Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great albums, great sound
I'm not going to review this collection in the conventional manner because if you are looking at this product and considering purchasing it then you are almost certainly a Johnny Cash fan already, meaning you know that you're going to like most (or even all) of these 20 albums. So instead I'm going to include here some basic information that could come in useful...
Published 10 months ago by Mystery Martian

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums
I disagree that these are the ORIGINAL ALBUMS, when I compared them to the the albums I had recorded on my 7" inch Vertical Tape Reorder in the '60 they are NOT the same
Published 7 months ago by Mr William J King


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great albums, great sound, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
I'm not going to review this collection in the conventional manner because if you are looking at this product and considering purchasing it then you are almost certainly a Johnny Cash fan already, meaning you know that you're going to like most (or even all) of these 20 albums. So instead I'm going to include here some basic information that could come in useful.

The albums:

1. "The Fabulous Johnny Cash"
2. "Hymns By Johnny Cash"
3. "Songs Of Our Soil"
4. "Now, There Was A Song!"
5. "Ride This Train"
6. "I Walk The Line"
7. "Bitter Tears"
8. "Orange Blossom Special"
9. "Sings The Ballads Of The True West"
10. "Everybody Loves A Nut"
11. "From Sea To Shining Sea"
12. "At Folsom Prison"
13. "At San Quentin"
14. "Hello, I'm Johnny Cash"
15. "The Johnny Cash Show"
16. "A Thing Called Love"
17. "John R. Cash"
18. "One Piece At A Time"
19. "Johnny 99"
20. "Heroes"

Facts:

* 20 albums included, all on separate discs. Thankfully they haven't attempted to cram 2-3 albums on one disc as I've seen elsewhere!

* Each disc comes in it's own thin non-glossy card sleeve with replica original album cover on front and original album back-cover on back

* 35-page booklet included. John Carter Cash (son of Johnny Cash) writes a preamble (one page). No new details on individual albums are given, no interesting essays or the like, but each album gets one succinct paragraph of basic background information added, this going up to page 11. Page 12-13 is album pictures. Page 14-33 is the usual album credits and copyright information

* The sound is fine, clean and crisp. As for whether or not they have been remastered, I refer you to J. Milner's comment below for further information on this:

"I'm pretty sure these albums will have been sourced from The Complete Albums set so they will be newly mastered. A lot had not been on CD before so they will have been mastered for CD for the first time. Pretty sure it was done at Sony's Battery Studios in New York by Maria Triana. The discs also have CD Text information which is also an indication that they are new editions." -J. Milner

* Some of these albums are not available on CD elsewhere, only on old vinyl, so I'd snap these up while they're not too expensive!

* If it's buying Cash albums in bulk that you're going for, one alternative to this set is 'The Complete Columbia Collection [Box set, Original recording remastered]', from Sony Music. It is £150+ but looks worth it if you can get it

Recommended for every ardent Johnny Cash fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger Than Life, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Gary Hanna (Newry, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful compact box set containing 20' of Johnny Cash's best albums from 1958 to 1986 the albums in question are..."The Fabulous Johnny Cash", "Hymns By Johnny Cash", "Songs of our Soil", "Now, there was a Song", "Ride this Train", "I Walk the Line", "Bitter Tears", "Orange Blossom Special", "Sings the ballads of the true West", "Everybody loves a Nut", "From sea to shining Sea", "At Folsom Prison", "At San Quentin", "Hello, I'm Johnny Cash", "The Johnny Cash Show", "A thing called Love", "John R. Cash", "One piece at a Time", "Johnny 99", and "Heroes".
All of the albums are original replicas and come with a 33' page booklet with a forward by John Carter Cash and a brief but concise summery of each album and individual track-listing.
The box itself is so neat and sturdy that it's hard to believe it can hold 20' albums as its about the size of two double CDs, this makes it so easy to store alongside other albums without taking up loads of space.
All in all a wonderful collection at a great price by a truly awesome talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 Original Albums, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
These 20 albums cover the period from 1958 - 1986.Each CD comes in a replica album cover, and the box set includes a booklet which contains a preamble by his son John Carter Cash. The booklet has a review of each album and contains a full track listing with details of the original release. Whilst I already owned a number of the albums on vinyl and a couple on CD the set represents excellent value. My only adverse comment is why do most box sets never include glossy album covers. Surely it would not need to increase the cost dramatically!
Overall a great box set on the 10th anniversary of his death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOHNNY CASH, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
FANTASTIC COLLECTION & WHAT A BARGAIN WORTH EVERY PENNY I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO MY FRIENDS
NICE PACKAGING AS WELL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a Johnny Cash Fan for many years this was an ideal buy for me. 20 albums at this price is hard to beat!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
Contains many of my LPs and is so easy to store in this form.
Have yet to play all the collection but, so far, everything lives up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Cash 20 orginal albums - Fantastic, 3 May 2014
By 
J. L. G. Cotton (St Margarets Bay, Dover, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of Jahnny Cash from the early 60's, having brought a number of his LP's either here or from the states, it was good to hear a number of these old LP's now on CD, there are still a number of LP's that hven't been included in this box set so I hope at a later date these to will be released as a box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT,, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
MADE A OLD BOY VERY HAPPY,GHOST RIDERS IN THE STORM YES TOP C.D S,,THANK,S VERY MUCH,,,GOOD VALUE FOR THE MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good gift, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
I was unsure about buying this for my friend who is an ardent Johnny Cash fan, since the CDs don't have their individual plastic cover. However, the package looked good, received it in good shape, and my friend absolutely liked it! He listens to each CD everyday, and is so happy with it. It is a very good gift option for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality box set, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
This is an excellent box set,it sounds good,and very good value.the only issue for me is the paper pockets each disk is in I find them quite a challenge to finally get each one out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Johnny Cash, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums (Audio CD)
Such a pleasure to listen to the 'Man In Black' from his very earliest days to the latest. These albums just go to show the range of his talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums
Johnny Cash: 20 Original Albums by Johnny Cash (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews