Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isle Of Noises
Simply can't praise this superb book enough. Daniel got his inspiration from Paul Zollo's 'Songwriters On Songwriting.' Daniel I think this is on a par. Really enjoyed the interviews with the likes of Ray Davies - surely should be titled by the establishment by now - the late Robin Gibb, Sting, and Noel Gallagher. Heaps of info. A truly great book for all pop fans.
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
Firstly I will watch any documentary or read any book on music regardless of whether I like the artist or genre. So when I heard about this book from the author being interviewed on 6music I was very intrigued and not put off by previous comments.
Have to agree there is a lack of female writers (PJ Harvey for example).
There is also a lack of any genre other...
Published 11 months ago by William Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isle Of Noises, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle of Noises (Kindle Edition)
Simply can't praise this superb book enough. Daniel got his inspiration from Paul Zollo's 'Songwriters On Songwriting.' Daniel I think this is on a par. Really enjoyed the interviews with the likes of Ray Davies - surely should be titled by the establishment by now - the late Robin Gibb, Sting, and Noel Gallagher. Heaps of info. A truly great book for all pop fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lessons for songwriters, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle of Noises (Kindle Edition)
I'm not an avid reader, much preferring to pick a stringed instrument up. That said I thought I'd make use of the handed down Kindle I acquired after Christmas. I'm only two chapters in - which each feature one songwriter, and so far read the Ray Davies and Robin Gibb chapters - and they have already given me fresh ideas about approaching songwriting. It would an easy book to dip into. I bought it because I wanted to hear about Ray Davies's approach to songwriting which didn't let me down, but learnt so much from Robin Gibb too.
I'm now up to Jimmy Page - I'm not a Zep fan and would have probably skipped this section, but am now intrigued to learn about his approach. About 8% in and I think I've easily had value for the purchase. Highly recommended to songwriters - nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, and in need of a sequel, 14 Oct 2013
By 
British Commentator (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a book would never be easy to write, the subject matter being vast and requiring lots of specialist knowledge of music genres and artist histories.
The author has done it justice.
It is mainly in a question and answer format, which is easily readable.
A sequel is needed, there are of course many more songwriters in existence, and genres of music that this book does not touch i.e. Soul, Hip Hop, Reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insights into how some of the best British songs were created, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating conversations with British songwriters - from Ray Davies through Jimmy Page, Madness, Annie Lennox, Johnny Marr, Damon Albarn, Jarvis Cocker and many more. Really natural conversations that detail how each songwriter approaches writing, and some of the stories behind so many great and influential songs. Interesting approaches - often surprising - and the author has the writers thinking and reliving those writing times. A book to read from cover to cover and to dip into. A book that not only looks good on the coffee table, but will be regularly picked up and looked at again and again. There is so much in there - every pop/rock music lover should own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good insight into a lot of different artists creativity and inspirations.

Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book you can pick up and put down and open at any chapter, even reread some,well written you actually feel like you are chatting to the writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informed and inspired, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Daniel has obviously carried out a great deal of research into each individual artist and consequently asks exactly the right questions and gets refreshingly honest answers. Try and get the artists songs on playback when you read - it colours the whole picture. Picador - give this man an advance for a sequel now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isle of Noises (Kindle Edition)
...course, some of the writers are more fascinating than others but the interviews are generally enlightening and the writing is engaging throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my sons 21st birthday. We both love music and understanding what motivates and inspires songwriters seemed a good idea for a gift. To tell the truth I would love this myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity opinion..., 28 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Baddiel … fantastically interesting about songwriting… I'm loving the book

Caitlin Moran: Songwriters, on songwriting. Lydon, Davies, Marr: Jesus Christ this is good

John Lydon/PiL Official: This is one of the few interviews that pays full respect to John's musical and lyrical skills and is highly recommended.

Miranda Sawyer (Radio 4 Loose Ends): A fascinating book.

Elle McPherson: ‘…thoughtful and well-designed book.

Robert Elms (BBC London) It's a fascinbating insight into songwriting

Noel Gallagher: Without doubt the finest book I've ever read about songwriters and the songs they write. Fantastic insightful interviews.

Robin Banks: One of the most amazing music books I've ever come across. If you'd like an in depth and incredibly revealing analysis and insight into the musical creative force. and this from the artists who are driven by it - then this book is simply indispensable.........couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isle of Noises
Isle of Noises by Daniel Rachel
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews