Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower of great proportions, 13 Aug 2013
By 
A. Paradise - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, It's True (MP3 Download)
Refreshing to hear such a carefully refined assembly of songs in this 'eager-to-please' generation. A really wonderful album that is rich with sounds and variety which will have you coming back to time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delaughter is the best medicine, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
What I enjoyed about PPS recording career is each of their 3 studio albums were stronger than its predecessor, with the fourth record possibly being the band career defining record. But then nothing for 6 years, due to side projects & lack of funding.
Then in 2013 arrives the self-financed "Yes, it's true". Gone is the melting pot of sounds, with epic quirky musical landscapes, replaced with a more polished straight-laced album, think Flaming lips "Yoshimi Battles..." but with a bit of Beatle & Beach Boy thrown into the mix.
As with other reviews, this is a bit of a slow burner, which is normally the case when any act alters their musical direction (there's always a bit of dragging their fans kicking & screaming when it comes' to changing the formula!).
So all in all a fascinating, well crafted album, that continues to reveal it's self, with every repeat listen, let's hope its' PPS break through record then perhaps they can stop Salisbury's using their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but still the same, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
I've loved this band since the start but after three albums (not including their excellent "Holidaydream" Christmas collection) something had to change, their almost symphonic, gospelly, almost cultish pop becoming a little tired. Their last album, "The Fragile Army" saw things begin to shift away from that technicolour sprawl and into darker territory, and "Yes, It's True" shows that things have changed once again.

The opening track, "You Don't Know Me" immediately showcases the changes. A drum machine provides the backing, along with the usual riot of instruments and voices, and despite that electronic backing sounding different they're still the same band at heart. The next two tracks, "Popular By Design" and "Hold Yourself Up" are the stand-outs for me, the former with an almost spoken chorus by the backing choir, the latter a massively uplifting air-punching anthem almost in the same vein as "Reach For The Sun". The songs are all shorter than before, mostly three or four minutes long, and in the opening half of the album the quality remains excellent. At the end of the catchy "Carefully Try" the band apparently send themselves up a little, a radio announcer describing the song as "the sounds of the 70s". "Heart Talk" is another great track, a saxophone honking away and lending the song an almost Bowie-esque feel as has been commented in other reviews.

The second half of the album is a little variable. "Blurry Up The Lines" is enjoyable but feels almost like the band set out to make something that sounds like The Polyphonic Spree, its see-sawing melody a little parodic in a sense. "Let Them Be" is an oddity, the sound fading out at the start, guaranteed to make you look towards your speakers wondering if the CD has a fault, before it resumes with an odd tale about life in the ocean which doesn't quite work for me. "Raise Your Head" sees a return to the up-tempo pop sound of the early tracks, "What Would You Do?" is an anthemic mini-musical of a track, before the closing "Battlefield" brings the album to a slightly subdued piano-led close.

It's a very enjoyable album, and since I first listened to it it has grown on me a lot, especially in the first half. The variable quality of the second half lets the album down a little for me though. If you're not a fan of the band "Yes, It's True" probably won't change that, but if like me you've loved the band for years it's great to have them back and there are some absolute gems to be found here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best work yet, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
Their last album was a welcome change of direction after a slightly tepid sophomore effort. This takes the change of sound a stage further and cements their ability to pen 3-4 minute alt-pop classics. They actually sound more focused and concise without losing the big sound of earlier work. Other reviewers mention flaming lips and I can see that. Odd tracks put me in mind of perry Farrell's Satellite Party too. I hope the next album doesn't take so long to produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good album!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
Although not as good as the previous two albums, there are some great tracks here and the overall sound is enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes, It's True (MP3 Download)
If you like the Spree give it ago. Less "choral" than some of the earlier stuff. Well worth a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slow grower..., 6 Aug 2013
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
On first listen I wasn't sure if I enjoyed this album, but on subsequent listens I have warmed to it immensely.

It's not as bombastic as people may expect from the Spree - "The Fragile Army", their last 'proper' album, was often bold and outspoken, whereas this seems more subdued in comparison.

But it just takes more of a listen to unlock its delights. Opener "You Don't Know Me" is perhaps the most immediate with sage advice on bullies and backstabbers - "there's always more to you than there are of them". "Heart Talk" reminds me of late 70s Bowie, esp the sax. "Popular by Design" is a definite grower.

So not as immediate as past albums perhaps, but still ultimately rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
Really liked this cd, only heard their music recently, but very impressed with this style of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yes It's True (Audio CD)
True awesome album. nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes, It's True
Yes, It's True by The Polyphonic Spree
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews