Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars136
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2014
This is a cheap chinese clone as the OEM central chip costs more than this unit, BUT it works well.

For other seekers after engine truths here are some findings.

- Vehicle: Rover 75 2.5L KV6 2000 Conny, it works, despite not working in some of these early models as OBD was not fully implemented in some cars. Would recommend an angled OBD extension cable ( a fiver on fleabay) as the unit sticks down and is in the way of your legs.

iPhone OS 7 and iPad 2: The unit offered DHCP on connect to it's wifi, so connected correctly immediately without manually setting the IP and so on.

Application: I tried all the free apps available, OBD Doctor offered the quickest working solution showing most of what I wanted. I have yet to get others, such as Rev or Engine Link working as they probably expected a different unit IP, easy enough to set in the iphone settings manually when I have more time.

Instructions: Mini CD with junk on it. Dont bother. Below is the information you need if DHCP does not work for you:

1) Plug it in to the ODB2 port under your dash and set the car key to the ON position (don't have to start the engine straight away on some vehicles as some data will be read) Start the car to read more data. Wifi should work even if the ignition is off. Be aware that if left connected there will be a small battery drain.
2) Find the ELM wireless network on your iPhone (settings - wifi) - mine said "CLKDevices" click connect.
3) In iphone wifi settings change from DHCP to static if you do not connect and receive an IP and a connection automatically;
IP 192.168.0.5 (any ip other than .10 should work) Subnet 255.255.255.0 Router 192.168.0.10 (you can probably leave this blank)
4) In your app connect to "192.168.0.10" and "port 35000" if required.

Some users report that the wifi requires a password, mine did not as it was open, if so try 12345678

When finished unplug the unit and reset your iPhone settings to your home wifi requirements.

Summary.

For just short of £15 this is a marvel. 4 stars as the instructions are dismal, but google is your friend! If you want to know what those nagging fault codes on your car mean, investigate misfires and so on without paying enormous garage fees or just be geeky and monitor everything except the state of the ashtray get one!
22 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
This OBD2 Scanner is excellent for those who need diagnostics equipment without having to spend allot on High End Equipment.

- One thing to note about using this scanner which can cause some connection problems is that, connecting to the device using a SmartPhone over Wi-Fi, if the SmartPhone has Bluetooth also enabled, the two devices wont connect correctly.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Works well with ipad.
Software disc that comes with it is rubbish.
Download one of the various apps from the App Store to get it to work.
Some of the apps are free but you have to pay for them to clear fault codes try them all first then buy the one that suits your needs.
Dashcmd works well with it but it's more for the American market.
Bought this to clear engine management light on Peugeot done it with no problems
Overall great little gadget save £s on garage bills.
Would have given 5 stars but software dc was a let down.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
Great little product. Saved me £40 to be told it's a coil pack gone that I can change myself. Even gave me the location. Prepare to pay a fiver for a decent app and your good to go. I used car doctors.. Replaced the coil, turned the ignition on and cleared the code. Happy days!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Amazingly this thing works a treat! Had to set a static IP address for the connection on my iPhone but after that it connects no problem, works with DashCommand and allows easy access to fault codes, performance figures etc. have heard that some of the cheer ones are slow to update due to a slow processor but I don't notice any significant delay with this between e.g. pressing the throttle and watching the numbers change. Delighted with it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Brilliant, pairs with iPad, iPhone and PC no bother excellent delivery time highly recommended
great for resetting engine management lights!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Connected this OBD device using OBD Car Doctor app on my iPhone 3GS. Set all the correct parameters and it worked first time. All dynamic readings graphed perfectly. No fault codes found (until several days later when the car failed and fault code pointed to broken part). Thoroughly recommend it for immediate confidence that car is OK and for general guidance once faults develop. It does what it says in the Ad.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
This is my third OBDII reader....and it works ! ! !

First was the standard unit with screen attatched.....that didn't connect to the car.

Second was a bluetooth unit....which didn't connect to my phone/tablet/laptop

Third was this WiFi unit....success! ! ! ! Connected to the car AND my phone ! ! Even cooler, it displays realtime information.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
As I was having an annoying issue with an erroneous Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC), which I wanted to switch off, I first considered buying an integrated hand-held device. This seemed an expensive solution, so having researched a number of Android and IOS Apps I settled on the KingMansion ELM327 connected to my iPad Air using the free OBD Car Doctor App (be aware - do not use the similarly named OBD Auto Doctor App which looks more professional but does not provide the facility to switch off DTCs).

Rather than wait several weeks for the ELM327 to arrive directly from China, I decided to spend just a few pounds more and buy from Kingsfaith and then have it fulfilled by Amazon. The unit arrived the next day. It easily paired with the OBD Car Doctor App on my iPad (just a few minutes wait for it to pair), then immediately identified the DTC which I then switched off. It took three attempts to switch off the DTC before it succeeded and I would suggest that it is best not to have the engine running but just have the ignition switched on.

Give it a go, at this price you can' t really go wrong.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Bought this to use with my iPhone. I downloaded an app. ODB CAR DOCTOR, and it connected first time and brought up 3 codes during the diagnostic. Most of the apps, including this one, cost money so I have not tried them all.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 42 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.