Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended
Excellent translation and a very sensitive handling of two children from different backgrounds. Initially, dealing with these two children who have different talents, we follow their growth into adulthood with very subtle hints as to what might develop.
I wont spoil the story as it needs to be absorbed to fully appreciate it. Suffice to say that the final pages are a...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. A. Bell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars really…….
A Better than average read - some really good ideas here - but for some reason, I felt slightly let down at the end. Was great to read a German author - def gave the book a different feel.
Published 4 months ago by C Willmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
Excellent translation and a very sensitive handling of two children from different backgrounds. Initially, dealing with these two children who have different talents, we follow their growth into adulthood with very subtle hints as to what might develop.
I wont spoil the story as it needs to be absorbed to fully appreciate it. Suffice to say that the final pages are a very different twist on a sci-fi theme.
Tony Bell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in decades, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Ken Mcardle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
Totally brilliant book that is a great story, a great explanation of nanotechnology and a philosophical masterpiece - awesome and memorable book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SF on a grand scale, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
What a book! Though it is 'proper' SF, "Lord of All Things" includes strong elements of a thriller, a romance and even a light sprinkling of horror and fantasy.

The grand scope also applies to the story itself with goes from a child's dream to earth-shattering events; the scenery covers Japan, New England, the Russian Arctic, the American West, Argentina and even outer space while (the body of) the book covers about 40 years.

The German author (the translation is very good btw) handles the characters, the story arc and all other elements very well, he has most obviously done his research and the book is a joy to read.

I deducted (half a) star because the villains are a bit wooden and the whole story is somewhat predictable - but that's being picky and actively looking for a weakness. You may as well call the predictability 'logical development'.

This was my first novel by Andreas Eschbach, but definitely not my last.
Highly recommended (4 1/2 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on all levels, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
There is so much going on here that it's clear to see that a lot of love and hard work have been lavished on this huge book. The author and translator have done a fantastic job in presenting such a riveting Sci-fi read. If you're looking to escape the third rate Military, Post apocalyptic and Sorcerer strewn Sf that swamps the Kindle these days then look no further than this marvelous slab of inventive, ambitious and imaginative storytelling. This tale will stay with me for a long time. Well done. Hope there's more to come from Herr Eschbach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a gamble that paid off, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
Did I really want to read a book that's bee transferred into English? It was touch and go, but I always know when I'm liking a book when I find myself sneaking over to the armchair for another chapter. This is what happened here - it's can't-put-down territory. It does a few twists and turns, but never so much that you lose the drift. Thoroughly recommended. Brian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted and an excellent translation, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
Andreas Eschbach allows his sense of wonder to range far and wide. The author takes a very believable robotics theory and develops it over the lifetimes of his two central characters. His story begins with two children from very different backgrounds who come together by their own machinations but these two have talents that are not given to ordinary people. Hirohito the boy, has a vision that if realised will free mankind from all toil. Charlotte, his companion is able to view the past by just touching relics. Their lives are loosely intertwined and their stories, whilst they are developed separately, have relevance to each other.

Perhaps my only criticism is that there is sufficient material for the author to have written two books.One as a sequel to the other. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Draws you in then takes you on a rollercoaster, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
I didn't know what to expect from this book and was pleasantly surprised by the opening few chapters...then boom! it grabs a hold and takes you on a rollercoaster of a ride. definitely a tale of two contrasting halls, but each as good as the other.
well worth picking up...screenplay written all over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
Thought provoking page turner. One of those. Oops you want to finish quickly but hate yourself for doing so. Simply breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
This book is in, one word, brilliant. Its confusing, but at the same time understandable, and i wouldn't of known half of what was said if i didn't take physics or chemistry in secondary school. Would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, human sci-fi at its best, 10 May 2014
By 
P. G. Russell (North Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of All Things (Kindle Edition)
I originally borrowed this title from the Kindle library after reading the reviews, but had to own it - the characters live, the storyline is so carefully drawn out, that when the s*** hits the fan it comes as much as a surprise for the reader as for the sufferers. The ending is worthy of the whole book, and it is definitely high on my re-read list. I have bought the only other Eschbach title which has been translated (Carpet Makers) but am saving it to take on holiday. I recommend this book to sf and non-sf fans alike (whatever sf is!) - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of All Things
Lord of All Things by Andreas Eschbach
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews