Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & honest account of a life of excess
A story about the excesses of the 90's and 00's of a Wall Street trader. This isn't an account of the financial crisis (not sure why you'd expect one from the synopsis) or how to beat the market - it's a man's honest tale about living life beyond the full, losing personal control and paying the price. The honesty of the author is refreshing and there's a point in the book...
Published 8 months ago by Peter Drake

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Boring$ide
The writer took a dragging approach with his formation/style of writing, he kept skipping from one event to the next with hardly any descriptive analysis of the characters in general to say the least. Therefore, I, as the reader, was forced to guess what happened before the next event occurred. I was expecting the book to be a success, but, I've come to realise, that I...
Published 3 months ago by Dorothy Solomon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & honest account of a life of excess, 30 Oct 2013
A story about the excesses of the 90's and 00's of a Wall Street trader. This isn't an account of the financial crisis (not sure why you'd expect one from the synopsis) or how to beat the market - it's a man's honest tale about living life beyond the full, losing personal control and paying the price. The honesty of the author is refreshing and there's a point in the book (not a spoiler) where I was shouting out 'No! No! No!' in disbelief and sympathy with the turn of events.

I think this book goes a lot further than just being a story about Wall Street - it's a story about a man learning to accept his own failure. Definitely worth a read - and you don't really have to understand trading or finance to fully appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Honest and Revealing Account of an Industry Shrouded in Secrecy, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A warts and all tale of life as a buy-side trader. Great insight into the social dynamics and office politics that take place within the hedge fund industry hats off to Turney Duff for giving such a sincere account even if it does make him look like a seriously out of control drug addict who should barely be allowed to manage himself let alone millions of dollars of other people money...hope he gets well soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down- honest account of lifes ups and downs, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Turney opened up his heart and soul on what he went through and how it changed his life. Now he can finally learn from the lessons and follow his real lifes dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and Inspirational., 22 April 2014
By 
M. Roper (Hazel Grove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and found the author's writing style extremely engaging. You can tell the author has a way with words and it's evident that his first love is writing. This book is a fascinating character assessment of a fresh out-of-the-box graduate with a small town background who is thrust into the intense, cut throat world of Wall Street, where it's not just what you know, but who you know. This book provides a warts-and-all account of life on "The Buy Side" - the immense personal wealth, the nightlife, the debauchery, the shallow relationships and the copious drug abuse.

At first I felt envious of Turney's lifestyle but as the book progressed, the excess became nauseating and the initial glamour faded away altogether. It was unsettling to follow the journey of this inexperienced graduate as he slowly morphs into a high-flying, sleep-deprived, cocaine-fuelled wreck. I always thought it would be amazing to work in The City or on Wall Street, now I'm not too sure.

I took a lot from this book that can be applied to my own life and career although I have no previous experience of finance or trading. The final third of the book deals with Turney finally accepting that life on Wall Street did not bring him the fulfilment and vitality he craved. He realised that bold decisions needed to be made in order to preserve what matters to him most. Without giving too much away, the ending of this book is incredible in many respects, but above all uplifting. I think we can all learn a lot from Turney's journey and I would strongly recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read shame about the end, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
I have to say I liked the writing style as it didn't need to know much about the ins and outs of Wall Street, as a lot of the time it appears turney doesn't either and 'winged' it a lot. Enjoyed the stories and gave you an insight into the excess, however it still didn't seem as much as I thought and when you spend as quick as you gain it only ends one way...... Or for turney in hotel rooms watching porn! Still a worthwhile read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful what you wish for., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
An eye opening account of life on Wall Street, where the good don't die young, it just seems like it. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read book which reveals some of the more murky practices of Wall Street as well as the powerful grip of addiction. Some of the content feels like it belongs in a work of fiction but the fact that it is not and that the author has lived through it all makes it a more compelling read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
Forget your Wolf Of Wall St. Mr Duff was the original. This is a tale with everything. Funny, honest and heartbreakingly sad. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Really Really Good - nice guy to, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
Documents his rise and fall in the world of the buyside wall street trader.

Good story. Lots of drugs. actually amazing he is still standing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Buy Side: A Wall Street Trader's Tale of Spectacular Excess (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book - a must read - a book that tells you money is definitely not everything in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews