Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mazzy Star - Business as usual
"Seasons of your day" comes after a humongous seventeen year gap since Mazzy Star's last album. It reflects in turn the dissolution of the band in the nineties and their tortuously slow reunion kick started by the lovely single "Common Burn" at the heart of this album. In their prime Hope Sandoval and David Roback not only recorded the national anthem of dreamy pop "Fade...
Published 17 months ago by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good Mazzy Star
This is a late review, because i bought it long ago, but i liked it. its not a she hangs brightly or so dark that i might see, but a good album. I dont realy agree with the bad reviews that they are having.
Published 7 months ago by Marco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (MP3 Download)
Brilliant every bit as good now as they were before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still good Mazzy Star, 21 July 2014
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (Audio CD)
This is a late review, because i bought it long ago, but i liked it. its not a she hangs brightly or so dark that i might see, but a good album. I dont realy agree with the bad reviews that they are having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope, there is always Hope, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sheer beauty. The music, the artwork and the smell of this purple vinyl. After 17 years i did not expected another Mazzy Star album. I was already happy to see Hope in concert in 2009 in Botanique, Bruxelles and that was an evening to remember. The sound does not differ that much from the previous 3 albums however i did not expect Mazzy Star to change style or add new styles into their perfect sound. Not only the music but Hope's voice is for me the most beautiful voice in this solar system. To be honest i am in love since i first heard her voice. And it never changed. We were into a treat in 2013 because also MBV came up after a longer period with a new album. The day the album arrived i played it on endless repeat. Dream pop as described on discogs. Highest possible recommendation. Up there this year with the new MBV and our Jan Swerts 2nd album. Check out the latter too. It will cut the strings of your heart like this new Mazzy Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (Audio CD)
More polished but just as wistfully beautiful as Hope Sandoval's early albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl-specific review, 20 Nov. 2013
Five stars for the music - little contest there. I've been aware of the name but never heard the music until I was casually browsing in my local retailer (support them, please. It was £16 vs Amazon's sudden increase to £22) and this was on their system. Whilst I'm typically cautious about buying on impulse, instinct - and extended lingering in the store - reassured me this album is a no-brainer for cold dark evenings. I note that other reviewers, more familiar with Hope Sandoval and David Roback, have suggested it's too 'samey'. That's fine by me.

No, what concerns me relates specifically to the vinyl album I'm now listening to. Someone messed up with the quality control, it seems.
Firstly, both the vinyl are Sides 1 and 2 (ie. 3 and 4 is missing). I don't need a repeat copy of the vinyl, thanks. I'd like to hear the other two sides, please. That can be easily rectified.
What isn't so straightforward is the mastering. Or maybe the fault lies in the pressing; I can't really pinpoint the fault. But the record seems "squashed" into a confined auditory tunnel. Anytime the frequencies extend beyond this, it distorts unpleasantly. This is most noticeable on Hope's vocals, unfortunately. Has this record been mastered off a 16-bit CD? The vinyl is a satisfyingly weighty 180gm, free of pops, clicks and nicely flat. But it sounds wrong.

I don't write this as a complaint, but more a warning in case anyone else receives such a dud copy. The music is exquisite.... I want to carry on enjoying it. But not with this vinyl copy. Perhaps that is why Amazon has published the following under their Product Description:
"Note: This is not an audiophile pressing but an indie release with the format with the known disadvantages of the format vinyl over digital releases."
A great waste of the vinyl medium, if so.

Music 5/ 5
Quality 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Analogue mastering problem ?, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to this but i thought this record was poorly mastered. There was too much mistracking and predictable distortion on dynamic peaks in the music. I have quite a tasty front end on my stereo and i don't experience anything like this on other similat material. Not a bad album, but what do we all expect after waiting soo long for it to happen ? My pressing is just plain poor though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vaguely disappointing and very samey, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (Audio CD)
Hope Sandoval has a lovely voice but this album has to be consigned to 'background music'. There is very little, if any, variety between the tracks and for me it does not hold the attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely voices, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (Audio CD)
Great album,
Copied by others not nearly as good,
Have all her albums and they are timeless in my opinion,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (Audio CD)
music, I like this Band!
I may propose this CD for all of those people who like nice vocals and music. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable as predicted, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons of Your Day (Audio CD)
Big fan and this did not disappoint. For being chilled out rather than something like New Year or a party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seasons of Your Day
Seasons of Your Day by Mazzy Star (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews