Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOTE!!!CRITERION COLLECTION DVD
Oh Amazon!! All these negative quality reviews for old VHS/DVD's which have nothing to do with this 2013 release from CRITERION. These are the first reviews that you come upon and for a careless reader may well put people off this really good release. So... Criterion have again done a good job. Beautiful B/W 4.3 Print, clear picture and sound. An interesting booklet with...
Published 16 months ago by A. W. Wilson

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, poor print
As other reviewers have noted, this is an entertaining film spoiled by a poor quality print. Why couldn't they re-master it as the film deserves?!
Published on 26 Jun. 2007 by Fiction Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, poor print, 26 Jun. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
As other reviewers have noted, this is an entertaining film spoiled by a poor quality print. Why couldn't they re-master it as the film deserves?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A charming comedy that looks dreadful!, 17 Aug. 2006
By 
L. Newman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
A good few years ago, after seeing this film on televison I was charmed enough to want buy it - as it had not been released in the UK, I imported a NTSC VHS copy of it from America.

Having seen this DVD I was appalled to discover that the film looks infinitely sharper and brighter on my old VHS copy when compared to the DVD. The film was made in 1942 - the same year as 'Casablanca' - anyone who has seen that DVD will know how good a film from that era can look if it is restored properly. Obviously 'I Married A Witch' is unlikely to recieve the attention of a famous classsic like 'Casabalanca', but there is no excuse for putting out this film using such an awful, fuzzy, washed-out print - when better quality ones are clearly in existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOTE!!!CRITERION COLLECTION DVD, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criterion Collection: I Married a Witch [DVD] [1942] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Oh Amazon!! All these negative quality reviews for old VHS/DVD's which have nothing to do with this 2013 release from CRITERION. These are the first reviews that you come upon and for a careless reader may well put people off this really good release. So... Criterion have again done a good job. Beautiful B/W 4.3 Print, clear picture and sound. An interesting booklet with tales of March. Lake, Benchley and loads more and an interview with Rene Clair, and a trailer. The film itself is perhaps not to everyone's liking or taste. It is romantic whimsy, but whimsy at it's best, with great acting from everyone, including, perhaps surprisingly, a very funny one from Susan Hayward. But it is Lake's film - Beautiful, vulnerable and a bit wicked as she sets out to seduce and ruin March whose ancestor 250 years ago put her and her father to death as witches. However, as the saying goes "Complications ensue". At 74 mins long there is nary a dull moment, and it gets a rare 5 stars, but, I have to say, it's a personal 5 stars, because as I have said, it may not be eveyone's cup of proverbial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film......Not remastered., 5 April 2006
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to the release of this film onto DVD. Unfortunately it hasn't been remastered and so the asking price of around a tenner is perhaps too much. This isn't to detract from the fine comedy performances - Veronica Lake only bettered her role here in "Sullivan's Travels" and "This Gun for Hire". The Wedding Scene is still as funny as ever but this classic film deserves more from posterity. Maybe they'll get it right next time??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I married a, what?, 14 April 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Fredric March of "Seven Days in May" (1964) fame gets to quickly play several descendents of the pilgrim Wooley (Jonathan, Nathaniel, Samuel, and Wallace.) That is the pilgrim that burned witches, Jennifer (Veronica Lake) and Daniel (Cecil Kellaway) in the 17th century. On their way up in smoke, a curse is placed on the Wooley descendents, that they should me unhappily married.

It was inevitable that the evil father and daughter witch team would return to do more mischief. Will this backfire and will he or she learn from not to be so evil or will they keep it bottled up?

You may be able to identify with the curse. So you need to be sure your spouse sees you laugh at this.

This is one of those situation comedies that you just assume they end up to grater. Don't be too sure.

There is really very little resemblance between this story and the situation comedy "Bewitched".

I have has several copies as they slowly improve the picture and even the sound. The best copy at the time of this review is I Married a Witch (Criterion Collection) [Blu-ray]. They used a 2k restoration process. There are a couple of times that it looks like they missed; however for the most part it is a perfect restoration. There is no voice over commentary or making of extras.

Bell, Book and Candle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic comedy in a dreadful print on UK DVD but given the transfer it deserves by Criterion, 9 July 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic comedy in a dreadful print, 9 July 2012

This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)

Rene Clair's I Married a Witch is one of the most delightful screwball comedies ever made, with a dark wit and a mischievous sense of fun that makes it absolutely irresistible. Unfortunately the same cannot be said of the DVD releases its received thus far. The UK release from Public Domain merchants Cornerstone Media is the kind of typically bad third or fourth dupe print that the label is notorious for - no remastering, no extras and quite a struggle to watch at times. The French PAL release from Universal that's available via Amazon.fr (under its French title Ma Femme est une Sorciere) is a distinct improvement, taken from a much better source with a French-language featurette and poster gallery as extra - but while it does have an English soundtrack, it also has burnt-in unremoveable French subtitles, making for a somewhat distracting viewing experience for non-French viewers. Yet that's still the best way to watch it unless it turns up on TV again (the BBC had a very respectable print they used to run in the 80s), and certainly a better bet than Cornerstone's shoddy offering.

Thankfully the film has finally been rescued from Public Domain Hell by Criterion, whose Region A-locked Blu-ray and Region 1 NTSC DVD releases offer the film in a fine transfer. Aside from an informative booklet there are only a couple of extras - an audio interview with Rene Clair and the original trailer - but it's well worth spending the extra rather than throwing your money away on the UK Cornerstone release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good movie verry bad dvd copy, 14 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
verry fine movie,but the dvd is a flop !!
a vhs cassette of ten years old give better picture quality !!!
a real pitty to bring a fine movie that way !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five-star light-hearted entertainment. Enjoy!, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite 'old' films. This is one of those entertaining stories where you find you've been watching for the last hour with a smile on your face. Light hearted, magical, it draws you in so that you want to see the resolution. The hero is a hero, the heroine is a heroine (and a witch), the good guys are good and the bad guys are - well, not too bad.

The casting is impeccable. Veronica Lake plays her unlikely comedy role very well and Fredric March is perfect as her grumpy wizard father. March plays his role excellently: it takes a good actor to be able to act drunk and do it well.

The direction and script are tight and, unlike other Rene Clair outings, this film keeps its humour subtle and doesn't descend into slapstick. As a result this film has aged well and is still as enjoyable today as it was when it was made.

OK, it's black and white, it's an old print, it could have been cleaned up. But forget all that - it's five-star light-hearted entertainment. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I feel ripped off!, 20 May 2010
By 
Henry Gross (Nashville TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this film and had it shipped to America. I thought for sure it'd be a re-mastered copy. This looks like a fourth generation VHS copy. Total Rip off!!!!! Don't buy it. The film is great but an old VHS release will blow this away. Amazon should not be selling this low quality junk. It's not worth returning from the U.S. but I'll be sure to read the reviews before ordering in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Transfer, 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Married a Witch [DVD] (DVD)
Just what the title says. If someone would fix this right after re-transferring Hope's 'Cat and the Canary', the world will be a better place. This one is actually bordering on unwatchable in it's current form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews