Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!
Loved this film on sky movies so I knew it was a dvd that belonged in my collection. It's so well told and the actors in this film really do a good job of portraying the different expectations that people want out of a relationship. Joseph was fantastic per usual! A must watch for any romance comedy fan!
Published 6 months ago by rebecca chauhan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better Not
A sex-ed film for single men in their twenties, and that's about it. It's not funny, the scenes where the hero goes to Confession are silly, and why Scarlett Johansson accepted a part in this production is baffling.
After half an hour, I almost gave up. It got marginally better after that.
Published 12 months ago by mr blue


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Jon [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Loved this film on sky movies so I knew it was a dvd that belonged in my collection. It's so well told and the actors in this film really do a good job of portraying the different expectations that people want out of a relationship. Joseph was fantastic per usual! A must watch for any romance comedy fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better Not, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Jon [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A sex-ed film for single men in their twenties, and that's about it. It's not funny, the scenes where the hero goes to Confession are silly, and why Scarlett Johansson accepted a part in this production is baffling.
After half an hour, I almost gave up. It got marginally better after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars traumatic stuff, 26 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Don Jon [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
if i wanted to watch joseph gordon levitt masturbating for ninety minutes i'd break into his house and hide in his cupboard again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Don Jon (DVD)
This sounded funny in the write ups but it really didn't live up to much I like a film to hold my whole attention but found myself constantly checking the clock drifting off thinking about other stuff literally waiting for it to come to it's sorry end the lead role of Don Jon was appalling quite simply acting at it's worse the accent was horrendous and nothing in his mannerisms was believable if felt like he was doing a really bad impression of Mike The Situation Sorrentio the whole way through prober ly best he sticks to producing in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it was just... Disappointing, 21 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Don Jon (Blu-ray)
I couldnt really put this film into a category. Its not funny enough to be a comedy. Doesnt fit a drama category either. It doesnt really knlw what it wants to be.
I like Joseph Gordon - Levitt, but the accent he puts on is just strange, his acting wasnt up to his usual high standards, and his direcrion was just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have never really liked JGL before this but to find that he wrote ..., 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Jon (Blu-ray)
I have never really liked JGL before this but to find that he wrote directed and starred in it gives me a sense that he really does have quite a talent. I don't think I have ever really seen a film like this one before and it didn't even really interest me at first but I gave it a shot. For the first 30 mins I still wasn't sure but then there appears a heart in the film and the character and I guess that is just the point. I didn't know it was supposed to be a comedy and if you are a fan of Seth Rogen or Adam Sandler then you are going to be very disappointed but to me this is better than either of those (especially the awful Sandler!). It's more of a contemporary Woody Allen flick. Quite thought provoking too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SHE'S A DIME, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Don Jon [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Don Jon (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is a bar tender who works out. He beds lots of pretty girls and loves his porn...a lot. He meets Barbara Sugarman (Scarlett Johansson) who is a ten (a dime) and he must have her. She makes him court her first, going to chick flicks. Barbara objects to porn, so Don must hide his addiction. Don also meets and older woman (Julianne Moore) who understands his porn addiction and is not judgmental.

The plot doesn't have any real surprises or twists. My question about the film is what was the message? Relationships are important? Old fashion porn is healthy because it has relationships where modern porn does not? A guy will give up his porn on his own if he really into the relationship? i.e if your man watches porn, you're an inadequate woman or he is messed up. Or a deep Julianne Moore trumps a shallow Scarlett Johansson with a Jersey accent?

The film follows a standard formula, except it includes porn. I never really cared for the characters. The acting was fine, but the film didn't grab me. Perhaps it was because there were simply too many scenes of Don throwing tissues into a waste basket.

Parental Guide: Excessive f-bombs. sex, nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LOOKS GOOD ON THE COVER...OH BOY!, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Don Jon [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Looks great doesn't it. An argument about love and cheap sex with a obsessed self-centered prat. It just fails at pretty much everything it tries to do. Sure the acting is fine,i hated him,so i guess the actor did a good job. But the accents,especially Johansson's,just annoyed me. The love and romance vs cheap sex idea just didn't really go anywhere and it became all about his addiction to porn and not being convinced real sex will ever be as good,can someone teach him different? Big yawn. This just gets sillier and sillier and as much as i appreciate Julianne Moore,i just wasn't buying it. His obsession with porn and treating women like sex toys has you feeling he should have been named Dick. Some might lap this up,but i was left thinking i wish i had watched something else. I felt conned by a film that sounded sexy and cool, with a good point made. But too few laughs,horrible characters,little meaning,you're better off sleeping through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Don Jon (DVD)
JGL I think had a secret fantasy about being a porn star. Why cos this movie is about as close as he could get to it without making one. SJ seemed to thrive in the role of the beautiful but controlling girlfriend.

JGL plays Don Jon the stereotypical hot headed, catholic Italian. He lives a very repetitive life. He watches porn, he hangs with his boys, he sleeps with a lot of women, goes to church with his family and to confess everything. Then repeats this over and over. His porn addiction is so strong that he actually prefer it to the real thing.

A very disappointing but not completely unwatchable. That is the only thing that took it to 2 stars instead of 1 for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please Yourself, 6 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Don Jon [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
There are 2 ways of viewing this film - either as a sharp funny critique of modern life bravely using porn as indicator of how insular it has become or just a tradition rom-com blatantly using one man's love of porn for shock value.
Its strengths are that it seems to be trying to say that the commercialisation and sexualization of society in general, has everyone dissatisfied with normality, expecting instant gratification and perfection. Everyone is one step removed from their immediate life - Jon's father watching the Big Game each week while they eat their one family meal together, his sister messaging friends instead of joining in the conversation or seeing them in person. Mainstream Hollywood romances are portrayed as emotional porn.
On the down side the portrayal of Italian-American Catholics seemed stereotyped. The accents, Scarlett Johannson's constant gum chewing and the men eating dinner in their vests was all laid on a bit thick. Also regular confession for a young man in this day & age because of his porn habit, seemed anachronistic.
I would say it's worth watching to decide for yourself, unless you are easily offended by the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don Jon [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Don Jon [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Blu-ray - 2014)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews