Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger,better,faster:thats Season 2.
If you recall adverts for products such as the VW Golf that claim that the new version tops the older model, then this could be said of Season 2 of The Following in my opinion.
Serial killer Joe Carroll is still alive and kicking and is motivating groups of would-be killers to perform acts of outrage often with the aim of taking revenge against Ryan Hardy for...
Published 5 months ago by robert stirling

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decision making is key
Suspension of disbelief is vital to this series as if it is possible that you believe the characters would make these hairbrained decisions you might just be riveted. However FBI agents and policemen are rarely this daft in real life and the program ends up laughable and contemptible. The poorest decision was to make another series.
Published 4 months ago by Verbal Kint


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger,better,faster:thats Season 2., 10 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Following - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you recall adverts for products such as the VW Golf that claim that the new version tops the older model, then this could be said of Season 2 of The Following in my opinion.
Serial killer Joe Carroll is still alive and kicking and is motivating groups of would-be killers to perform acts of outrage often with the aim of taking revenge against Ryan Hardy for originally capturing him and 'stealing' his ex-wife.
James Purefoy and Kevin Bacon continue their central roles respectively and are again the backbone of the 2nd season;as previously whatever faults there were in season 1 were overshadowed by their commanding performances,and this season gives them more depth as the story progresses.
Connie Nielsen (of Gladiator (2000) - Two Disc Set [DVD] fame)is the new love interest in Bacons life as he tries to settle into his new life away from the FBI,but never far away are the machinations of Purefoy's serial killer and his following.
It's more of the same,with some of the solid characters of the previous season giving equally pertinent support.
If you found season 1 bland and silly don't bother;some people did.There is more of the same here,with 'followers' comming out of the woodwork when you least expect it which to me added to the plot.
In conclusion I think this is an excellent follow up and adds to the 1st season if you are desperate for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decision making is key, 7 May 2014
Suspension of disbelief is vital to this series as if it is possible that you believe the characters would make these hairbrained decisions you might just be riveted. However FBI agents and policemen are rarely this daft in real life and the program ends up laughable and contemptible. The poorest decision was to make another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Bad It’s Magnificent (Spoiler Alert), 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Following - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Wire, The Sopranos, Breaking Bad, House of Cards, Deadwood, Mad Men. I could go on as apparently we are now living in a golden age of television with some of the greatest tv shows ever made according to critics and audiences alike made in the last 15 years. But I have not completed a single box set. Why, you may ask? Because I’m watching finely made productions such as The Following Season 2. A show so bad that it cannot be described as ‘so bad it’s good’ but ‘so bad it’s magnificent’. Never once while watching this season did I think, I really should get round to watching The Wire because while The Following might be terrible in the plot, believability and common sense department it sure is entertaining.

I will try and keep the spoilers to a minimum as a show this magnificent relies on its shock value and ability to thrill; it’s even described as a psychological thriller. Starting off 18 months after Joe died (he didn’t die); Clare died and Ryan Hardy almost died The Following quickly gets off the ground with a subway attack by ‘Joe’s followers’ (unlike last season where each follower had to be recruited by Roderick or at least met Joe personally these followers are freelance followers with no particular affiliation to the previous followers) that brings Joe out of retirement and leads to him shaving an amazing beard. So right away the show decides that last season’s pathetic attempt at creating plausibility should be completely ignored (this will help when Joe meets his cult).

The Following is cotton candy for the mind. If you want to watch a show that doesn’t get too overly caught up with plausibility and credibility then this is for you (loved how the van that rammed a car in the final episode is perfectly fine in the next scene). The show might be stupid beyond belief but it sure is entertaining with James Purefoy continuing to give a brilliant over the top performance as Carroll and Kevin Bacon continuing to receive his paycheck as Ryan Hardy by showing up on set. The Following might not be the cleverest shows ever created and looking back it’s unlikely to be fondly remembered alongside greats such as The Wire and The Soporanos but if you’re looking to pass the time and be hugely entertained The Following is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Following - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, but builds momentum fast, 30 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Following - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I felt this season started off pretty slowly. There was a lot of figuring out who's who and in what capacity they're relevant etc (felt a bit 'Criminal Minds' in places). But as the season progressed, and it all started to come together, it became unmissable. Joe, while displaying a more humane side than in season one, is still at his manipulative best as he looks to rebuild his fallen empire (so to speak) with a new breed of followers more sinister than the last.

This series has so many twists, turns and memorable performances (Luke and Mark add that something extra that season one didn't have), and the final episode only served to fuel my anticipation for season 3. Looking forward to it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS GOOD AS SEASON 1, 2 Sep 2014
A very twist, fun and suspenseful show, I highly recommend it, Kevin bacon is famtastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad its good, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Following - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
So bad its good...Just like the first season the second is truly awful, its one of those series where I wish I knew if the writers were actually taking it seriously. I cant wait for season three!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Following - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Have just watched season 1 and I thought it absolutely fantastic can't wait for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They Should Have Renewed ALMOST HUMAN Instead, 25 May 2014
This shows goes from bad to absolute tripe with each passing wind I mean episode. Flatulence aside Fox are clearly attempting a 24 coup by casting Bacon but his hair-brained decisions are as rubbish as the series itself. Luckily ratings seem to indicate it won't be lasting for a third series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!, 5 April 2014
if you did'nt like the first season then watch this season the second season was amazing a Setup from the first season , plus the first season was to slow and it was boring because you hardly saw james purefoy I give the first season about 2 stars because I found it very boring (joe carrol) but the second season is more darker and mature and Kevin bacon, Shawn ashmore are really good in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Following - Season 2 [DVD]
£20.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews