Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
People who criticise the quality of picture, I suggest you either go to specsavers and get your eyes examined, or make sure you have a 1080p HD TV. The picture is better than DVD quality, though not as good as full HD Blu ray quality. It's watchable, enjoyable and much clearer than before. So, those of you who don't like, keep opinions to yourself. Don't ruin for other...
Published 7 months ago by Robert Atkins

versus
65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Opportunity. An okay set, could have been so much more
First things first, this is a very reasonably priced product. I know there have been claims of "overpriced" etc, however, if you examine that Seasons 5-7 are still priced at 35+ for bluray, then you have the Specials and seasons 1-4 included also, then 165 is quite decent.
Secondly, the product is very nicely packaged - The cardboard box is nicely designed and of...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. James A. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Opportunity. An okay set, could have been so much more, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. James A. Stevens "Trigger" (Stockport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First things first, this is a very reasonably priced product. I know there have been claims of "overpriced" etc, however, if you examine that Seasons 5-7 are still priced at 35+ for bluray, then you have the Specials and seasons 1-4 included also, then 165 is quite decent.
Secondly, the product is very nicely packaged - The cardboard box is nicely designed and of good quality. The new cover designs on seasons 1-4 are VERY nice, and in my view a definite improvement on the previous packaging. ONLY problem I have is that they changed the "Doctor Who" logo from its "new credits" logo to that of the "classic doctors", which is fine, but from Season 5-7, the logo remains that of the "Matt Smith" era, completely breaking any continuity. My own thoughts are if they updated the packing from 1-4, then surely a logo change would have been easy to do on the newer series.
Now, there has been a lot of complaints about "slowing the show down" and that it runs longer on season 1-4. This sounds ridiculous to people, and yes, it is. The picture quality has DEFINITELY improved, lets get that out of the way first. In fact, my own thoughts are that the later seasons actually seem slightly grainer in comparison with the up conversions. If the show has been slowed by ANY amount, it isn't something you'd notice.
The sound quality is fantastic, I can honestly say that when Murry Gold's "Eleventh Doctor Theme" kicks in, it's amazing.
Now, my issues with this box set:
If you aren't bothered about extras or bonus features, then this won't be an issue, but for others there are some problems:
1. The bonus features are actually reduced in number from previous releases, not only on season 1-4, but on Season 5-7 as well.
2. The advertised bonus features of the Proms performance in 2010 is NOT included. And it has no plans to be.

Other minor niggles: The time that the disks take to reach the menu on season 5-7 is MADDENING. There is a whole series of unskippable "Accessibility" screens etc to go through, having timed them, it takes anywhere from 3-5 minutes JUST to get from one advert/access section through to the start screen. It's at times ridiculous. BBC - For future releases, whilst I very much appreciate your drive to make dvds and blurays accessible to all, please make the screens skippable for those of us that do not require them.

Again, it does slightly irk me that the extras on this are actually less than when bought on DVD or indeed, bought separately. This box set is meant to mark the return of the longest running sci-fi franchise in history, and its 50th Anniversary. I fail to understand why some additional features or documentaries marking this fact were not included.

Lastly, the BBC has again, sold the UK license Payers short with this. The American release comes with EVERYTHING plus additional content in the manner of the above paragraph; namely the features regarding the shows 50th anniversary and also the "best of" moments from the show since it's return. Why is it that the American release gets these and the UK is left short again?

The UK is overlooked on special features from NUMEROUS American studios in the Region 2/B releases. Why are we now being overlooked from our own establishments?

In short, the picture and sound quality as well as the price, DO make this a pretty decent buy. However, the oversights, ommissions and shortcomings are very noticeable, and I think show a bit of a hash job from the BBC. Not an issue for those just wanting to watch and enjoy the show, in that instance, I couldn't recommend this set more. But, if you're a big fan, and want ALL the bells, ALL the whistles and ALL the extras, then, in my view, the level of the picture quality improvement on 1-4, don't make this a "must have purchase" over the DVD's that contain everything else you could want.

If you're after extras, additional content: DVD and single season blu ray releases are the way forward.
Just after the show and quite a few extras in decent quality and at a pretty good price? This is the set for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad but not good as expected - and BLINK EASTER EGG MISSING., 16 Nov 2013
By 
Klaus Gahan (Milano, MI Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does anyone found the easter egg of "Blink" in the relative disk? I didn't. But is stated that is included inside the season 3 box card. If someone found, please, give me directions to find it in comment and I will edit.
-----
The episodes in the seasons 1 to 4 are a bit longer because of conversion to 1080i (25 to 24 fps), but nothing serious.
The episode of 5th season miss the trailer of next episode at the end of each, like in previous DVD and blu ray: shame on editor.
The boxes of seasons 1 to 4 and 2009 specials have the classic (slightly revisited for the 50th) logo instead of the reboot one and the 5th to 7th have the new "Moffat" logo. Ugly to see this discontinuity.
The boxes for seasons 5 to 7 and the 2009 specials have the same content but with a new graphic on the discs and on the back of the cover.
None of the boxes contain the relative "Episode guide" like in previous DVD and blu ray edition; instead they have a simple sheet with the same cover artwork in the front and the "table of contents" in the back.
The package should have contained an extra dummy case to replace with 50th anniversary and 2013 Christmas specials, to let us make it complete (like in "James Bond 50" box).

About the inner quality... too long to describe how disappointed I am.
Some scenes seem been taken with a consumer HD camera, others seem restored from a 1940's movie: there's no visual continuity in the photography anymore. Is strange but I had almost the same result when I upscaled myself with my computer the 1st disc of 1st season to HD. This box is better but... just a bit. So, I'm pretty sure that NO RESTORATION HAVE BEEN DONE TO SEASONS 1st TO 4th EPISODES. Anyway, newer episodes look better than older: I think that this depends from the quality of the recording.

For its value, doesn't worth the actual price (about 170). Stick to the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
David Robinson (Southsea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first review I've ever written on Amazon. Never before have I purchased a product so badly put together that I've felt the need to write one to warn others! Everything about this set screams cash in.

Firstly the artwork. The sets previously released on DVD have been included here with new artwork using the 'classic' logo and it looks great, however thats then been ruined by changing the branding on the more recent sets so even within this collection there is no uniformity. But that's the least of your problems. The bonus disc simple doesn't exist! The American release gets it but as seems to be the recent trend with Doctor Who us Brits are left out.

Series 1-4 have been upscaled and while they do look decent enough (although not a huge difference from watching the original DVDs on a good upscaling player) whatever method they have used has slowed down the episodes, I thought I was going mad but comparing running time on the DVD to these Blu Rays shows roughly a 5% slowdown!

The final problem is to me by far the worst and unforgivable. The Doctor Who DVD and Blu Ray releases have been plagued by both technical problems and issues with content (noticeably a rough cut of the Children in Need episode). Not a single one of these issues has been corrected. There is no way the BBC aren't aware of these problems so why not fix them? Only answer can be they simply can't be bothered.

Its such a shame as this was a fantastic chance to put the mistakes right and create a definitive set. Personally if I had been putting it together with it being now nearly 10 years since the return of the show a documentary on how the show came back and looking back at the first 10 years of the returned show would have been a no brainer.

2015 will be the 10th anniversary of the shows return, maybe for that the BBC can but together a decent box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TRULY AWFUL!! Save your money - this is a complete rip off, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't usually write reviews but.....just received this item and it's being returned for a refund first thing in the morning.

How BBC Worldwide think they can get away with a blatant product description that is so completely inaccurate is beyond me. As an example, 1080p fully restored screen resolutions are only on seasons 1-4. The remaining box sets are just the existing ones already out there (in 1080i), included here to make it seem you're getting something 'special'. The thought that all seasons were upscaled to 1080p was a selling point for me so disappointed.

For those in 1080p the picture quality is also exceptionally poor. I see no difference between these and the DVD versions up scaled on a blu ray player. (And you don't get the 'juddering' effect that you get here with some of these discs during playback).

There's other issues but other reviewers have covered most of them.

Save your money till they produce something worthy of your hard earned cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Dec 2013
People who criticise the quality of picture, I suggest you either go to specsavers and get your eyes examined, or make sure you have a 1080p HD TV. The picture is better than DVD quality, though not as good as full HD Blu ray quality. It's watchable, enjoyable and much clearer than before. So, those of you who don't like, keep opinions to yourself. Don't ruin for other buyers, okay?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT BOX SET, 14 Jan 2014
If you are considering buying this for a fan of Doctor Who, then this set is perfect.
If you have not seen the show, seasons 1-5 are available on netflix in case you want to try it before you buy it. Give the show 8 episodes before you decide if you like it or not.
I had heard and read that the 1st 4 series, which were not shot in HD and are upscaled in this set would look bad. I have to say, i noticed no such problem.
The total size is more compact than it looks in the picture.
As far as the show goes, I think it is THE BEST SHOW OF ALL TIME!!! I am only new to the whoniverse, and i have never enjoyed a show as much as this in my life. The quality of the writing is unparalelled.
Sure the sfx in the begiining are a little iffy, but give it a chance. You WILL NOT be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WooooWHO!!, 10 Jan 2014
I was at first a little torn on deciding if I should get this blu-ray Doctor Who box set. I have read many mixed reviews but after a while I decided to go ahead and get it. Now firstly, I have read reviews where some customers have stated that the Doctor Who Confidential episodes and the BBC Doctor Who at The Proms from 2008 are not included in this set. Well I can tell you straight up that they are all there in this set. The Confidential episodes are spread out on the discs very much like the original DVD's. The Proms show is in the Special Features section on the David Tennant Specials set so please don't worry about any special features being missed here because they're not missing at all.
Now on to the quality. The first 4 series are upscaled to HD so they're an improvement on the DVD quality but not dramatically. The sound quality is better and the music score in the background sounds absolutely amazing during those dramatic scenes, especially if you're using a home theatre system surround sound. Series 5-7 are in full HD although some people have complained that the show seems to have slowed down slightly and is noticeable when watching. I haven't had this issue at all and the picture and sounds is stunning. It may have been that those customers who complained about the show being slowed down slightly in picture may have a lower frame rate in their HD TV's.
The set comes packaged in a nice box. I like the design on the box and on the bottom on the base of the box it shows you all what's included in this set. Each series is individually packaged in a multi disc case. The designs on the covers look good, they have made new designed covers for the first 4 series. Again there have been complaints that the use of a retro Doctor Who logo has been used for those 4 series instead if the original logo used for those series. I prefer the retro logo used because I wasn't a fan of the logo used for Eccleston and Tennant. Anyway it's only a logo, the show is still the same great show. People need to stop moaning about silly unimportant things like that.
My only disappointment is that maybe they should have waited to release this set once Matt Smith had finished his time on the show. That way they could have included all his Specials and had all of his episodes so that it was complete that way. Other than that I can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To Buy Or Not To Buy ... It's Not Really A Question, 21 Oct 2013
OK, let's assume like me you are a huge Doctor Who fan to be even considering purchasing this new box set with it's ridiculously high price tag & have a closer look at what is actually included:-

Newly remastered in 1080p resolution for the first time:-
* Doctor Who: The Complete First Series, starring Christopher Eccleston and Billie Piper
* Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series, starring David Tennant and Billie Piper
* Doctor Who: The Complete Third Series, starring David Tennant and Freema Agyeman
* Doctor Who: The Complete Fourth Series, starring David Tennant and Catherine Tate

Also included in1080i Resolution:-
* Doctor Who: The Complete Specials, starring David Tennant
* Doctor Who: The Complete Fifth Series, starring Matt Smith and Karen Gillan
* Doctor Who: The Complete Sixth Series, starring Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill
* Doctor Who: The Complete Seventh Series, starring Matt Smith, Karen Gillan, Arthur Darvill, and Jenna-Louise Coleman

THE BONUS DISC THAT WAS ADVERTISED ON THE OFFICIAL BBC WEB SITE AS BEING INCLUDED HAS BEEN OMITTED FROM THE UK VERSION & THE TRANSFER OF SERIES 1-4 TO 1080p HAS MADE THEM RUN SLOWER PLUS THE TECHNICAL PROBLEMS THAT EXISTED ON THE COMPLETE SPECIALS STILL EXIST.

That's what you get for your money & if you do the maths, considering each of the "Complete Series" on Blu-ray has at least 5 discs, this set should contain 40 discs minimum instead of 35 so that gives you a good indication of how much bonus material has been condensed or completely removed. So let's view the alternatives as this can never be considered a "complete" box set without the 50th Anniversary Special ... why it wasn't included for this obscene amount of money is beyond me (obviously we also have "The Time Of The Doctor" now & the new series to look forward to as well).

First up you have the beautifully designed "Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD]" 23 disc box set complete with a well produced, fully illustrated "Series Guide" colour booklet & a whole plethora of extras. My belief is given the year this was released that the DVD format is about as good as it gets as the source tapes do not lend themselves to a Blu-ray production (you can't improve on what wasn't there to begin with) & the remastering of these earlier episodes will do nothing to enhance your viewing enjoyment, available now on Amazon for 35.
Also currently available, you have "The Complete Specials [Blu-ray]" (be very careful with this one as there are numerous reported problems with the attempt to transfer it from SD to HD which apparently still exist so if you already own the original DVD format then I suggest you stick with it), "The Complete Series 5 [Blu-ray]", The Complete Series 6 [Blu-ray]", & The Complete Series 7 Blu-ray". Each set has a whole host of extras & the total price for all four complete sets is 72.44. Finally you have "The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D]" now at the reduced price of 8.75. This means you will have a superb collection without the omission of the 50th Anniversary Special, a damn sight more extras than is available here, far better packaging, & all for the total price of 116.19 saving you a staggering 71!!!

For me personally this is a no brainer ... it is horrendously over priced with a lot less content than if you bought each of the complete series individually ... you can't really improve on series 1 - 4 because they weren't shot in HD to begin with, the same can be said for all but a couple of episodes regarding "The Complete Specials", also it's worth bearing in mind your Blu-ray player upscales the DVD's for you anyway. We are talking a BBC TV series here which obviously doesn't have the budget of a huge Hollywood blockbuster. I truly believe there will be better "sets" available in the future, perhaps finally with all the faults ironed out. As the Doctor might well say "Time is our friend" so please be patient & think very carefully before you get drastic with your plastic. Allons-y!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complete shambles, 1 Nov 2013
By 
James Norman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This boxset is nothing but a shoddy cash-in to make money from the 50th anniversary. Here's why:

1. The bonus disc referred to in the product description is not actually in the UK version of the set.

2. Series 1-4 have been upscaled to 1080p, but this has resulted in a 4% slowdown - each episode is up to 3 minutes longer than on DVD.

3. None of the problems from earlier boxsets (e.g. wrong version of the Children in Need episode from series 2) have been corrected.

4. The US get considerably more content for only slightly more money than we are being charged for an inferior product.

Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly as advertised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Complete Series 1-7 [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Used & New from: 373.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews