Awards Brought me to them, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Along with Josienne Clarke/Ben Walker and Lisa Knapp the 2014 Radio 2 Folk Awards have brought my attention to some outstanding acts with this album being one of them. Brave, original and innovative with some unusual offbeat songs in terms of arrangements and subject matter. Both artists are fine multi-instrumentalists and singers who perfectly complement and harmonise with each other. The future of folk is definitely in very safe and capable hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Naturals, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
J. R. P. Wigman "Hans Wigman" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
We all know the established names in English folk. It's hard for a young musician to escape the looming ghost of, say, Fairport Convention. Phillip Henry and Hannah Martin have actually succeeded in creating a soundworld of their own, despite tackling a song like 'The banks of the Nile', famous in its rendition by Sandy Denny.
There are practically no negatives here: great voices blending perfectly, wonderful arrangements, a wonderful mix of selfpenned songs and traditionals and a very 'natural' sound. And it's growing on me - out of my quite extensive folk collection this is a cd I regularly reach for. More, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phillip and Hannah play beautifully together and are well supported by Matt Downer and ..., 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Phillip and Hannah play beautifully together and are well supported by Matt Downer and Robbie Burgess for this studio album. Phillip's slide guitar and harmonica playing is refreshingly new and blends perfectly with Hannah's incredible deep, warm voice, fiddle and banjo playing.
My introduction to them was through their utube clip of 'the boy that wouldn't hoe corn'. Spine tingling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
The talent these two have between them is amazing and the CD is fantastic. To hear it is to love it. These two will be around for a long time - they deserve it. Looking forward to the next CD already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good for all us old Hippies, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Really good for all us old Hippies! Seems to have come from Switzerland by post, well wrapped & a surprise, as I was not expecting it, my memory AWOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album from amazing musicians., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
Great selection of intelligent songs.

Beautiful singing and instrumental.

Have played it over and over. Love it.

Got to see them live too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (Audio CD)
I watched this duo perform during Broadstairs folk week and was carried away by the beautiful and haunting pieces played. Very musical and meaningful, full of memory, history, love and loss, the music and vocals just carry the listener away where time seems to melt away. Wonderful and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hilights of my musical purchases in the last five years, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mynd (MP3 Download)
The layers and eclectic mix of musical interventions in this album strikes a chord with me and I will return to this album for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mynd
Mynd by Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews