Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take back control
I found Sage 50 Accounts 2014 to be very straightforward and intuitive to use. The interface is clean and responsive and well laid out.

Getting up and running with it is a fairly straightforward process as they’ve tried where possibly to simply things and make things easy to understand. There’s a handy booklet for getting up and running and whne...
Published 6 months ago by Andrew

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extensive but read the terms & conditions
Sage is rightly an industry standard when it comes to accounts - its popular with accountants and other tax professionals.

Its not particularly intuitive but that isn't necessarily a bad thing - you really should be reading the instruction manual before you start entering data and pressing buttons. There is quite a steep learning curve.

As to be...
Published 5 months ago by Biff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take back control, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Andrew "impulsive gadget buyer" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found Sage 50 Accounts 2014 to be very straightforward and intuitive to use. The interface is clean and responsive and well laid out.

Getting up and running with it is a fairly straightforward process as they’ve tried where possibly to simply things and make things easy to understand. There’s a handy booklet for getting up and running and whne first starting a very good wizard. You can load an example company to get to grips with everything before setting your own up.

Rather than a revolutionary change this is more of an evolutionary step from the previous edition. Good, solid changes but nothing that would make me upgrade if I had the previous version already.

This edition retains all the standard file menu's and it follow's standard book keeping rules and integrates online banking nicely. It also keeps you up-to-date with your tax and integrates perfectly with office software. It really simplifies vat returns which is a massive bonus.

I love that this software integrates with Sage 50 Payroll a separate product that is absolute simplicity itself. It generates all the files you need for electronic submission to HMRC and allows you to manage your employee's quickly and effectively. I love the ability to email payslips.

Exporting reports into Microsoft Office and other packages was straightforward and tailoring them to your needs also very easy using the Report Designer function.

What I like about the Sage environment is just how customisable it is. Modules can easily be bought and added to suit and if necessary custom modules written. This I think is all down to such wide adoption and popularity and it really shows.

The practice mode is very handy for testing any changes you want to make before unleashing them on your precious data and there 45 days of free support to help you get up and running. The forums are also very well represented and useful.

As we go ever mobile there is a handy Sage app that lets you access overviews on the go which is great for putting important information at your fingertips.

What this edition does is take all the bits added on over the years, give it a nip and tuck and presents you with software that is easy to use and easy to look at.

Make sure to check out the free trial first if you are unsure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The market-leading accounting software., 17 Mar 2014
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this software easy to install and easy to run and intuitive. That said, there are some helpful tutorials if you need a helping hand. Admittedly, this particular product does far more than I need it to as a sole trader, but it's perfect for companies.I liked the ease with which this programme integrates with my Office software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newbies perspective., 12 Feb 2014
By 
ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been looking extensively both into Sage and Quickbooks products unsure which to decide. From what I have gleaned, there seem to be solid reasons for buying one or the other (depending on your specific needs) and it will largely be down to what you wish to do with it, whether or not to pay the extra for Sage.

The differences between the two, from my understanding, seem to be as follows: whilst Sage has a bigger initial learning curve, it has stronger support and is more expandable. Though Sages support system can be annoying to get through, their front line staff generally seem to be more knowledgeable than Intuits. Also (which could be crucial to you) if you require something adding to the software tailored to your own business's needs, you are far more likely to find local software developers who can program this functionality into Sage. It doesn't seem as though Quickbooks is very extendable in this way. This may not seem to matter, at present, but it is well worth planning ahead and thinking it through properly (far better to do this than have to go through the hassle of changing to another accounting system later on).

That said, though, if your needs are fairly common, you don't think you will ever need the extra functionality built-in and you think a standard business accounting package would suffice, then QB may be your better option (being easier to learn and more user friendly). Whichever you choose, your accountant will be happy to work with the data (and you should make the decision on what will be best for yourself--no use helping your accountant, if they prefer working with one, if it means extra work for yourself year round).

I found the Sage 50 Accounts software itself to be nicely presented and easy to get around. It comes with a helpful (but by no means definitive) "Getting Started" booklet--57 pages-- which eases you into the software in a user friendly style.
Upon opening the software, you are presented with a "Welcome Screen", where you can choose to load a sample company and have a look at the software filled with data (highly recommended) in addition to seeing what is new in the 2014 addition, links to help and online support, and a link which leads you to a "What should I do first screen" (where you can follow a series of detailed text-based tutorials on how to get started).

The interface is clean and stable and everything seems to perform quickly and is fairly intuitive to navigate. The style isn't modern (has a feel of Windows XP about it), but to me that is a welcome thing in software I use a lot. On the left hand side is a list of main commands (customers, suppliers, company, bank, products, projects and calendar/diary), each of which brings up its own sub list of tasks and links. At the top right of the screen is a message/alert icon, which takes you to the software's built in message centre. Along the bottom (when opened) are tabs of other windows, so you can switch between them easily.

In the main part of the screen is a large clickable flow chart which shows popular tasks as well as recommending what order to do them in. This can also be changed with a dropdown menu, beneath the alert icon, so that, say, (instead of viewing the flow chart) you view a list of customers or products etc. (depending on which section you are in). This is helpful, as you can use the flow chart as you get used to the software, but then switch to something more useful once you've established your own workflow.

After having a good look around the interface and test business, I decided to dive in and get my hands dirty! A 7-page wizard guides you through entering customer data. You can tailor each customer's account to your own needs--giving you the flexibility to add credit and discount levels, different tax codes and different T&C's, as well as storing all the customer and banking information you could possibly need. It is all fairly straightforward, but should you need them then there are section buttons which lead to the appropriate help files. Personally, whilst getting to know the software, I decided to leave the options set and enter basic information, but it is reassuring to know that I can customise my customer accounts later on, should I need to.

Likewise, I went on to add products and suppliers (both using the same style of wizard) and all my companies banking and VAT information fairly easily. I started creating sample invoices and receipts and found it all to be fairly simple and understandable. The thing with this software is that yes, it is massive and can be daunting, especially for a newbie, like myself. I found it easy (and obvious) to enter the basics, and the things you will do day-to-day, probably about 70% of what I need to learn, without consulting any documentation or help. If you're already familiar with accounting software (or just computer programs in general) then it should be easy to at least get settled in without needing to consult any help or documentation.

Once there, you should have enough confidence in the software to study how to use it effectively and the steepness of the learning curve will depend on how much you want to do with it. For small to small-mid businesses, this won't present much of a problem (either buying a Dummies book--to learn the parts you're not sure of and pick up helpful hits--or simply learning from the help files). If, however you need to use most of what Sage offers, then you will need to study it extensively, before you can realistically use it in the real world (though it would most likely be the same whichever accounts package you chose).

Exporting to MS Office is also simple: either through the file menu or (where applicable) from a dedicated button on the appropriate screens (such as export customer list to Excel etc.).

There are two levels of reports. You can either choose the standard set of reports built into the various modules (for example: go to the customer module, clicking the report button at the bottom of the screen brings up a wealth or pre-built reports ready to print--with basic customisation options, such as to and from date, available). Alternatively you can open Sage Report Designer, which allows you to tailor reports to your own needs (though be warned, learning to use this to its full potential will take some study, being a feature-rich application its own right, and isn't something you can really pick up and play).

As you can probably tell, I am only brushing the surface of what can be done with this software. Though simple enough to use, for small businesses on a day-to-day basis, it is also complicated enough to cater for mid-to-large sized businesses also. Whether you actually need something this in-depth is something only yourself can decide. It is a highly polished and professional package, which will evolve with any business as it grows. And you don't necessarily need a degree to start using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The industry standard, 8 Feb 2014
By 
A. J. Parkes "sekrapa" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What can you say about Sage 50 Accounts, apart from thats it's the dogs nuts. Sage has been around for many years and over that time the software has evolved into an accomplished full blown accounts software package that will suit a small to medium sized business.

If you are after an accounts package to do your home accounts, then forget this, it will be overkill in a huge way. This is designed for business and geared towards that. A little daunting hat first if you have never used Sage, as the terminology will take some getting used to, and entering all the fields and data at first will prove time consuming, but persevere and you will be rewarded.

Your clients will each have a client number, your suppliers a supplier code etc, and you will be able to automate the whole process like enter the stock input from supplier A, sell goods to customer B and the software will create the invoice, deduct stock from the inventory, enter it in the ledger, create reports, tell you when bills need to be paid, etc. The control you have is immense and detailed. You will be able to see your bank balances, see what you owe, what is owed to you, stock reports, see what items are selling best etc.

Just remember that the more you want, the more customer/client/stock entries you need to input, which can take time.

A very good package and recommended for the SME. Is it a good upgrade from last years version? That's up to you, personally I would say no, stick with last years if that's what you have. However, some people like to have the latest version so will get this anyway. It's like FIFA game bringing out versions each year - test there are upgrades and tweaks - but pretty much the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good all-rounder mid-range accounts package, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sage 50 is a mainstay business package with a history going back to the 1981 origins of Sage Group. In the many decades since, the package has evolved into something that is comprehensive, reliable and stable. It is aimed at small to medium sized businesses, up to around the 50-employee mark. It supports accounts for a limited company, partnership, sole trader or even a charity.

Sage 50 comprises pretty much everything that most businesses are likely to need. It is a mid-range package that includes much more than an entry-level package. It looks after bank records, VAT and other taxes, online and offline tax returns, end-of-year (there's a walkthrough included for that), payments via cash, credit, cheques and so on, budget control, refunds, discounts, cashflow forecasting, and quite a bit more. There are also other features that one would expect, such as reporting and backup, reconciling accounts, and business calendar integration with Outlook (and export to Excel). Sage 50 also supports tablet and mobile, via a free app download.

Sage is reasonably easy to use. Much will feel familiar if you are coming from a different package, though Sage inevitably does things its way. It tries to use plain-English for the most part, but it does of course need to get technical at times. Newcomers to accounting may find the technicalities daunting, even with the tutorials. A little accounting knowledge is certainly worth acquiring before starting off. It is not a package for a have-a-go novice.

My wife, who uses this package most of the time, has found that in day-to-day use, the only hitch so far has been in printing invoices: it doesn't warn you if you print the same invoice twice. (There may be a setting for that somewhere, but we've not yet found it.) We've not used every part of Sage, so there may be glitches or nasties that we've not yet seen. That said, so far it's been reliable, and the user interface and features generally do what we expect them to do. Other than that, so long as your accounts have a reasonably conventional structure, it seems to cope well with whatever one throws at it.

We've not tried the Sage 50 Mobile app, but it looks like a boon. It's a free download that runs on Blackberry, iOS and Android devices. It gives you access to a subset of Sage 50 features. Though sadly lacking "cloud support", which would make the whole thing much more mobile, you may link directly to Sage via a mobile gateway client.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and easy to use, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Christopher Lancaster "clanca1234" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I implement financial accounting systems for a living, but needed a simple package for my own use. Sage is the market leader, so I went for this.

Is it any good? Well, it's simple to install, and the help documentation is very useful. You define your Chart of Accounts and Cost Centres, and you're away. There are standard entry types, and standard reports, including cashbook reports, VAT returns, etc. Easy to use, easy to configure, and does the job. It's worth noting that you need to register with Sage (this is free), as otherwise the software trial period expires after 30 days. Registration details are in the box with the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British and future proof!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
M. Price (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a british software company that has made something not only remarkable but is not something you'll be left thinking will it work in the UK ok? You are assured of this front he start but annoyingly you will have to register with sage just like if you have a trial on their website. I guess they'd like to spam you in the future to sell you as much as they can! Marketing gone too far in my opinion as the end user has already spent hundreds of pounds on a product they have extensively researched before parting with the cash.

Now we all pretty much know they're are two leaders in the accountancy software which is this company 'Sage' and its rival 'Intuit' (American based). From the off the software is confusing and is asking you questions that may seem over the top but are there to set up the software accordingly. I would recommend that you read the manual extensively and even get a dummies guide as it will help in the long run.

My favourite feature although I have not tried it out yet is the send to accountant feature allowing you and your accountant to have the same records, this is pretty good in my view as I have previously sent them a copy of exported results that they chop and change and my system never sees the changes. That may not be too much of a show stopper fr some but I do like to have matching records and when you're paying for your acceptant to do a job why not have it all matching up afterwards.

I haven't tried the support out but know a friend that has and sings their praise...

I would like to see on the description a "You can sort your Tax with this but will still require an accountant", why do I make a point of this? Well let's face it if you can sort your tax and do it effortlessly why do you need an accountant if the only other place to file is with companies house? Having attempted to do all of the paperwork before hiring an acceptant I can certainly say that you will still need one and will save you money in the long run so long as your business is bringing in the pennies.

Overall the software is superb but I have to mark it down due to the fact it is very future proofed and vast to get into. Also to note that the packaging and overall look and feel do not seem the same quality you'd get from Adobe leaving you feeling that you have what seems like a counterfeit product that does not reflect the price.

Would recommend so long s you have business that needs the features this offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sage 50 Accounts 2014, 18 Mar 2014
By 
P. A. Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been using Sage accounting products for a few years now and I can't see myself ever not using them. The main thing I like about this product, and this is generally the case with all the Sage products that I have used, is that they are easy to install, intuitive to use and packed with useful tools that help me to run my business and manage my accounts. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent accountancy software, 16 Mar 2014
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I generally found this to be very straightforward to use and surprisingly comprehensive.
I have used the big accounting packages such as Sun and Great plains etc and I had been expecting this to be very basic but it wasn't at all. The tutorials were very good and even for someone who had no accounting background I think that everything would be understandable and intuitive.

I have only recently set up my own company and Sage basically supplied everything that I need.
It is quite pricey but at the moment it is doing a very decent job for me. It has a nice balance of being a simple to use bookkeeping program and also offering more advanced features.

I would advise people to check it first along with the other Sage versions and see if they really need all of the features.

It is pretty similar to Quick books and other similar accountancy packages so I think that price should be a very important consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Accounting Software Package, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Lova - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sage has been near the top of the accounting software tree for a good few years now and this latest version maintains that position.Easy to install,intuitive to use with video tutorials and 45 days telephone support available this software is a great option for any business.The ability to calculate and then submit VAT returns directly to HMRC,easy control over cash flow and prepare end of year accounts are just some of the benefits of this package.The cost should easily be offset by a resultant saving in accountants fees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC)
Sage 50 Accounts 2014 (PC) by Sage UK Ltd (Windows 7 / 8 / Server 2008 / Vista / XP)
489.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews