Customer Reviews


598 Reviews
5 star:
 (243)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (96)
2 star:
 (61)
1 star:
 (109)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best space film ever done, proving that out there nobody can hear you scream - VERY literally!
This is an AMAZING film, which I enjoyed greatly! This review includes very LIMITED SPOILERS.

At 90 minutes this space drama is a rather short film - but it packs much more tension, drama, scares and adventures than many two hours and a half action films. Only two actors really appear in it - three other people show themselves extremely briefly and elusively...
Published 5 months ago by Maciej

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insight
A brilliant insight into how a person would react in this situation. While it was very well made I couldn't help keep wishing I'd seen it in 3D instead.
Published 1 day ago by Mr Ian Strachan


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best space film ever done, proving that out there nobody can hear you scream - VERY literally!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an AMAZING film, which I enjoyed greatly! This review includes very LIMITED SPOILERS.

At 90 minutes this space drama is a rather short film - but it packs much more tension, drama, scares and adventures than many two hours and a half action films. Only two actors really appear in it - three other people show themselves extremely briefly and elusively and there are also some voices on the radio and that is all. But those two actors are in fact exactly as much as this film needs and limiting the numbers was an excellent idea!

Almost all action takes place in space and a great effort was made to give this film a feeling of reality - especially the absence of sound in space is strictly respected, with muffled noises being heard only when one of the heroes holds some metal and hits other metal with it (metal, unlike void, conducts sound, even in space). One could think that it will hurt the film - but one would be VERY WRONG! It is actually exactly the contrary!

The rhythm of the film is very fast - an emergency occurs very early in the beginning and then all hell breaks loose and it continues until the incredibly dramatic, grandiose finale, with only brief pauses to catch breath. In the cinema where I saw this film, most people abandoned all attempts to munch after five minutes - me included. And I really like my popcorn...

This is NOT a sci-fi movie! The technology shown in this film really exists and purely in theory such a thing could really happen. Fiction elements were added by keeping the US space shuttle in service (they are all retired now) and by giving it a fictitious name, "Explorer". Real life space shuttles were named respectively "Enterprise" (the prototype, not capable of space flight), "Columbia", "Challenger", "Discovery", "Atlantis" and "Endeavour" - there never was a shuttle named "Explorer", but the name sounds like one a real shuttle could bear. Another fiction element is the presence of the Chinese space station "Tiangong", which is already fully operational, when in real life its construction should start only in 2020. BUT, the technology seen in this film is all there and there is no aliens, there is no mysterious forces, etc. - of course it is an adventure made in Hollywood, but in its nuts and bolts this movie is very realistic.

Both Sandra Bullock and George Clooney are excellent in this film. In fact I believe Ms Bullock deserves at least an Oscar nomination for this role. Clooney's character offers him a little less opportunities to shine, but he does it nevertheless!

I usually do not like 3D AT ALL, but in this film it actually adds a LOT! I advise strongly to go see this film on a big screen AND IN 3D, as long as it still plays in theatres! I will probably buy the Blu-ray version as soon as it is available, because here every pixel counts, but still, on a smaller screen and without a good 3D "Gravity" will lose part of its firepower.

Bottom line, this is an AMAZING, GREAT film which I loved in cinema and I absolutely want to re-watch it again. And again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


187 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov 2013
By 
B. Appleby "snooze" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad in 3D, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I saw this at the cinema in 3D and thought it was enjoyable so bought it as a treat. On a 40" Samsung the 3D effect is not quite the same but is still very good. The Blu-ray quality really shines through though, I have stuck with DVDs due to the extra cost but having seen this one I will be switching to Blu-ray going forward. The UV copy needs to be done through Flixter but it works on a Nexus 7 without issues (and no 3D !). The film itself is good fun, not very believable but who cares
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insight, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity (Amazon Instant Video)
A brilliant insight into how a person would react in this situation. While it was very well made I couldn't help keep wishing I'd seen it in 3D instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was that it?, 15 April 2014
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seeing this in 2D at home left me with a disappointing sense of 'is that it?'

Yes it's beautifully made but has little story and is rather short.

It's probably just me but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone to watch at home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amazing graphics, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity (Amazon Instant Video)
amazing cinematography and a beautiful story of how determination overcomes adversity. However, compared to other oscar nomination not as interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars visual delight, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
visually stunning, acting was good - could have had more of a story line though sandra bullock did a sterling job with making it memorable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth watching in 3D for a better experience, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A chilling and yet rewarding film to watch, I would strongly reccommend 3D is available as it does give that feel of open space that extra dimension to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch for a) Special Effect or b) Sandra Bullock not because the film is great, 4 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Gravity (Amazon Instant Video)
My wife and I found this to be a real yawner. Yes the special effects are great but that only gets you so far. The rest of the movie is pretty much Sandra, Sandra, and more Sandra. Now she is a great actress and all but there are limits to just how much of her one needs in a single movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7dcc60c)

This product

Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews