Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!
I have just watched this film. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it is very entertaining and full of action, from start to finish. OK, so it may not be very historically accurate and some liberties are taken with that, but the constant action more than compensates for that. It is reasonably violent and very gory, so young children should not be allowed to watch this film. The...
Published 19 months ago by FJY

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd hybrid...
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is an odd mixture. From mayhem specialist Bekmambetov, I was expecting a silly but fun action drama set during Lincoln's youth. What I didn't expect was this decades-spanning effort which makes the odd decision to blend silly supernatural hijinks with serious historical fact - like crossing 'Buffy' with a historical biopic.
While it...
Published 16 months ago by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment!, 23 Dec 2012
I have just watched this film. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it is very entertaining and full of action, from start to finish. OK, so it may not be very historically accurate and some liberties are taken with that, but the constant action more than compensates for that. It is reasonably violent and very gory, so young children should not be allowed to watch this film. The acting was generally very good and it flowed very well and did not drag at all. A lot of the action is produced with the help of a lot of CGI, but it was done very well and did not really look fake at all. I did not manage to see this film at the cinema, which I regret, but I am glad that I caught it on DVD. Four stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An odd hybrid..., 21 Mar 2013
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is an odd mixture. From mayhem specialist Bekmambetov, I was expecting a silly but fun action drama set during Lincoln's youth. What I didn't expect was this decades-spanning effort which makes the odd decision to blend silly supernatural hijinks with serious historical fact - like crossing 'Buffy' with a historical biopic.
While it adds a distinct flavour of the unusual and gives the film some individuality, it also slows things down and grants it an odd, occasionally inappropriate feeling of mocking deadly serious historical events.
However, as the lead Benjamin Walker is capable, if a little bland. Dominic Cooper outshines him for charisma by a New York mile, and Rufus Sewell is deliciously evil as his vampiric nemesis.
The action is frequent, although oddly unimpressive in several scenes. However, the initial confrontation with a vampire, a visually extraordinary horseback pursuit, and an early face-off between the arch enemies are extremely impressive. While not as flat as similarly toned historical supernatural actioner 'Jonah Hex', and no classic, this is still a fun, and occasionally very cleverly written and entertaining film. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Firstly I don't care if this film is historically accurate...anyone who goes to see a film with 'Vampire Hunter' in the title expecting historical accuracy is an idiot in my opinion.
This is a great, absorbing, action-horror with some very clever interweaving of established historical facts. I found the entire film to be excellent entertainment from start to finish. I watched the 3D blu-ray and I can say that I was very impressed with the 3D - there's very little in the way of ghosting and the amount of depth perception is impressive. Thankfully, the director never goes for the 'Oooh, that's 3D' shot of things awkwardly being thrust towards the screen; instead favouring the technique of staging shots with a lot of fore, middle and background detail - although I will say that the burning embers during the train sequence really did seem to 'come out of the screen'.
All performances are strong, but of special note is Mary Elizabeth Winstead, who manages to make Mary Todd Lincoln a very sympathetic and rounded character despite her limited screen time - most notably during her breakdown when she slaps at Lincoln.
The vampires are, thankfully, of the horrific scary variety rather than the beautiful, glittery type and this film benefits greatly for that. Masses of teeth and bad skin are the norm for these vamps and I found them a joy to watch.
Having watched the film twice in as many days I can honestly say it's a really great piece of escapism and one to watch many time over. Is it going to tax your brain? Probably not; but it should entertain thoroughly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-made gore fest, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When young Abraham Lincoln angers a man (who happens to a vampire), the man takes his revenge by killing the boy's mother. Lincoln then dedicates his life to finding vampires and killing them with his silver-tipped ax.

I really enjoyed this movie. Yes, it's horrifically gory at times, but the clever mix of fantasy and true events is very well done and I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. We follow Lincoln from store clerk to the White House. The movie isn't playing for laughs, it's utterly serious. I actually found it more entertaining than Daniel Day-Lewis' "Lincoln."

The title had me expecting a cheesy, low-budget slasher, but the production values are high and the special effects are excellent. The acting is also very good; Benjamin Walker plays a convincing Lincoln and Rufus Sewell is truly menacing as his nemesis.

This is a surprising, clever story that includes just enough historical facts to make it almost plausible. A lot of blood, but still recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as much fun as the title promises, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Those bemoaning the death of films aimed at grownups were curiously silent over the fact that of 2012’s two films about Abraham Lincoln, it was the one about the political horse trading and infighting over the Thirteenth Amendment that excited audiences and pulled in the big bucks while the special effects-fuelled high concept supernatural action movie Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter crashed and burned. It’s one of the less surprising would-be blockbuster flops of recent years, though, taking an anarchic premise – that the Father of the Nation waged a lifelong acrobatic axe-wielding war against the living dead who used the southern slave trade as a cheap food supply – and treating it in such a po-faced fashion that there wasn’t nearly as much fun as the title promised, with moments like Rufus Sewell’s vampire master kicking Lincoln in the nuts few and far between.

What the film does offer is a surprising amount of spectacle, with Gettysburg being fought with Confederate vampires, and plenty of action, be it Honest Abe jumping from horse to horse in a stampeding herd in pursuit of the vampire who killed his mother or a rip-roaring climax aboard a runaway train besieged by the undead on a burning bridge. There’s some imagination in the despatching of its revenants and its reimagination of the causes of the Civil War, with director Timur Bemambetov getting an awful long of bang for his surprisingly modest buck while having fun with outlandish swooping camera moves and Benjamin Walker more convincing as the older president than the earnest young law student with a grudge and a silver-plated axe (Walker bearing an uncanny resemblance to a young Liam Neeson, who was originally lined up to star in Spielberg’s film), but it remains an okay timefiller rather than a future cult classic.

The Blu-ray offers a decent 2.40:1 widescreen transfer and extras package - 75-minute making of xdocumentary, motion comic prequel, music video and writer's audio commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some good graphics, and scenery, but the story line and flow is very poor.
At the end of it, I thought - what was the point behind that.
Watch it and make up your own mind.
Bought this one for the ultraviolet so that I could download it and watch it on my kindle fire - that bit was fine, but I've deleted it now because its not a film I would watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VAMPIRE HUNTER DVD, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was enjoyable film to watch good action the story line was ok not as good as the blade films can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I read a lot of reviews on this before I bought it. It was better than expected. Storyline a bit hammy but well acted, great action scenes, decent special effects. Highly recommended. The steel book is nice and embossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's different, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather an odd subject to put Lincoln down as a vampire slayer silly storyline but not to bad overall if you want a bit of light entertainment this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 22 April 2014
By 
C. Watkins (birmungham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
pleasure was had whilst watching this particular film. anyone with the slightest interest in history and finction combined would i think enjoy this here movie. excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray]
18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews