Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OBD II cheap as cheaps, works well.
This is a cheap chinese clone as the OEM central chip costs more than this unit, BUT it works well.

For other seekers after engine truths here are some findings.

- Vehicle: Rover 75 2.5L KV6 2000 Conny, it works, despite not working in some of these early models as OBD was not fully implemented in some cars. Would recommend an angled OBD extension...
Published 10 months ago by Radiomarko

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
only sees the very basic codes.
Published 2 months ago by Mr M Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OBD II cheap as cheaps, works well., 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
This is a cheap chinese clone as the OEM central chip costs more than this unit, BUT it works well.

For other seekers after engine truths here are some findings.

- Vehicle: Rover 75 2.5L KV6 2000 Conny, it works, despite not working in some of these early models as OBD was not fully implemented in some cars. Would recommend an angled OBD extension cable ( a fiver on fleabay) as the unit sticks down and is in the way of your legs.

iPhone OS 7 and iPad 2: The unit offered DHCP on connect to it's wifi, so connected correctly immediately without manually setting the IP and so on.

Application: I tried all the free apps available, OBD Doctor offered the quickest working solution showing most of what I wanted. I have yet to get others, such as Rev or Engine Link working as they probably expected a different unit IP, easy enough to set in the iphone settings manually when I have more time.

Instructions: Mini CD with junk on it. Dont bother. Below is the information you need if DHCP does not work for you:

1) Plug it in to the ODB2 port under your dash and set the car key to the ON position (don't have to start the engine straight away on some vehicles as some data will be read) Start the car to read more data. Wifi should work even if the ignition is off. Be aware that if left connected there will be a small battery drain.
2) Find the ELM wireless network on your iPhone (settings - wifi) - mine said "CLKDevices" click connect.
3) In iphone wifi settings change from DHCP to static if you do not connect and receive an IP and a connection automatically;
IP 192.168.0.5 (any ip other than .10 should work) Subnet 255.255.255.0 Router 192.168.0.10 (you can probably leave this blank)
4) In your app connect to "192.168.0.10" and "port 35000" if required.

Some users report that the wifi requires a password, mine did not as it was open, if so try 12345678

When finished unplug the unit and reset your iPhone settings to your home wifi requirements.

Summary.

For just short of £15 this is a marvel. 4 stars as the instructions are dismal, but google is your friend! If you want to know what those nagging fault codes on your car mean, investigate misfires and so on without paying enormous garage fees or just be geeky and monitor everything except the state of the ashtray get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saved me £100, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
My 2013 Nissan 370Z Nismo threw an engine warning light. I was fairly sure the issue was a minor one related to having high flow catalytic converters fitted to the car, but Nissan wanted to charge me over £100 to diagnose it. I thought I'd give this a try first. I downloaded a free app for my IPad (OBD Car Doctor), connected this dongle to the port in the car and paired it with the IPad. As expected, the code revealed that the high flow cats had triggered the O2 sensor. This is a known issue and is not a fault with the car - just an occasional occurance with high flow sports cats. I simply cleared the warning light using the app and the warning has never returned. The whole process took about five minutes and cost about one tenth of the price Nissan wanted to charge. Delivery was also speedy.

The only minor issue I encountered was that on my car the dongle fitted with the lights which show you it has paired facing inwards. Not really problematic though as the lights aren't essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Hate To Quote Ronseal, But ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
This OBD2 Scanner is excellent for those who need diagnostics equipment without having to spend allot on High End Equipment.

- One thing to note about using this scanner which can cause some connection problems is that, connecting to the device using a SmartPhone over Wi-Fi, if the SmartPhone has Bluetooth also enabled, the two devices wont connect correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
Product works well and is simple to set up. The included disc would not play on my laptop, and the suggested download of the manual would not on my IPad . However, no instruction is needed, just plug in and go. Dealing with the supplier in China was quick and efficient, and they were a pleasure to,deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works we'll save £s, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
Works well with ipad.
Software disc that comes with it is rubbish.
Download one of the various apps from the App Store to get it to work.
Some of the apps are free but you have to pay for them to clear fault codes try them all first then buy the one that suits your needs.
Dashcmd works well with it but it's more for the American market.
Bought this to clear engine management light on Peugeot done it with no problems
Overall great little gadget save £s on garage bills.
Would have given 5 stars but software dc was a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than many other adaptors out there, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
i wanted an adaptor that used all of the AT commands that the ELM devices use, so that I could change the CAN filter and mask settings. Many of the cheap adaptors won't do that. This one worked a treat and I can use it to talk to everything i wanted to. Works fine with Torque (rooted Android) and IPhone software I have tried. Does everything it should with no issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
Great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wireless obd scanner, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
brilliant , just plugs in , find on your phone as wifi elm327 and get an obd app on your phone to connect , simples
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but...., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
Unit works well but the accompanying software was not so good. The software DashCmd would not work on the iPad the other stuff not too brillian. Had to download DashCmd from App store to get it to work properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly, good value for money., 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KingMansion ELM327 WIFI Wireless OBD2 OBDII Car Auto Diagnostic Scanner Adapter Reader for iPhone4S/5 iPad4 iPad mini iOS PC (Automotive)
Connected it to my ipad and iPod using the dash command app. Reads and clears fault codes and provides live data. I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews