Customer Reviews


281 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Horror
This is what the British do best. True horror and suspense without all the budget blown on wasted special effects.
This isn't a popcorn movie, But it's all about atmosphere, Photography and eerie nervousness.
If you're like me, and get totally engrossed in a film from start to finish, You'll love it. However, if you like teen horror flicks or flashy special...
Published on 26 July 2004 by T. Brookes

versus
67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same Dvd as released 5 years ago. Not new version.
**This is the exact same version of the film that was released years ago. It's a Limited Edition, not a new Director's cut, which the Amazon Ad would imply.**

If you already own the original Dvd release of this excellent film, then don't waste your money on this edition. The movie disc is exactly the same as the one released years ago...5 year old trailers and...
Published on 8 May 2007 by Stephen Macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Horror, 26 July 2004
By 
T. Brookes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 28 Days Later (2002) [DVD] (DVD)
This is what the British do best. True horror and suspense without all the budget blown on wasted special effects.
This isn't a popcorn movie, But it's all about atmosphere, Photography and eerie nervousness.
If you're like me, and get totally engrossed in a film from start to finish, You'll love it. However, if you like teen horror flicks or flashy special effects and edge of the seat action, I suspect that you'll find it boring. I loved it, But I much prefer British horrors anyway.
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new type of terror, 8 May 2003
By 
Louise West (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 28 Days Later (2002) [DVD] (DVD)
At last, a genuinely frightening film. Being an avid, if somewhat jaded, horror fan, I have been finding it increasingly difficult to be truly scared. This film is terrifying on so many levels- and whatever particulary scares you, you'll find it here. There's jump-out-of-your-seat shocks, tension-building "look behind you!" moments, grabby-leg bits that make you lift your feet off of the floor, and twitching zombies that are clever and chase- fast. As well as being pant-wettingly scary, the images from the film leave a residual fear that will still be with you six months after you see the film for the first time. Walking home from the cinema, I was almost in tears from terror, hiding behind cars if I saw other people and finally, locking myself in my house with all the lights turned off so that the zombies wouldn't know I was in. Even now, I have "zombie-flashbacks". The scariest aspect of the film is that you feel you cannot hide anywhere- locking the door and hiding under the covers will not make the nightmares go away. This film is amazing, and the score plays on your subconcious mind in much the same way as The Exorcist. Whether you're after quick, but effective, scares or a more long-term, psychological terror, this film delivers. A word of warning- do not watch this alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 Days Later, 12 May 2003
This review is from: 28 Days Later (2002) [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw this film I had no assumptions about it whatsoever. I was pleasantly suprised.
Danny Boyles latest piece far surpasses previous projects such as 'The Beach' allthough not the box office smash 'The Beach' was this film has been grossly under appraised. Though he has proved himself over previous years to be a excellent director, in the horror / thriller genre of 28 Days Later he has found his niche.
The film has a unique and twisting plot which exhibits and element of realism rarely seen in a film of its kind. Unlike most horror movies of the past decade, it is impressively belivable, this is accentuated by the enitre film being shot with DV cameras.
We see a post-apocalyptic London, desolated by a freak virus, aptley titled 'rage', which has basically turned the majority of the UK population into psychotic zombie-esque killers. The story follows everday guy (Cillian Murphy) in a journey of dealing with the realisation of the changed world and his survival. Teamed up with a handful of survivors, they struggle to find hope in this starkingly eerie and threatening world.
Alhough the film has no A-List stars in it, it includes great performances by such people as Christopher Ecclestone as a sinister army commander. The whole film is beautiful, belivable and scares the hell out of you in its approach. A true British classic which again has gone relatively unappreciated because it lacks the Hollywood glitz of other films.
If you want to be scared, watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great update of the zombie genre, 4 July 2003
This review is from: 28 Days Later (2002) [DVD] (DVD)
Zombie films were the craze of the late 70's, with the success of George Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" everyone and their mother had to do a zombie flick, with results varying from great to godawful. Then, of course, the genre kinda died with few new movies coming out (tho Soavi's "Dellamorte Dellamore" was pretty damn good). This movie is the zombie flick for the new millenium (sounded fancy, huh) by Trainspotting/Beach director Danny Boyle, and it's a great update. The first 30 minutes would've landed this film a straight 5 star review for it's extremely well-executed paranoia and mounting tension. The film is, of course, a lot faster paced than the old zombie flicks (some of those were close to growing roots) with the zombies being fast and aggresive purveyors of destruction rather than slow moving, decaying corpses. The film does borrow from Romero (shopping in an abandoned mall and keeping a zombie as a pet, borrow from Dawn and Day of the Dead).
The quality of the film drops a notch in the second half, but doesn't subtract enough to ruin the film. Nice to see someone make a horror movie, which is both stylish, original and just plain great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same Dvd as released 5 years ago. Not new version., 8 May 2007
**This is the exact same version of the film that was released years ago. It's a Limited Edition, not a new Director's cut, which the Amazon Ad would imply.**

If you already own the original Dvd release of this excellent film, then don't waste your money on this edition. The movie disc is exactly the same as the one released years ago...5 year old trailers and all. The second disc has some incredibly short behind the scenes stuff and a couple of trailers that add up to roughly 15 minutes or so, a huge disappointment. Overall an absolute con if you were expecting an upgrade from your old 1 Disc Dvd.

The producers of this Dvd release should be ashamed of themselves. The fact they didn't even remove the old trailers is a joke. According to the Dvd, Master and Commander is coming to cinemas soon.

I would recommend buying the original release, unless you want to pay double the price for the different artwork and a 2nd disc full of pretty much nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A word about the BD print complaints, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. N. A. Harrison (Nottingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 28 Days Later [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Most of the film was shot on a Canon DV camcorder. This is an exact reproduction of how the film looked at the cinema, and hence this blu-ray's picture quality is not at fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the film and its the best it will ever look (Blu Ray), 4 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 28 Days Later [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love this film and have previously owned it on DVD. I read all the bad reviews about the Blu Ray quality but bought it anyway. If you ever watch the 'making of' feature on the disk you will learn the movie was shot using low grade DV cameras because it mimics how we as people are captured on camera in our everyday lives (with things like shop CCTV). It gives it a real life look & feel and can see why they chose that method of shooting.

So how does low grade DV images scale up on Blu Ray? It looks great and is a marked improvement over the DVD. It aint pin sharp like King Kong or The Dark Knight but, for this movie its the best its ever going to look - and thats how you have to review it I think.

The best thing about the Blu Ray release of this movie is the uncompressed sound, it is really outstanding and worth the upgrade to Blu Ray alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 28 May 2007
By 
Matthew Barfoot "farbert" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 28 Days Later (2002) [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I'd like to say, they are NOT ZOMBIES! They are infected with "rage" which makes them much stronger and faster than most humans, this does not make them zombies.

On the film, I have to say it is a masterpiece. On a low budget they work wonders. Cillian Murphy gives a performance that gives this film the edge over most other films of this type. There are two scenes which really bring this film to life. The first one is the deserted London scene, it really grips you and makes you wonder what it would be like for you to be in that situation. It gives you a real feel for the film. The second and has to be my favourite scene is towards the end when the strays from London try to escape the forces camp they thought they found peace in. The music played to this scene really brings it out and gives you a feel that will keep your eyes fixed on the film.

This can be quite brutal in places but this is necessary for the film to work otherwise it would be dull and lifeless and unrealistic. I highly recommend this film to anyone for watching, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of promise but fails to deliver, 27 Oct. 2003
By 
Mr. D. J. Marsh "mr tibbles" (on table) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Much like Garland's "The Beach", this future schlock starts extremely well and lays the groundwork for an exceptional horror-consipiracy-thriller. It depicts a wonderfully-deserted London in the opening Wyndham-esque scenes and follows up with menacing encounters with the violent, blood-lusting victims of the "Rage" virus.
It's not so much the low-budget nature of the film that lets it down, ultimately, it's more that the plot falters and fails to deliver on its early promise. The pace lags in the middle of the film and, finally, it diverts off into a disturbing but crass survivalist showdown with a renegade army platoon.
It's quite a thought-provoking and debate-inducing movie, however, with some genuinely scary episodes and superb comic moments. Hopefully, this and "Dog Soldiers" will inspire British film-makers to persevere with the genre and produce a real hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Horror Gem, 28 Aug. 2006
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 28 Days Later (2002) [DVD] (DVD)
Danny Boyle (Trainspotting, Shallow Grave, The Beach) delivers a magnificent british horror film almost on a par with George A Romero's Living Dead trilogy.

I've read mixed reviews about 28 Days Later but I personally believe it is a remarkable film. Motorcycle courier Cillian Murphy wakes up from a coma in a deserted London hospital and makes his way outside into a deserted London. He soon discovers that the whole country has been devastated by a deadly virus after animal rights activists released a 'rage' infected laboratory monkey. Mass evacuations have been ordered and the desolate, grey, London cityscape is suddenly very frightening indeed, especially when it is crawling with infected crazed zombies. After a nasty encounter with said zombies, our hero meets more survivors and together they decide to head for an army stronghold in Manchester.

28 Days Later is a genuinely scary film and not just because of the shocking, brutal zombie attacks. The scariest thing is the unsettling deserted streets and missing posters on every wall. The sheer apocalyptic loneliness of the end of the world. We don't know the scale of the outbreak, is it just London, the whole of Great Britain or the whole world? Imagine waking up after over a month in a coma and facing this terror. 28 Days Later is also incredibly poignant. The scene where Murphy returns home to find his dead parents in bed together, clutching empty bottles of sleeping pills and a picture of him is incredibly sad and genuinely upsetting. Boyle doesn't let us dwell on the moment too long as we are quickley reminded of the horror with a vicious zombie attack. The zombies are crazed, sprinting killers not shuffling slow corpses and the encounters with them are terrifying. The scene where the car gets a flat in a tunnel had me on the edge of my seat as I waited for the inevitable onslaught. Another scary thing about the film is how quickly the soldiers become a law unto themselves when they were supposed to be protecting our heroes. The threat of sexual assault and violence is just as bad as the threat of the infected so the survivors decide to escape from the stronghold and head even further North in hope of refuge.

The film is bleak and nihilistic and the ending offers no real answers. I think the film is particularly relevant in these days of terrorist threat from biological weapons. Imagine waking up to find a biological weapon had been detonated and everyone was either dead or had been evacuated.....chilling thought.

Like this? Try: Dawn of the Dead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

28 Days Later - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2002]
£29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews