Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars49
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2013
This is fab. The ingenious design means you sort of shoot it like a gun at what you want to clean and unlike other steamers, you've always got one hand free to rub down with a cloth. It's surprisingly light too as the weight works with your wrist. And when you need to put it down, you can rest it on its bottom, like an iron. But beware, don't let it fall, even softly, on the water cap. It will instantly break and the unit will be busted as the water will seep out.

It heats up fast and refilling is a breeze - just open the water chamber cap, add more water straight from the tap and you're good to go again in seconds. You don't have to use gloves as much as your hands don't get that wet and it doesn't spit out water, it's 'dry steam'.

I'm very pleased with the power of it, really good at blasting away dirt and dried on stains, and if you need some extra gumption it comes with some little scrubby brushes. I can pretty much get the whole house done with this, loo cleaner being the only additional product I use, no more sprays. It also works well steaming the sofa and refreshing the cushions.

My surfaces do look shinier and even taking into account plugging in and filling up, I've saved time spent on cleaning, washing cleaning cloths and some money on cleaning supplies.

There is a little sliding lever for more or less power, but I find the heel of my hand tends to push on it, so it doesn't stay in place much. But it doesn't bother me, I tend to keep it on the highest setting.

It's so quick and easy to use. Love it. Best handheld steamer I've ever used.

Update Feb-2014: Alas, me and my beloved steamer have parted ways. The problem was the cap on the water chamber. I went through 2 models and the same thing happened, the rather flimsy connecting part broke. This made the unit unusable as the water spilled out. Can't find it for sale anywhere now.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
This is the handheld steamer of all handheld steamers. I doubt their is a steamer out there anywhere near as good as this one. An incredible 20 foot of cord, a super-fast heat up time of just 20 seconds and it can be re-filled while still plugged in. This steam cleaner has two settings, the lower setting will give 20mins clean time , while the full setting gives about 5mins clean time. To refill the tank and be up and running again is less than 30 seconds and the outstanding amount of steam it produces makes for quick and easy cleaning. Ive had several steam cleaners but this makes the rest completely redundant. Its obvious that this cleaner was well thought out and designed by someone who knows exactly what a customer requires in a cleaning product. I highly recommend this steam cleaner, you'll agree completely with me when you have used it.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Great little steamer. Really easy to use, long cord. Multiple attachments. Great for cleaning windows, bathrooms, etc. Would definitely recommend.
Update: HOWEVER my first one broke after about 4 months of light use. It was replaced no quibble by hoover and now that replacement has broken with the same issue after about 6 months (there is a sound of a crack whilst in use and then water leaks out the bottom of the unit and steam is subsequently significantly reduced.) Replaced a second time by hoover who claim we are just unlucky.....
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Works well, looks good, the real deal. My other half loves the machine, the kitchen and bathroom shine. Couldn't be happier.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Very easy to use, long lead which is great. Used it on the hob and bathroom which worked well. Also used it in the oven, didn't work as well as hoped but this may have been due to the fact that it hadn't been cleaned for so long!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Hoover SteamJet Handy.......is just ok. It is certainly not the be all and end all as far as making things easier for you is concerned. I found that to get a job done as good as you would normally had pre the SteamJet, you still have to employ the use of something else e.g. a brillo pad to finish off the job - if not, honestly, you would be there all day. So, I would definitely not recommend this tool.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I did the research and bought this. Those long handled models that multi task for floor and carpet too don't look good for the hand held jobs. I'm also dubious that blasting a carpet with steam is the best approach. Laminate flooring can be very expensive to put at risk too. The wife says the Hoover has a strong steam output. It is very good for cleaning out the waste disposal, round toilet seat fittings, plug holes, taps and tiles. It's able to rest on it's end like an iron when not in use. The long flex is brilliant for bathrooms where there should be no electric sockets. Watch out for the price as some retailers ask for silly money. I bought a factory refurb that was like new - maybe better because you know it has been fully tested.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Dithered for ages before buying but glad Idid. The cream grout between the travertine kitchen and conservatory tiles is cream once more :)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
It is ok but it didn't really clean grouting effectively, and took three attempts to make only a reasonable job of upholstery cleaning. I really couldn't recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
So far this has worked great - have mostly been using it to clean out a car, formerly owned by a smoker. Interior was....not nice, and as you can imagine this was a rather mucky job. Whilst it wasn't able to remove the nail polish(!) that had been spilled on the seats, it was able to remove all the tar and assorted nasty black stuff from the rest of the upholstery & headlining. Considering the state it was in, this steamer did a very good job.

Pros:
- Being designed as a purely handheld design makes it very easy to handle, compared with say the "X5" steam mop in "handheld mode".
- Very easy to use, and produces more steam/does a better job at cleaning than my X5 ever did.
- Robust design; will survive being dropped on a hard unforgiving drive.
- Easy to fill.
- Can be used at any angle, even upside down.

Cons:
- Unlike X5, cannot do floors, so if you want to steam clean the floor of bathroom/toilet, this isn't the tool for you.
- Small water tank, so needs refilling more often.
- Only small scrubbing brush attachments supplied with the steamer are nylon; would be nice if it also had a wire brush too, like the X5 has.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)