Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Album
When I bought this cd I thought it would just be to add to my collection, especially after I found Nexus to be a little bit disappointing, however, I was wrong. This is a good album, it only gets 4 stars because on 'top of the world' is not too good and 'If you were here now' is ok but a bit pedestrian. The rest of the album is fine with 'On leave' and 'North. being the...
Published 4 days ago by jbk

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated,but decent enough.
John Lees experiments a bit with a slightly jazzy sound on this album - there's a Steely Dan sound to the 'grumpy old man' lyrics of In Wonderland, but the rest is a mish-mash of the 1980s sound with a couple of excellent quite 'proggy' songs. Ancient Waves is a familiar sounding track with decent lyrics that could have come straight off an 80s album, whilst If You Were...
Published 16 months ago by The Soft Machine Operator


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mature BJH Album.., 7 Dec. 2013
By 
S. Gibson (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
Having been a fan since the mid 70's I was unsure whether to get this new CD, worried that it would not live up to what has gone before, however after hearing the excellent track "On Leave" on the free PROG magazine CD I decided to go for it...I should not have worried, this is an excellent album, a testament to John and the guys skill and passion about their music.. They have created an album with a 70's feel, capturing their distinctive sound and style and moving it on and after seeing them recently in Milton Keynes reminded me of why I liked them all those years ago..
Oh and the additional CD is a highly recommended addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars John Lees with a BJH sticker slapped on it, 27 April 2014
By 
E. Naylor "Missinglink" (Wigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
Mel Pritchard must be turning in his grave at the thought of this album being associated with Barclay James Harvest. I wish Lees would simply release material under his own name so that the legions of BJH fans would know that they were paying for the B team. Les Holroyd being the main driving force behind most of the bands best work. In short this is not a good album. It is in essence Lees playing around with different musical styles from Jazz ( at which he is particularly bad ) to soft folk rock ( at which he is decent ) and the album as a whole comes across as confused and not knowing exactly what it wants to be. An insult to the great band that BJH used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great return after almost 15 years ., 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
A very deserved homage dedicated to Mel Pritchard and Woolly Wolstenholme , founders members of BJH . A very good album from John Lees and his band .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars North by John Lees Barclay James Harvest., 19 Nov. 2013
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
An excellent album of John Lees's with a whole new band. Like wine, many bands of old have improved with maturity and John Lees's Barclay James Harvest has certainly done that. The sleeve notes says Les Holroyd is busy recording his Barclay James Harvest latest offering. I can't wait to play the two albums together. North is a lot stronger than the last couple of BJH albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
Lovely drive a nice performer, I am very glad I bought this beautiful drive and recommend to everyone to do the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (MP3 Download)
Definitely Barclay but modernized ! Highly recommend this album to all BJH fans and newcomers. You will not be disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of our favourite albums, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
One of our favourite albums, just had to have this in our CD collection, already had it in vinyl, but cant always play that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
John Lees has never made a decent solo album, and that is what this is. He doesn't have enough good songs to do it. He needs to work with Les Holroyd; between the two of them they can just about manage an album.

Much of this is dreadful. A track starts with a hokey synthesised chord ... and holds it, interminably, while we marvel at how it is both uninteresting and unnatural. Production is dreadful. It frankly sounds like a pub band, and the standard of composition is no better.

I really wanted to like this. But it came along with Asia's "Gravitas" in the post, and there is no comparison.

Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
Better than I thought it might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some classic BJH songs, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North (Audio CD)
Great variety of tracks, very atmospheric and some with that haunting but amazing Mellotron! Echoes from the past no longer the poor man's Moody Blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North
North by Barclay James Harvest (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews