Customer Reviews


1,142 Reviews
5 star:
 (476)
4 star:
 (181)
3 star:
 (189)
2 star:
 (112)
1 star:
 (184)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with...
Published 9 months ago by Antenna

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars should have been titled momentum and it needs redoing with more story other than those bad ruskies at it again
humm! should have been titled momentum and it needs redoing with more story other than those bad ruskies at it again. not deserving of an Oscar but with Argo making it big I suppose any film with some little interest gets boosted out of its base value.
Published 1 month ago by John H Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars should have been titled momentum and it needs redoing with more story other than those bad ruskies at it again, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
humm! should have been titled momentum and it needs redoing with more story other than those bad ruskies at it again. not deserving of an Oscar but with Argo making it big I suppose any film with some little interest gets boosted out of its base value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it...., 31 Mar 2014
By 
P. F. Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Despite the pre release plaudits for Gravity, I approached this movie without any preconceptions although I must say that I considered cancelling the order following some of the negative reviews on Amazon...I am glad that I didn't.
I found the film quite fascinating. It's not an action or adventure but more of an intense survival roller coaster that had me hooked from start to finish. Yes I will agree that the script appears weak but in the overall concept I believe that is what was intended. The film is short but again, there is only so much you could do with two primary actors and while dialogue was typical Americana, Sandra Bullock played her roll well.
The picture quality in 3D is outstanding as are the CGI effects and the soundtrack is commensurate with the film type.
There are a number of scientific inaccuracies in the film but I didn't buy it for a science lesson. If you want a sci fi action movie then this will not appeal, if you want something a little different, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


213 of 257 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov 2013
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best space film ever done, proving that out there nobody can hear you scream - VERY literally!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an AMAZING film, which I enjoyed greatly! This review includes very LIMITED SPOILERS.

At 90 minutes this space drama is a rather short film - but it packs much more tension, drama, scares and adventures than many two hours and a half action films. Only two actors really appear in it - three other people show themselves extremely briefly and elusively and there are also some voices on the radio and that is all. But those two actors are in fact exactly as much as this film needs and limiting the numbers was an excellent idea!

Almost all action takes place in space and a great effort was made to give this film a feeling of reality - especially the absence of sound in space is strictly respected, with muffled noises being heard only when one of the heroes holds some metal and hits other metal with it (metal, unlike void, conducts sound, even in space). One could think that it will hurt the film - but one would be VERY WRONG! It is actually exactly the contrary!

The rhythm of the film is very fast - an emergency occurs very early in the beginning and then all hell breaks loose and it continues until the incredibly dramatic, grandiose finale, with only brief pauses to catch breath. In the cinema where I saw this film, most people abandoned all attempts to munch after five minutes - me included. And I really like my popcorn...

This is NOT a sci-fi movie! The technology shown in this film really exists and purely in theory such a thing could really happen. Fiction elements were added by keeping the US space shuttle in service (they are all retired now) and by giving it a fictitious name, "Explorer". Real life space shuttles were named respectively "Enterprise" (the prototype, not capable of space flight), "Columbia", "Challenger", "Discovery", "Atlantis" and "Endeavour" - there never was a shuttle named "Explorer", but the name sounds like one a real shuttle could bear. Another fiction element is the presence of the Chinese space station "Tiangong", which is already fully operational, when in real life its construction should start only in 2020. BUT, the technology seen in this film is all there and there is no aliens, there is no mysterious forces, etc. - of course it is an adventure made in Hollywood, but in its nuts and bolts this movie is very realistic.

Both Sandra Bullock and George Clooney are excellent in this film. In fact I believe Ms Bullock deserves at least an Oscar nomination for this role. Clooney's character offers him a little less opportunities to shine, but he does it nevertheless!

I usually do not like 3D AT ALL, but in this film it actually adds a LOT! I advise strongly to go see this film on a big screen AND IN 3D, as long as it still plays in theatres! I will probably buy the Blu-ray version as soon as it is available, because here every pixel counts, but still, on a smaller screen and without a good 3D "Gravity" will lose part of its firepower.

Bottom line, this is an AMAZING, GREAT film which I loved in cinema and I absolutely want to re-watch it again. And again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Sorry, but nope.

This is perhaps the pretties film you will ever see. The CGI and special effects are awesome, and the "wow" factor lasts the whole movie.

But that does not stop this being a terrible script.

Sandra Bullock get trapped in space, as exploding debris destroys her shuttle, space station and rescue pod, until she eventually gets to another station and then home.

And that's it. Her character does not change. She doesn't learn anything. There is no revelation. No plot twist. Nothing.

The best thing about this movie is the wise cracking George Clooney, and he is not in it enough.

A good example of style over substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic film! How this won awards I do not ..., 26 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity (DVD)
Pathetic film! How this won awards I do not know. I always thought that George Clooney was a cliqued bad actor, but this takes the biscuit! Sandra Bullock really did herself no justice in being in this film! It was full of sexism. Sandra Bullock played the disempowered female engineer and Clooney played the empowered male chauvinistic engineer! All had a happy ending and Clooney managed to stay composed throughout with his smart humour!! How very boring and predictable! Felt bored very quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I think that it looks really good but personally I just didn't care about the characters, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity (DVD)
It was OK. I think that it looks really good but personally I just didn't care about the characters. Towards the end I might just have begun to let Sandra Bullock's character grow on me a little. Story-wise there was nothing new. It was a typically disaster survival movie. Perhaps it needed to be seen on a big screen as a spectacle. But on the small screen it only looks OK and I couldn't tell you what was so groundbreaking about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of room for improvement., 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film is missing a story line!
People who like watching astronauts floating around for 99% of the time will no doubt think it's great.
Very disappointing, could have been much better if a little more thought was put into the production of this diabolical film!
Only up sides are the special effects and the acting was good.
That's all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CGI, but where's the story?, 29 Jun 2014
By 
JBV "JBV^_^" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gravity (Blu-ray)
I think the title says it all.

Lots of action, great looking graphics, but less a film as an extended cut-scene from a game. One which lasts 1 and a half hours!

If you want to watch what happens in space when a screw hits a space craft, watch the anime "Planetes" (ASIN: B004QB8TG6) instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Alfonso Cuaron (Blu-ray - 2014)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews