Customer Reviews


248 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what an album
after one listen i thought ,yes a good kings of leon album , i then put it on in my van and listened to it on the way to work and on the way home ,by the 3rd time i realised what a fantastic album it is with some good tracks and some pure classics , the base line on "family tree " is amazing . i would recommend any person buying this album will be totally hooked...
Published 13 months ago by Ray

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mechanical Formula
Mechanical Bull is the sixth studio album from Kings of Leon.

It's been about ten years since the Followill's showed up here in the UK. I distinctly remember the freshness and vitality of 'Red Morning Light' and 'Molly's Chambers' from their debut Youth And Young Manhood performed so authentically on Later with Jools Holland.

Bassist Jared (the one...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 116 17 1825 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KOL awesome, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Back to the original sound they had and not the more commercial Only by the night. If you love KOL you will love this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings are Back, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic album they are back to there best and brings back memories of the O2 Arena in June - Thank you Kings of Leon good to have you back!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 29 Sep 2013
By 
C. Tait "Cat man" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Must admit, I was never a fan of "Come Around Sundown" which came as a bit of a disappointment after "Only By The Night".

I have been listening to this album the whole weekend on Spotify (sorry Amazon, maybe later!) and must say I am really liking it. A lot.

Can't think of any weak tracks and it gets more enjoyable with every listen. Right up there my favourite KOL albums OBTN and BOTT.

Nice one boys. A real musical treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mechanized $$$, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
K o L made a beautiful record with their 1st album.

Unfortunately,it's been downhill all the way since.

This latest release is souless garbage,devoid of any of the raw talent K o L demonstrated so many years ago.

Avoid unless you like pretending to enjoy something just because...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brothers of the head, 25 Sep 2013
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
KOL were a real breath of fresh (well I don't know about fresh, but you know what I mean) air in rock music when they arrived 10 years ago, releasing three original & innovative records (which is not always the most common trait when dealing with rock bands).
But then, perhaps because of the fame, fortune & celebrity life style KOL starting to sound like U2 or late-period Eagles, with their next two albums ("Only by the Night, Come around..") sounding safe & unimaginative.
2013's "Mechanical Bull" has been billed as the bands make or break album (although more critically than commercially; there's not much doubt that this record will sell by the bucket load).
It is admittedly slightly strong that KOL last couple of offerings, "Rock City", "Family Tree" are great funky rock songs, & "Beautiful War" is a pretty ballad. But the band soon resorts to type with a string of bland tracks, that the brothers could have written in their sleep.
It might have been a good Idea for KOL to have a taken create break from each other for a couple of years, perhaps to work on side-projects, then returning with their batteries recharged. Working with a producer who would push them out of their comfort zone, such as Nigel Goodrich wouldn't be such a bad idea either.
The deluxe version offers two extra songs (a bit measly, especially considering one of them is taken form a sound track. I mean it wouldn't have broken their necks to have put some demo or live songs on there).
"Work on line" is possible the most commercial song KOL have ever recorded & is as far from their roots as the band have ever been. "Last Mile Home" is a pretty generic KOL tack that you've heard quite a few times over their last two albums.
So if you liked "Only by the Night" & "Come around..", you gonna love "Mechanical Ball", but if your like me & preferred KOL more invented & challenging first three records, you will, I'm afraid be disappointed once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love the early KOL albums and this will not compare, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Listen without prejudice.
I love the early KOL albums and this will not compare.
But it's not meant to. They have evolved, dealt with popularity and moved on.
Still a very good rock album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Would recommend this to all Kings of ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Great Album - Would recommend this to all Kings of Leon Fans if the haven't got it already. Great to get to know the songs before going to see them live at Milton Keynes Bowl ...fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for a real music lover, he was very pleased & it was a very quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Same old stuff. Love Kings of Leon but found this rather boring. It's not bad, just the same as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kings of Leon album, 6 Nov 2013
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
This album is mostly filler. It's a shame this band can't produce the quality their talent deserves. Nowhere near their heyday of Aha Shake Heartbreak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1825 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mechanical Bull
Mechanical Bull by Kings of Leon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews