Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good read
I have to say I didn't expect to enjoy this so much! Definitely a great book to read on holiday.
Published 14 months ago by NicoCary

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reading
I read this book before giving it to my grand daughter. I found it rather boring but she was looking for to reading it. Spencer was not high in my estimation before reading the book but now he is definitely lower!!
Published 11 months ago by Mrs. Lorna Owen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reading, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book before giving it to my grand daughter. I found it rather boring but she was looking for to reading it. Spencer was not high in my estimation before reading the book but now he is definitely lower!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good read, 15 Oct 2013
I have to say I didn't expect to enjoy this so much! Definitely a great book to read on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into the world of MIC star, Spencer Matthews, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Confessions of a Chelsea Boy is the autobiography of Made in Chelsea star, Spencer Matthews. As one of the most popular characters on the show, he is always at the centre of the drama, usually involving girls, and he is particularly known for cheating on his girlfriends. Whether or not you love or hate Spenny, watchers of MIC cannot deny that the show wouldn't be the same without him, and this book gives you a brief glimpse into his life up til now.

This book is written in chronological order and documents the key moments in Spencer's life from his birth until 2013. It documents what it was like moving from England to France to St Barths and then finally back to England with the creation of the famous Eden Rock hotel, owned by his father, on the Caribbean island, St Barthelemy, along the way. It includes anecdotes from his Eton days in terms of education and social life as well as his brief time at USC in America where he studied for a bachelor of arts degree in cinema and television. Of course, it includes lots of details about the parties he's thrown, the parties he's been invited to and the parties he's promoted, as well as how Made in Chelsea came into being. He talks about pretty much every relationship that he's ever been in right from his first kiss, to his relationship with Stephanie Pratt (yep, it's that up to date) including things about him and Funda, Louise and Lucy, fellow MIC stars. The one thing that I wish this book included more of, is his relationship with his MIC 'boys', Jamie, Proudlock and even Hugo. They are, of course, mentioned numerous times, but not as much as I would like.

One of the most common questions when it comes to reality TV shows, such as Made in Chelsea, is: is it real? Spencer's autobiography gives you a good look at what his life has been like both before and after the creation of Made in Chelsea and it allows you to understand his playboy character a lot better. According to Spencer, the action on the show is real, but I believe he once said in an interview that he 'plays to his dark side'. Having read Confessions of a Chelsea Boy, I feel that the Spencer on and off screen are pretty similar, but perhaps the MIC Spencer is slightly exaggerated. But what about those awkward silences, you ask? Well of course there are awkward silences, no one wants to air their dirty laundry out in public! At least not at first...

What's good about this book is that Spencer doesn't preach about what he has learnt in life, instead he tells you straight up what happened and how it affected him. He's had a hell of a lot of life experiences considering how young he is, a lot of them involving him making some not-so-clever decisions, but I admire that Spencer takes full credit for his own actions. The other good thing is that he doesn't try to glamorise his life. He doesn't really encourage the life that he leads, acknowledging that it's not for everyone and it's certainly not normal, but nor does he discourage it. Spencer's writing is really informal and it feels like you're just having a chat as he tells you his life story. Some details are really quite personal which makes you feel like you're getting a bit closer to the real Spencer Matthews as who he is behind the mask of reality television.

So, if you're a fan of Made in Chelsea and you want to know things like how Spencer met Caggie, Hugo, Jamie, Proudlock and the rest of the MIC cast as well as lots of amusing (well, some not so amusing), anecdotes about his youth and what made him the man he is today - then this is the book for you. I'd highly recommend this to fans of MIC and Spencer Matthews because this book is full of interesting and surprising things about his life that I never knew and that you can't find out by stalking him on the internet. He has actually led a far more interesting life that you would imagine and if you want a concise and fascinating insight into his life then this book is what you need. If you don't watch Made in Chelsea you'll probably have very little interest in this book, in which case, the first thing you need to do, is start watching MIC - because, trust me, it's good. The second the you need to do, is buy this book - because, trust me, it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Made in Chelsea, and enjoyed reading all about Spencer and his family, very easy read. Highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent book, 28 Oct 2013
Very interesting and good book. Enjoy it very much. Could not stop reading it . Can not wait for next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Chelsea Boy: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Big fan of MiC but it's an interesting read & enjoyable because it's honest, definitely not boring and actually made me like him more than I did before I read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 25 Jun 2014
A witty, interesting and honest account of Spencer's life. This is a great, relaxed read which is perfect for when on holiday or relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for an easy read - helps of course if ..., 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Chelsea Boy: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Perfect for an easy read - helps of course if you know the character from the series. Entertaining at times, overall enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not that bad!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Chelsea Boy: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Wasnt as bad as i thought, felt like he was name dropping a bit too much but he has had an interesting life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars as exciting as watching paint dry, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Chelsea Boy: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I love love love mic, love all the people in it nice or otherwise so i thought id love to read more abt them..... I thought wrong! If i wrote my own book it would be more interesting!
Yawn yawn yawn boring! A slightly more privileged up brining than most of us but he has a cheek to actually write his life story because theres nothing exciting in it!! Dull dull dull darlings!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews