Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, and nicely different from the Ankh-Morpork game, 9 Oct 2013
By 
R. Law "rab" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
As lovers of the Ankh-Morpork game, we had high hopes for this one, and it has turned out to be quite justified. It is much fun to play, and does capture many of the classic parts of all the Pratchett witches stories. A fair amount of the references seem to be from the Tiffany Aching series, but that is no bad thing, those books showing a lot of the apprentice witching that this game emulates, and the variety of established witches and their politics.

It perhaps relies a little more on random chance than some complex games, but there is still a portion of strategy that can make the difference in the end. Rolling a double-cackle is always fun to see your opponents do and terrible when it happens to you, snake eyes would be gentle by comparison :). It's gameplay seems to me a little more in the style of battling card games than a typical board game, but A-M has a few of those themes too and they work well in both games.

The aesthetics of the tiles and cards are quite nice, although I have a minor niggle of green tiles placed on the largely green board being sometimes a little hard to see, that is probably just a sign of my poor eyesight :P. The graphics are quite detailed and fit the themes well. Great to see the characters we know in detail, good and evil. A little more variety on the easy tasks may have added an edge to it, but then being an apprentice of any sort means repetition of tasks, so that has verisimilitude :)

Not tried the solitaire or cooperative versions yet but that looks like it has potential for fun as well as the competitive mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
An excellent co-operative entry-level game. The game matches the theme nicely as does the play and the use of "Cackle" counters and both Mr Pratchett and Mr Wallace can be proud of the result in this game design. As with a lot of co-operative games this can be played solo as well as multi-player. Of the Co-operative games that are on the market this is at the low end of complexity but that does not mean low enjoyment, I have enjoyed every game of "The Witches" that I have played. Highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
I bought Ank Morpork last Xmas and everyone loved it. This is slightly different but each time we play the game, we learn more and it's keeping us entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic board game just like his books amazing, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
My son loves it and my other children enjoy playing this game too would recommend this game for anyone that loves his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game much like the Discworld board game it has ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
Excellent game much like the Discworld board game it has long instructions that look complicated but once you start playing it's easy to understand. Good long playing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely game, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
It's perfect for people that have been through the Terry Prattchet novels featuring Granny Weatherwax and Tiffany Aching. The references are just delicious. Also, nice game for two people only, if you want to expend a quiet evening. For larger games' nights it has the downside of only allowing a maximum of four players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
Bought as a gift but played after Xmas with the receipiant. Needed to check the rules online after the first game didn't really flow quite right. But once we had the rules sussed (rule book was fine just one bit could be interperated one of two ways) it played really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Nov 2013
By 
C. E. Wise (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
Brought as gift for my sister- she loves it- prompted me to watch disc world series- colour of magic- brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did you played Discworld?, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
If this is your firs Terry Pratchett board game than go back one page and get the Discworld. I can't really compare them but Discworld offers a ton more and keeps you on your toes. The Witches is fun as well but you don't interact as much with other players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 2 Oct 2014
This review is from: Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game (Toy)
This game is good fun to play, we love the Terry Pratchett games they provide entertainment for an evening and t's something a little bit quirky like the books, worth the money, and it was delivered very quickly too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terry Pratchett The Witches Board Game
£26.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews