Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pre-Christmas Must!, 23 Oct. 2012
At last a character living with poverty but without the woe is me, self pitying Cinderella tag. Marta shows children in similar straits that fullfilment is not about the lastet gadgets or trainers but accepting who you are, the cards you've been dealt and recognising that life is what you make it. Marta also shows children who only see poverty on TV, that people are the same whatever part of town they live in. All achieved I must add with laugh out loud humour and a pace to keep them interested and entertained. Not a poe-faced, self-righteous lecture in sight! A must for any parent whose child (my own included) is becoming a bit too obsessed with the latest toy, craze or TV program. Even though my eldest is a boy, the book has made him ( and me!)think a bit about how fortunate he is - never a bad thing! Read this book to your child in the run up to Christmas and innoculate them against the worst excesses of relentless `must have' advertising. For the first time I've seen him really empathise and relate to a character that on the surface has nothing in common with himself. A milestone indeed. I'll be recommending this to my child's school as a must read and already have to the other mum's at the school gates. I'm so glad a friend bought this for my boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quiet Review, 16 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the very first words this lovely book draws the reader into Marta's quiet world. The first-person narration ensures an intimacy with the characters and immerses the reader in the environment. Ms Reid's real skill is depicting the disadvantaged, poverty-striken world of Marta and her mum from the child's point of view, making it seem magical and full of wonder, while never shying away from the harsh realities of that world. The variety of Marta's adventures combined with Ms Reid's fertile imagination makes this book a real page-turner and I, like the other reviewer, am looking forward to any further instalments! The book is also very funny, but never at the expense of the central character, whose optimism shines through each page and leaves you smiling, despite the serious issues (crime, poverty, separation, etc.) addressed in the story.

I've passed the book onto my 12 year old stepdaughter, and await her opinion. One thing's for sure - she's going to want a ferret...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deceptively good read., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Life of Marta G. Ziegler (Kindle Edition)
A deceptively good read. When I bought the book a friend said that it must be a YA or children's book - but it is far from it. Written from the POV of an 11 year old (I think - at least not much older), Marta (NOT Martha) is deaf but is being educated in main-stream schools. Far from being overwhelmed by her disability this girl is clawing her way to make her life successful. At times she seems far older than her years with her philosophy on life, at others she's just a kid unable to understand why her father has left her and her mother almost destitute and doing the daft things that most kids would do to get her father back. Ms Reid has produced an excellent read, that isn't always easy when the cruelties of life hit Marta (such as being made to sit at the back of the class and never getting the gold star she coverts), which made me laugh, cry and totally fall in love with this remarkable girl, Marta (without an H).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty going on, in the quiet life of Marta G. Ziegler, 21 July 2013
By 
M. Meredith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Life of Marta G. Ziegler (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure there is anything quiet about Marta' s life, despite the silence. She is a colourful character whose personality shouts out loud. The diary format works very well, although I was disappointed when it ended - too soon! But - very much in keeping with the abrupt endings of many a schoolgirl's diary. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !!!, 15 Oct. 2012
My daughter insisted on me buying this lovely little book for her after attending Ms Reid's book signing evening. She read it in a day, thought it was fabulous, i could hear her chuckling inside her bedroom. She is eagerly awaiting the next one Maggie !!!
Well done and good luck for any future publishing. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mirth filled and marvellously moving..., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Life of Marta G. Ziegler (Kindle Edition)
Resilient, rebellious, radiant and relentlessly optimistic, Marta is a character you can't help loving from the opening page. As she battles against a world that wants to treat her as stupid because of her deafness, she demonstrates that one little girl can take on all comers and win. Her personality, quirky sense of humour and defiant spirit burn brighter than a beacon. Poignant, powerful and witty, this tale is an emotional treat for all dreamers, spurned outsiders and unrepentant rebels. More Marta books please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marta, 9 Oct. 2012
A truly original read. Enthralling and engrossing..... Buy and be prepared to be mesmerized from the first page to the very last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was firstly very impressed with the the quality of the book and also the cover. I knew I was in for a good read. I took it with me on holiday to Orlando, and was not disapointed. I find the author's style of writing, refreshing. I thoroughly recommend this book as a choice to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read, 13 Oct. 2012
Maggie Reid has made the small town of Dumfries incredibly proud with her children's book, The Quiet Life of Marta G. Ziegler. Very well-written, inspiring and we can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Life of Marta G. Ziegler (Kindle Edition)
Liked it as it takes you on a journey into the troubled head of the main protagonist with nice touches and very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Quiet Life of Marta G. Ziegler
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews