Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cult of celebrity worship.
I love the films Sofia Coppola comes up with! I saw "The Bling Ring" last night and was not disappointed - it is a funny, shifting, tongue-in-cheek on the mark portrayal of the madness of the celebrity obsession. The obsession that results in a feeling that we know people in the public eye, and have a right to invite ourselves to their homes. And this is what happens, a...
Published 16 months ago by Lola

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly Flat
Disappointing! Cast were clearly capable and director has been marvellous in the past. I just found this structurally wanting. Within minutes the characters are robbing celeb houses. What I expected (and would have preferred) would have been the build up - the first forays, the aborted first robbery, the tentative first success, then introducing sloppiness before being...
Published 6 months ago by N. Baseley


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cult of celebrity worship., 6 Aug 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bling Ring [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love the films Sofia Coppola comes up with! I saw "The Bling Ring" last night and was not disappointed - it is a funny, shifting, tongue-in-cheek on the mark portrayal of the madness of the celebrity obsession. The obsession that results in a feeling that we know people in the public eye, and have a right to invite ourselves to their homes. And this is what happens, a posse of adolescent middle-class LA girls and their gay friend (brilliant Israel Broussard portraying a young adult who is embracing his gayness, his performance is flawless) embarked on a thieving extravaganza, targeting homes of the celebrities next door (Paris Hilton, Orlando Bloom, Lindsay Lohan et al). Time after time, they broke into celebrities' abodes and tried on stuff, innocently bagging a bracelet or two. Those "trips" continued and the thieving escalated with the amount of publicity their gang received. As their sense of cautiousness disappeared, they started to bag as much bling as they could carry away, occasionally taking Ferraris for a ride (returning them in time of the lawful owner's return back to LA). Until, of course, they got caught and were put behind bars. For real.

As the credits started to roll (to yet another great piece of music!), a couple of girls behind me voiced their opinions: "What was that about? Completely pointless..." I felt smug. God, I felt energised and elated after the film, a bit like after watching a fine thriller. The whole experience felt like a good thriller to me - I was at the edge of my seat, tensed and a couple of times literally holding my breath (the gun scene?!).

The film is very well made. Cinematography is beautiful. There are numerous scenes that are stunning and well thought through (the night driving, when we see just the road ahead? the car crash scene? the sad and disturbing scene, where the ring leader (played by Katie Chang), stands in Lindsay Lohan's bedroom and sprays herself with perfume? the almost silent scenes of robberies? the list is endless!). The acting of the young actors is solidly good (some critics pointed out that there are scarcely any dialogues in the film, but this is not a radio play that would not survive without a good dialogue, this is Sofia Coppola's film!). Chang and Broussard and our own Emma Watson are excellent!

And the humour! This is (perhaps first) genuinely funny Coppola's film - Leslie Mann is hilarious and sweet as a spiritual mum home-schooling her children on the principles of The Secret. And the fuchsia pink shoes!

And the music!

This is definitely a film that will divide opinions, but sometimes you need to think outside the lines. This is not just a portrayal of a incident that took place a few years ago, without comment or any directorial input, this is a satire of the world's celebrity culture. In her last film Somewhere [DVD] (2010), Sofia Coppola tried to illustrate the meaningless of celebrity existence. And in "The Bling Ring" she continues her musings on the topic of fame, depicting the obsession with all things celebrity.

This is a real life tale of obsession (on wrong things), arrogance and dilusion, and a time capsule of the strange times we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly Flat, 1 Jun 2014
By 
N. Baseley (Haslemere, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Disappointing! Cast were clearly capable and director has been marvellous in the past. I just found this structurally wanting. Within minutes the characters are robbing celeb houses. What I expected (and would have preferred) would have been the build up - the first forays, the aborted first robbery, the tentative first success, then introducing sloppiness before being caught. Instead, every burglary felt the same.

It's possible that the message was that the kids felt so little that there WAS NO build up, no jeopardy for them. I dunno, just doesn't seem very filmic with such little development.

By the end I had little idea who they were, why they'd done it... and most of all, why the celebs has such awfully inadequate security!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Saw the trailed and isnt normally a film i would watch but the trailer sold it too me. Enjoyed the film, it progressed well and emma watson played a great role. would recommend to Fans of emma watson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars my review of the Bling Ring, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
ok but would not have payed to go to the cinema to see it,not as good as i thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars STEALING FROM THOSE THEY ADMIRE., 19 Nov 2014
This review is from: Bling Ring [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Though good and far more interesting than SOMEWHERE by the same director,this just doesn't quite pay off.
Certainly it pushes buttons and makes you question the characters,but it didn't grip me.
The story is of THE BLING RING,a group of annoying friends that are shallow and party a lot and decide it would be a good idea to break into houses of celebrities they most admire and take things from their homes.
This really happened (though i'm certain things were altered.) What is baffling is how is this generation getting so shallow and greedy and why are they stealing from people they admire? A lot of the talk is like soooo annoying,you get my drift.
Granted you want to see these vile creatures caught and the movie does its job there,the acting is fine,so another job done,but the annoying people stealing riches from celebrities who are ostensibly far richer than is justifiable is a bit boring after so long.
What's more,why oh why is the security so bad in the homes of people who can surely afford the best going? Very odd.
So sure it is a watchable movie,but i get frustrated watching people as self centered as this getting more and more.
Yes,the bling ring pushes buttons,but i won't be pushing play again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save yourself 90 minutes of your life..., 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Bling Ring (DVD)
If you've read the amazon synopsis of this film, you probably don't really need to watch it, as that's pretty much it for plot. I've seen and liked the director's previous work, but this is such a thin storyline, it's just like a fashion shoot on steroids - pretty girls draping themselves in jewellery and clothes. The characters are sadly under-developed, so you don't really have any strong feelings for or against them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love Emma Watson, and it was her involvement in the film that brought it to my attention. She was the reason I watched it for free on a plane. However, the plot line, characters and stellar acting are what prompted me to buy the DVD. It's a really interesting, true life story told by one of the most talented young casts I've seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Documentary like film, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film is almost a documentary on a true story. It was difficult to be involved, because it was not shown from a particular persons point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Bling Ring [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Bit of a rubbish film, it just doesn't really go anywhere. And its predictable. The characters have no development so you really don't care what happens to them. They just come off as spoiled brats.

Emma Watson's performance was good with the little she was offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear., 3 Jun 2014
This film is pretty awful

One hour in and there's still the same overused footage of bad actresses stealing shoes and handbags. Nothing is happening, it's very dull and the story line is close to cringing.

Don't waste your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bling Ring   [US Import] [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region A]
Bling Ring [US Import] [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region A] by Israel Broussard (Blu-ray - 2013)
£17.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews