Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luc Besson's 'The Fifth Element' re-remaster on Blu Ray
The Fifth Element [Blu-ray] [1997]

Going to leave a short-ish review, hopefully putting any fans of the movie at ease.

Wow for starters....I'm very impressed and very relieved. Let it be known I've done my fair share of research before purchasing this product. I've heard the rumours of the disappointing 1st Blu Ray release and the remastered the...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by TopCat 89

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cinéma du Look goes high camp in the 23rd century!
Luc Besson is famed for his "Cinéma du Look" style, epitomised by gorgeous visuals and sometimes criticised as a triumph of style over substance. The Fifth Element is no exception and, if you enjoyed Besson's The Big Blue, you are sure to appreciate the wonderful eye-candy on offer in The Fifth Element. At the time of its production this was by far the most...
Published 8 months ago by Cartimand


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luc Besson's 'The Fifth Element' re-remaster on Blu Ray, 3 Feb 2012
The Fifth Element [Blu-ray] [1997]

Going to leave a short-ish review, hopefully putting any fans of the movie at ease.

Wow for starters....I'm very impressed and very relieved. Let it be known I've done my fair share of research before purchasing this product. I've heard the rumours of the disappointing 1st Blu Ray release and the remastered the following year round 2006-07. I was very anxious hoping not to buy the faulty one or be disappointed in the so called "remastered". However I finally stumbled across some news and found out another Blu Ray version was re-re-released only last summer 2011. A sort of "re-remaster". Anyways after taking the plunge as i was 'desperate' to own this movie, i'm delighted. Apart from the obvious dated CGI SFX, the Blu Ray transfer is AMAZING, and could easily be disguised as a movie released yesterday in cinemas...obviously ignoring Bruce Willis has hair and such films as Avatar.

Overall Picture Quality 5/5 Sound Quality 4.5/5 Movie itself of course 5/5

Hope this review helps, don't be discouraged by some random negative reviews, 9x out of the 10 you will realise they are reviewing a different product or version yet in the same review table. I'm reviewing the apparent 6th June 2011 re-re-release of "The Fifth Element" on Blu Ray. It's BEAUTIFUL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars, 4 Feb 2004
I worked at a cinema when this film was released. In between work I would sneak into the auditorium to catch snippets. It was an eagerly awaited blockbuster after all. But on each occasion I was repelled by what I saw: futuristic cars that looked like something you'd see at a fair; bright red hair; orange vests; Gary Oldman made to look ridiculous; low-budget-looking monsters. It all seemed wrong.
When the film came out on video I watched it one evening and was engrossed. It worked. Today I own the DVD and I can confidently say that this is one of my top 5 films of all time. I love it. It brings together elements of other well known sci-fi films but goes beyond with a positivity so fresh I can't imagine it ever dating or ceasing to please.
There is a curious mixture about this film of intense effort (it was a long time coming for Luc Besson before the likes of Leon, and after a couple of viewings it is apparent to be a clever and intricate conception) and an almost throwaway modern kitsch (for example the Jean-Paul Gaultier design that I now consider inextricable from the film's attraction) The overall effect of the film is that it not only works but sparkles. It all makes sense and yet makes you giddy. It's like sherbert on the tongue but it still leaves a pleasant after-taste.
Bruce Willis is a true hero, Gary Oldman a true villain, and Milla the most perfect and lovable girl I think I have ever seen on screen. It is not designed to scare or shock, it is not crammed with nerdy effects to wow the computer kids, it is human, funny, emotional and spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High octane space opera., 15 Jan 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bruce Willis stars as Korben Dallas, a retired army major now working as a taxi driver. One day a beautiful young woman drops (literally) into the back of his cab and there starts the adventure. Milla Jovovitch is Leeloo, the girl who ‘dropped in’ on him and who is on the run from the authorities. Her destiny is to save the world from an ancient evil that has reared its head and she needs the help of a reluctant Korben.
Also appearing are Gary Oldman as crooked, evil boss Zorg, Ian Holm as Cornelius,a priest and Chris Tucker, the latter providing comic relief as larger-than-life Ruby Rhod, a manic and neurotic D.J. who ends up accompanying the heroes on their quest.
Luc Besson has created a visually stunning piece of work. The cinematography is vibrant and colourful and the costumes (designed by Jean Paul Gaultier) have to be seen to be believed; the special effects are of the quality you would expect and add to the whole experience. This is a fast paced movie that grabs you and doesn’t let go from start to finish, a real roller coaster ride of a movie that is well worth seeing. Turn up the volume and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where did he learn to negotiate like that?, 12 July 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
First time I watched this it was one of those three star things that you could take or leave. Yes it had all the elements (except the fifth) that make for a good shoot-um-up space thing. But I just looked at it as an action movie.
For some reason this movie can grow on you and you find yourself anticipating the next move. Then you see things that you did not see the first time. Then you start to mouth the words. Soon this turns into a five star movie with a plot, good guys, bad guys, and good bad guys. Soon you start looking in your auto-wash to see if you left anything in there.
An ancient thereat of dome looms over the earth. An ancient religion keeps the secret of the doom and the secret of the defense (the fifth element.) Prophecy turns into reality and it is up to Major Koeben Dallas (Bruce Willis) to find the fifth element and save the earth.
Will he be able to do this and at what emotional expense?
What is the fifth element?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must be seen cinematic marvel!, 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Luc Besson's vision of the future is a non-stop extravaganza of gallic style, american weirdness, and cigarettes with the longest filters known to man!
Special effects are as you'd expect superb, action sequences are glued-to-your-seat enthralling and the plot, despite getting a little too sentimental towards the end is predictable but highly entertaining.
What sets this film apart from all other sci-fi movies is it's totally unique (and often bizarre) comic book appearence. Colors are brash and gaudy, clothes are skimpy, weird and typically Jean Paul Gaultier and every detail of everyday living has been played around with in an almost surreal manner.
A film that can be watched ad infinitum without ever becoming boring, a definite one to buy!!
Star wars, star Trek and their ilk all take themselves far too seriously, Fifth Element never lets you stop smiling, even when the bullets, flames, nuclear warheads, scrapnel and other assorted bombs are flying! The future has never looked so bright!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I wait so long?, 23 Sep 2005
People kept telling me to watch this film but for some reason I just didn't fancy it. Then someone bought it for me as a present (must have been Christmas because I don't have birthdays anymore....).
I'd avoided it because I'd enjoyed Besson's 'Leon' so much that I thought anything else would be a disappointment. What an idiot! I really enjoyed this film - it's pure entertainment from start to finish, and I find myself digging it out when I need a lift.
Bruce Willis is looking for his perfect woman in the film, and he finds her in Milla Jovavich. Well I'm with you there Mr Willis - I fall in love with her every time I watch the damn film. It's getting very boring........ Definitely 5*'s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting a Bit Complicated..., 22 Jun 2011
The Region B-locked BD release of 6 June 2011 (B004KKX9AY) has better picture *and* audio quality than the remastered/improved 2007 Region A-locked Columbia/Tristar edition (UPC 043396215207), which itself replaced the initial (defective) 2006 release (at least here in the US)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Element Special Edition (2 Disc), 19 Nov 2003
By 
For any fans of the movie this is an absolute requirement. The 2 discs are rammed full of extra's including programmes about the making of the movie at Pinewood studios, at the time it was the largest production ever in the UK, as well as the design and postproduction. The menu's are in full glorious surround too and are nothing short of spectacular! Don't miss this, throw out your old version (be it VHS or DVD) and add this to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rubber suits, comic accents, jam packed plots...what more?, 16 Jun 2005
By 
corinne (ENGLAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!) - See all my reviews
A lot more. This film was fantastic i thought. I will start with the good points of the film. All the Zorg oldies but goldies. Brilliant character. Gary Oldman plays the humourous and determined Jean Baptiste Emmanual Zorg, the baddy. I have to say that the rubber suits topped off the character, along with the accent, but i have to mention the cherry. One whole world nearly comes crashing down because he chokes on a cherry. I have to say that this was the funiest part of the film, and i suppose most people wil agree. The bad points of the film, was that the funny bits didnt last long enough. If it is going to be a comedy, like most reviews said...it needs to get you laughing in stitches to be sucessful.
Also the whole future "flying car" thing was a bit too predictable. Although, saying this,aren't most set-in-the-future films this predictable? Anyway, i like this film. But it has got potential that should have been forfilled. It is a family film, one that either you love or Hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Negative, I am a meat Popsicle., 30 Aug 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's 2259 and the Earth is in mortal danger from pure evil. The only hope Earth has is something called the fifth element, which comes in the form of the newly cloned Leeloo. Along with an ex forces cab driver and a priest called Cornellius, Leeloo must piece it together before the end of mankind arrives.

Depending on which side of the fence you sit on, The Fifth Element is either a child fantasy made by an adult, or an adult fantasy made by a child! Here in lays the problem that many critics and movie watchers can't agree on. Just what does Luc Besson's film want to be? Having conceived the concept for his film at a very easily age, Besson I think waited until he was comfortable with his adult eyes, and armed with the technological advancements in the late 90s, to realise his vision. With the result being a beautiful piece of science fiction that is, yes- cartoonish in every other frame.

Crucial tho is that Besson's futuristic vision of New York dominates proceedings, not even a villain overdrive from Gary Oldman can detract from the colourful vistas that Besson has crafted. The sea has dropped and New York is awash with flying cars, there are no take away's anymore, the Chinese junks fly to your front door to serve you food, how cool is that? Shape shifting aliens are amongst us, who in the context of this Jean-Paul Gautier clothed universe, blend in effortlessly, and opera divas are strangely beautiful and blue creatures. In short, the film is an art direction treat, a feast for the eyes, even as the comedy and action take control in the final third.

Bruce Willis quickly leaves behind his successful trip to harder edged roles {Twelve Monkeys}, to play super cabbie Korben Dallas. Gun toting and with a quip at every turn, this is the Willis that the MTV generation loves and adores. Oldman, for better or worse as Zorg, gives a memorable performance {oh my, is that a Southern American accent?}, but it's with Mila Jovovich {Leeloo} that the film gets its acting spurs. A pure revelation, it begs the question on why Jovovich has failed to progress in the acting world? {stop doing tripe like Resident "will work for food" Evil films would be a good start}.

Sci-fi fans will obviously get the point that the support cast features Ian Holm {Alien} and Brion James {Blade Runner}, which off sets the annoying and painful turn from Chris Tucker as zany, insecure DJ Ruby Rhod {is Besson having a pop at world DJs here I wonder?}. To leave us with what? A film that mildly suffers from its director giving way to his heart over his head, but hey baby, it's one groovy and enjoyable romp from start to finish regardless. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fifth Element - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [1997]
Used & New from: 21.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews