Customer Reviews


919 Reviews
5 star:
 (836)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


155 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Incredible
For me this is the best show on TV at the moment, and Season 4 is the best season so far....

A little GoT history - originally George RR Martin (the author of the book series) wrote 3 books. Season 4 is mainly based on the second half of the third book. As this is the main climax of the original books, the action in season 4 is fast and free flowing, but well...
Published 9 months ago by ian andrews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Walkers Dead or Alive
There seems to be an awful lot of walking being done by the Stark doomed never to reach their destination.

Arya’s been walking since the last series and half way through this one decided to go to her Aunt. When she got to the gate she was told her aunt was dead. Now most people would have at least visited the aunt’s house to see her cousin and...
Published 4 days ago by Rosey


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

155 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Incredible, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me this is the best show on TV at the moment, and Season 4 is the best season so far....

A little GoT history - originally George RR Martin (the author of the book series) wrote 3 books. Season 4 is mainly based on the second half of the third book. As this is the main climax of the original books, the action in season 4 is fast and free flowing, but well balanced with intense drama as well.

After the original 3 books, 2 more have been written and material from both of these is included in season 4 for several reasons - it adds balance to the fast action, it gives some characters more to do, it progresses the story at a more 'tv suitable' pace, etc....

The production for season 4 is as high as you would expect from any top HBO show and is easily up to the high standards set by seasons 1-3.

Similarly, the acting is as good as ever. There are great performances in every episode and not always just from the 'big hitters' like Charles Dance and Peter Dinklage.

The whole season is full of twists and if you guess one, the next one will hit you before you even realise! If you thought the 'red wedding' in season 3 was good, you're in for a real treat with season 4.

The plots (for me at least) were less complicated than in Season 3, but this is mainly because season 3 was doing a lot of preparatory work for season 4.

It's very difficult to review in more depth without giving away spoilers which I'm conscious not to do, but if you want to ask a question please do....

I can't recommend this highly enough.

However, if you haven't seen Seasons 1-3 first then you should. Season 4 is incredible, but without the background and character histories it will lose a lot of it's meaning.

Also, book readers beware - there are changes from the book 'canon'. Some (as mentioned briefly above) are for the purpose of story/character progression. Most of them 'work' and add soemthing new so you shouldn't complain. In fact, one fairly big change in episode 10 gives us a great fight scene that isn't in the books at all! There are bits you'll groan at, but that doesn't stop season 4 being great entertainment.

Valar Dohaeris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones Series 4 - The Godfather meets Lord of the Rings in Westeros, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Warning - This review contains some potential spoilers

So season 4 has drawn to a scintillating close and Monday night is now completely in tatters. All we can do is wait with deep wrenching impatience and anticipation until next year. This has been a superb season with Episode 9 "The Watchers on the Wall" resembling an epic of Lord of the Rings proportions around the siege of Castle Black and the terrible conclusion of Episode 8 involving the trial by combat between Red Viper and the Mountain still vividly lodged in your mind. However it is the series finale "The Children" that tops them all and without revealing its conclusion, it's timely justice for Tyrion!

Whilst nothing in Series 4 comes quite as close to the sheer jaw dropping drama of Series 3 classic episode "The Red Wedding" the Series 4 finale has a quality about it that can only be found in great films like "The Godfather II". The drama unfolds in almost a Shakespearian fashion and whilst loose ends are tied up a myriad of questions evolve out of the pulsating script. The acting throughout deserves Grammys by the shedload not least one of the most unlikely "buddy" pairings in TV history namely Ayra Stark (the brilliant Maisie Williams) and the strangely loveable uber thug "The Hound". The scriptwriters have also played a huge role in this series with more deviations from George R R Martins books which makes the plot and storyline sharper and more dynamic. For example that gigantic Brienne and the Hound fight never happened in the novels, but it was stellar television. The other key dimension of the series is that the multiplicity of individual story lines are now merging ever closer so the overall plot line is much clearer and the context more powerful. Despite the ritual disposal of numerous major characters in Series 4 the deep fascination of the future of existing characters like the mystic Bran, the heroic Jon Snow, the Machiavellian "Littlefinger" and the worlds most popular dwarf (Peter Dinklage) is utterly engrossing. We also have nagging doubts emerging not least is Daenerys Targaryen's unstoppable rise now threatened by her errant dragons, and whilst the key figure of Stannis Baratheon looms large was that also an alluring smile from the sinister but sexy Melisandre, the priestess of the Lord of Light to Jon Snow? Meanwhile beyond the Wall in the frozen north the Whitewalkers are massing.

Game of Thrones has been renewed for a further two seasons and we are informed that the day after the premiere of season 4, filming started in Belfast on the next instalment.The new season is scheduled to start on TV between the end of March and mid-April 2015. Can however the programmes show runners, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, be asked nicely by all Amazon readers to get a move on and bring this true wonder back to our screens. Indeed this reviewer could be reduced to begging. Game of Thrones - Series 4 is absolutely essential television and the best current drama on the small screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Walkers Dead or Alive, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There seems to be an awful lot of walking being done by the Stark doomed never to reach their destination.

Arya’s been walking since the last series and half way through this one decided to go to her Aunt. When she got to the gate she was told her aunt was dead. Now most people would have at least visited the aunt’s house to see her cousin and find out who else was there. If she had she would have found her sister there. But not so what does her character do turn around and start walking the other way, please!
Bran another stark sibling walking since the last series but at least he got to his destination whatever that was!

But the person that has walked the longest and never to be seen again since series 3 is Rickon he was walking all through the last episode at the end of which he was to go to his brother at the Night Watch. While everyone else seems to have made it to the Night Watch gates Rickon is not to be seen.

Stop filling the story with a bunch of walkers......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valar Dohaeris, 18 Jun. 2014
All men must serve. The 4th season of Game of Thrones does just that: It serves a feast of drama, action, twists, brilliant acting, directing, production, storytelling and sex, less sex than the previous seasons, however, that is somewhat of an improvement as sometimes in previous seasons it wouldn't have been unfair if one believed that sometimes the sex scenes were slightly overused.

As someone who read all the books 3 years ago, this was the season I was waiting for so very desperately, even more so than seasons 2 and 3. This 4th season is mainly based upon the events that take place in the second half of the 3rd book A Storm of Swords Part 2: Blood and Gold. Episode 9 is usually the traditional climax of a Game of Thrones season, with 10 being the aftermath of the storm but I knew that this season would have so many big moments and episodes that had they taken place in any other season, they'd have been more than worthy of that number 9 spot. This season contains shock after shock, big moment after big moment, development after development and despite a monumental episode 9, this seasons climax is episode 10 and in my opinion it is the best episode so far of the entire programme so far. Game of Thrones Season 4 is some of the best television ever produced.

Like season 2 and 3, this season does deviate from the books more than the season that came before. However if you're a fan of books, unless you're an individual that hates any changes from the books regardless of what film/show it is, the majority of the book deviations work for the better if I'm honest. As a reader who knew what was coming, on a number of occasions I was shocked but pleased at certain changes and events that happened in the show but did not take place in the books. The only things that ever so slightly disappointed me as a fan of the books watching the show, were a couple of the scenes that were left out. The final chapter of A storm of Swords did not take place but in the show but I think that might be due to the availability of a certain actor and will probably take place at some point next season. There was also a conversation in the books that never happens in the show which did quite shock me as this conversation was the main motivation for a character to do what he did in his final scene of the season. Other than those two examples, I thought the changes worked fantastically and if you're a reader of the books that hasn't seen this season yet or any of HBO's Game of Thrones, I would thoroughly recommend that you watch it.

This season of Game of Thrones contains some of the best acting I have ever seen. Peter Dinkladge, I know others have mentioned him and others will undoubtedly do so as well but his performances were some of the best I have ever seen in any television show or film ever. He deserves an Emmy, Grammy, whatever award you want to give him, he deserves it. In episode 6 he has a great speech and it's mind blowing, it's amazing, the emotion and the delivery of it was on another level. Charles Dance, Jack Gleeson, Conleth Hill, John Bradley, Rose Leslie, Maisie Williams, Pedro Pascal were also outstanding, as were the rest of the cast, it's just if I named everyone that performed outstandingly I'd have the to write the entire cast list down. Put simply, Game of Thrones Season 4 is an acting masterclass.

Even though there is not much information on the DVD itself, coming from someone who owns the first 3 seasons DVD, I believe that this set will be it's traditional 5 disc set, nicely packaged, with each disc containing two episodes. There will undoubtedly be hours of interesting special features and the cast members discussing their characters and scenes along with commentaries on every episode from members of the cast and crew.

I would definitely recommend Game of Thrones Season 4 to any Game of Thrones fan, the initial selling price for the DVD will be around the £30 mark, Blu-ray £40. I'd recommend it regardless of the price. This show is as good as Breaking Bad, if not a tiny bit better. If you haven't seen Game of Thrones, I'd say go watch the first season, there is no way anyone can jump into this show and pick up what's going on 4 seasons in. Watch the previous 3 seasons first, they're also amazing. If you've seen the first 3 seasons and haven't seen this one yet because you don't have Sky and didn't want to watch it online I'd recommend this as soon as it's out, which will probably be mid-late March next year, just in time for season 5. If you've seen this season, loved it and are still undecided on whether to buy it or not, I'd say treat yourself. TV doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 4 with Bonus Disc (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive Limited Edition) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Excellent - can't wait for the next set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series. This series has strayed away from the ..., 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series. This series has strayed away from the books more than the rest and as long as Mr George R R Martin does not publish his next few books in the series, the TV show will stray ever more away from the book contents as they will not have the book to go by- only Martins major plot lines that he has shown to the showrunners. That being said, this is an adoption of a book and adoptions cannot be 100% correct. Great plotlines this series and lots of gore- * Crushed Melon *.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 3 Mar. 2015
Game of Thrones Season 4 has been the best so far, well for me anyway, I know a lot of people say it was a bit boring and there was to much talking but I loved it, if you had sex, fights, blood, guts, murder ext ext all the time, it would become tedious and boring, it's like a film the first hour and thirty minutes keeps your attention but the last thirty minutes is the most amazing thing you have ever seen, ie the lull before the storm you just know it's going to kick off big time soon.

I just loved the ending of season 4, for me it's been the best so far, there is apart of me that thinks can this get any better? but I know I am wrong, to be honest this is only the beginning of this epic journey. Bring one season 5,6,7,8,9,10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game Of Thrones (Season 4) excellent, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A carry on from the excellent 3rd season, the quality of this production never fails to amaze me. I have read all the books so far published by this excellent writer and I am waiting for the next book with baited breath (as are many other people). The films follow the books almost to the letter and are fun to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!! Words do not do justice to how good this show is..., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Season 4 of Game Of Thrones is the best season yet (an incredible feat given how high the bar was set with the previous seasons)!
I've found some tv shows tend to stall a bit round about this time, usually because the original plotlines have run their course and there isn't really enough material left to keep the shows credible and engaging. I thought that was the case with Prison Break, Dexter, Heroes.. and a few others.
Not so with Game Of Thrones!
Thanks to author George R.R. Martin, the world of GoT is so detailed, imaginative, the characters so well conceived and plotlines so plentiful and interwoven, that it seems the writers could've happily extended this season beyond the 10 episode mark had they so wished. There are certainly no episodes that could be described as dull. At worst there are one or two subplots in this season concerning some of the lesser known characters that I thought didn't really go anywhere, and a few scenes of dialogue that wouldn't have been missed on a second viewing.
But any MINOR irks with the plot are quickly overshadowed by the stunning sets and effects, incredible action sequences, brilliant performances, introduction of new characters, and some BIG revelations are in store for established ones.
Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister is just mesmerizing to watch, a tour de force of acting. Maisie Williams delivers another captivating performance, as the fiercely loyal and forthright tomboy, Arya Stark. It's hard to single out individual characters for praise, but I'd have to say that my other favourites at the moment are Daenerys Targaryen (now a SERIOUS force to be reckoned with), Ramsey Bolton (a cruel, sadistic psychopath), Bronn (easy going, quick witted and loyal - if the price is right), the mysterious Jaqen H'ghar (who's only been in a handful of episodes so far but is odds on to return in the near future), and Daenery's army of the Unsullied (as a reminder: the concluding scenes of Season 3 episode 4. Enough said)!
Of the non-humans, it has to be the White Walkers. And the Giants (riding mammoths into battle for the Wall in an incredible episode that could easily rival anything on the big screen).
It's all building towards something truly epic!! Easily up there with modern greats such as The Wire and Breaking Bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good series - so enjoyable - don't know if I ..., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a good series - so enjoyable - don't know if I could have watched on TV though, because as soon as one episode is over, I have to watch the next one! The plot devices are not sophisticated and the story lines are fairly predictable, but it's so well done and well acted that it doesn't matter. GoT FTW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews