Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars edgy punk psychedelia
From the mind-blowing cover image by radical artist Damien Hurst to the closing demo-version of stand-out track, Dr No, this is a tour-de-force from Babyshambles.
How the so-called 'functioning' heroin addict, Pete the poet, can produce such a varied and exciting set of rocky, reggaefied, punky, folky, jazzy tunes is beyond belief. How does he do it?
The stand...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. P. C. Ewens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad Album
Its alright but not as life changing as previous albums nor as memorable as previous albums has a few tunes
Published 9 months ago by rebcar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars edgy punk psychedelia, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. P. C. Ewens "Carl Ewens" (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc] (Audio CD)
From the mind-blowing cover image by radical artist Damien Hurst to the closing demo-version of stand-out track, Dr No, this is a tour-de-force from Babyshambles.
How the so-called 'functioning' heroin addict, Pete the poet, can produce such a varied and exciting set of rocky, reggaefied, punky, folky, jazzy tunes is beyond belief. How does he do it?
The stand out tracks reveal something of the weight that our errant genius struggles under, though - in both 'Minefield' and 'Dr No' there is an intimation of the scary nature of addiction, 'there are sharks in the water and the water's deep' mutters poor old pete, and of course 'it's a minefield out there!' is not the chorus of a happy man. Still, for all that, many of the tracks are upbeat, fun and the lyrics witty. 'The Very Last Boy Alive', 'Stranger In My Own Skin' and 'Nothing Comes To Nothing' are all exemplary pop-rock songs, with great hooks and melodies, and a smattering of one-liners, lyrics that indicate a lively mind. Pengiuns for instance boasts the comedy line 'I really don't like your boyfriend's face/I'm going to try and take his place'.
For me, only the opening track Fireman seems dodgy, a throw back to an earlier punk ethos, where it was important to paint a deranged picture in sound rather than create great art. I think, because of this one misstep, that means that 'Shotters Nation' is still Babyshambles' strongest single piece of work, but when you hear mighty, rocking tracks like 'Picture Me In The Hospital', 'Fall From Grace' and 'Seven Shades' you might have to admit this is a masterful album. And funny little off-the cuff stuff like the Django Reinhardt-influenced 'After Hours' and the humorous title track are just the cherry on a rich, delicious and moreish many-layered musical cake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Tabloid Whipping Boy, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc] (Audio CD)
Well, he's back. Who would have thought it? I'm not sure that I would, but I guess it just goes to show that hanging out in Paris (as I understand he's been doing) must do great things for the creative juices. Oh, and also some encouragement from Mozza's old mucker, Stephen Street, who has not only coaxed a great sound from Mr Doherty's reassembled combo, but also assumes supporting musician and co-songwriting duties (the latter on one of the album's greatest 'hooks').

Of course, what is so great about any Doherty band is that from their very (Baby)shambolic-ness (OK, I know there's no such word) emanates great creativity - which is why I'm sure Mick Jones was drawn to The Libertines in the first place (I mean you only had to watch Jones on stage at early Clash gigs constantly tuning his guitar!). Here, my first listening to Doherty's latest raised my hopes sky high, kicking off with Fireman, a sub-two minute powerhouse of a song, peppered with Doherty's idiosyncratic and hilariously poetic lyrics ('I am a fireman, I live in a Lisbon bus shelter, I am a fireman, Satan's little helper') and then following with the magnificent guitar hook of Nothing Comes To Nothing. Of course, my expectations were then tempered somewhat by what follows, but I only needed to give it some time.

Ten or so listens later and I'm back on cloud nine. Now I'm thinking there's virtually no weak songs here (even the slight meanderings of New Pair have the clever lyrical morphing of 'pair son' to 'person'). On the slightly less conventional side we have the moody, reggae-inflected Dr No (featuring some nice melodica playing from Stephen Large), the dynamically inventive take on spurned love of Penguins and the infectious rolling bar blues of the album's title song (it could quite literally have been taken straight from a Chas n' Dave songbook). Subtle melody (one of Doherty's particular strong-points) are to the fore on Fall From Grace, (the rather fatalistic, but defiant) Picture Me In A Hospital and Farmer's Daughter (the latter with its great, soaring chorus) and, if it's riffs you're after, each of Maybelline and Seven Shades (with its 'ironic' reference of out-of-tune guitar strings) should do nicely. That only leaves album closer Minefield, intended no doubt to be something of an album tour-de-force and, with its powerful sound accompanying Doherty's (no doubt well learned) tale of the need to be wary against existential threats, it just about fits the bill.

Doherty follows his set of quirky and poetic lyrics with his album sleeve thanks, citing the great Stan Bowles (ah, that sweet left foot!) - but I would have to ask what happened to Tony Currie and Duncan McKenzie? The greatest rock and roll album ever? Er, no - but a fine return, nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's less raw than Down in Albion, Less dark than Shotters Nation, but it's no less in quality, this is brilliant album, and gives Babyshambles softer sound to go with their wide and varying discography. Definitely another triumph in Doherty's songwriting and the packaging and items included in this have such a Babyshambles feel to them, I can't think of a better way of putting it.
Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to the Prequel, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc] (Audio CD)
Just great again. Well done Pete, Drew and Mick.. oh and Stephen Street! The very last boy alive (Bonus) - best track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last a new album worth hearing, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc] (Audio CD)
An album that really grows on you the more you play it. If you like Pete's previous works you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear vinyl with a cd for the car/kitchen, Damien Hirst cover and poster - what's not to like?! Heartfelt, sing-a-long, and a bit sweary - perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you think they are good, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel (Audio CD)
you will love his C.D ....... great mixture of techno work with brilliant vocals as is the norm for this band, truly a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad Album, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel (Audio CD)
Its alright but not as life changing as previous albums nor as memorable as previous albums has a few tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love my CD's and this arrived with a cracked case :(, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel (Audio CD)
Okay I love Babyshambles and even though I think I prefer The Libertines, Down in Albion will remain my favourite CD out of both bands. This CD was really good but I didn't feel it was as great as past albums. Also the cracked case made me sad.
All in all: great band, good album (and wonderful cover art by one of my favourite artists!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Softer but Brilliant Return, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc] (Audio CD)
Im not surprised its an album full of very good songs and has a lot of different influences from Punk to Folk but i am surprised at how enjoyable it all is and how together the band sound.
Softer overall but thats mainly to do with a good cast of players and vocals very at ease with brilliant lyrics and melodies.
One of the best albums this year for me.
Beady Eye - BE
Charles Bradley - Victim of Love
Babyshambles - Sequel to the Prequel
All bloody brilliant albums in 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc]
Sequel to the Prequel [Bonus Disc] by Babyshambles (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews