Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Ethereal Beauty
Tookah is the sixth studio album from the tranquil Icelandic singer-songwriter Emiliana Torrini.

It has been a long five year wait for her avid fans since the stunning Me And Armini.

Whilst this album doesn't reach the heights of Love in the Time of Science or Fisherman's Woman it is another essential inclusion in her expanding collection of soothing...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my type of music
I didn't like her voice and the music was odd. I have listened more than once and have not changed my mind. Some people obviously like it, but not me.
Published 19 months ago by Leonardcarlyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Ethereal Beauty, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
Tookah is the sixth studio album from the tranquil Icelandic singer-songwriter Emiliana Torrini.

It has been a long five year wait for her avid fans since the stunning Me And Armini.

Whilst this album doesn't reach the heights of Love in the Time of Science or Fisherman's Woman it is another essential inclusion in her expanding collection of soothing yet intriguing records. 'Blood Red' rubs shoulders with some of her best tracks.

The enchanted mystery of her style remains howver the electronic infusion feels a little more stripped back than normal. As you can see from the cover there is a certain tribal aura about the tracks that comes through every so slightly.

Listen to: 'Caterpillar', 'Elisabet', 'Blood Red'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally unexpected but refreshing!, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
What a discovery this album has been. I've been listening to Emiliana since Paul Oakenfolds collaboration "Hold your Hand" and have been amazed at her musical journey ever since. The last album Me and Armini was the only album I thought she went a bit off her path and was not quite her. So thanks first of all for finding the way back from the commercial buzz to mystery and intimacy.
With Tookah I recognise her in every way. The musical journey explores new genres, reinventing her style, keeping up with trend and yet creating something hauntingly beautiful you almost don't want anyone to know about before it gets played round the clock on the radio.
The basslines are so refreshing and Emiliana has really created a musical landscape here. Electronic beats are slipping from 80's synthpop tunes in Speed of Dark reminding you a bit of the Cure to heavier, dangerous and experimental beats in When Fever Breaks. My favourite track (although I hate to make distinctions - they are all special!) has to be Tookah. The harmonies are switching at every corner and with the first listen you might feel like on a rollercoaster. Autumn Sun is another intimate folk ballade taking you back to Fisherman's Woman but with a twist from her new world Tookah. It's amazing amazing amazing and I can't praise this album more right now, what have the Icelandic that we don't have? They must get these tunes in their dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best singer songwriter album of the year, 21 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Tookah (MP3 Download)
Heard this album on headphones in a record store and I was hooked within seconds. I love her vocal quality, pure but fragile. Tookah, Caterpillar, Autumn Sun and Home are all superb both musically and lyrically. Speed of Dark is not too much my thing but then the others are so good it doesn't matter! For me this album is up there with Kate Bush's Hounds of Hell and Bjork's Debut; a future classic. I can't wait to listen to her earlier stuff now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gorgeous album., 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
I made sure I didn't review Tookah until I had become familiar with it. Once you have developed a love for an artists previous work, the initial reaction tends to be a feeling that it does not match up to the songs you know and love. Admittedly this was the case here but now I have grown accustomed to the songs, I adore it.
Tookah is similar to Me and Armini in that it has some stripped back tracks but some up tempo ones alongside. I feared a more experimental album than the one Emiliana has delivered here. If you loved the last three albums, you will probably love this, but it is probably still quirky enough to avoid huge commercial success. I can handle that. In my opinion, not as good as Fisherman's Woman but on par with her other two English speaking albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
It's always a joy to discover a new artist and listen to their work for the first time and this one didn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from Emiliana Torrini, 29 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tookah [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great stuff from Emiliana Torrini. Has a sort of 80's vibe to it as well as a folky feel - you can't really categorise her sound and you really shouldn't just play it and enjoy!! Highly recommended…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tookah [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A superb album from the hugely talented Emiliana Torrini- highly recommended. Especially for the first single Speed Of The Dark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
Tookah is a great Indie music album. Calming to listen too and very Icelandic and atmospheric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tookah (Audio CD)
Emiliana at her quirky and charming best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tookah
Tookah by Emiliana Torrini (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 11 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews