Customer Reviews


1,528 Reviews
5 star:
 (665)
4 star:
 (239)
3 star:
 (242)
2 star:
 (146)
1 star:
 (236)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BULLOCK IN SHORTS
I found the film boring. Sure the view was stunning. Great sets. Great actors. But seriously, what did you expect would happen after disaster struck? One of two things were going to happen: Either they were going to survive or they won't. The film is consumed with us getting to that point. Sandra Bullock in a space suit reading a tech manual trying to figure out what...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Great to show off the quality of your tv but I found this film a bit disappointing after all the hype.
Published 5 days ago by L. Whitesmith


‹ Previous | 1 2153 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BULLOCK IN SHORTS, 3 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I found the film boring. Sure the view was stunning. Great sets. Great actors. But seriously, what did you expect would happen after disaster struck? One of two things were going to happen: Either they were going to survive or they won't. The film is consumed with us getting to that point. Sandra Bullock in a space suit reading a tech manual trying to figure out what button to push. Real? Authentic? Sure, but so was my yawn. It wasn't entertaining.

The visual effects are great on the big screen.

What the film really needed was a big rubber headed alien to save them and probe their privates. Sure, I would have complained about that too, but at least I would have stayed awake.

BTW I loved 2001 because it mentally engaged me. This one did not.

Parental Guide: Bullock lets loose one early F-bomb after a few S***s didn't suffice. 3 1/2 stars for Bullock in shorts...oh where is my copy of "Fire on the Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


240 of 289 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov. 2013
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! When less is more!, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am sure that the grownup movie loving fans here have praised Gravity for what it is already.

Let me just add: Its a bold film! The film needs at least a surround system at home to really unfold, due to the subtle nature of the soundtrack. Seeing this film on a plain flat screen tv, will not allow you to feel the soundtrack as it was intended, and it really carries lot of the sensation of this masterpiece. I was not bored for a second watching this.

The Blu-Ray comes with a lot of extra material about the extremely difficult making of the film. Very impressive stuff. Also a genius short film that spins off on the "conversation" the lead role has with a greenlandic hunter - is a peach.

I am looking forward to enjoy this again. This story could not have been told in any other way, and to me sets a new standard for moviemaking. When less is more is the truth for this film. A lot can be learned here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best space film ever done, proving that out there nobody can hear you scream - VERY literally!, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an AMAZING film, which I enjoyed greatly! This review includes very LIMITED SPOILERS.

At 90 minutes this space drama is a rather short film - but it packs much more tension, drama, scares and adventures than many two hours and a half action films. Only two actors really appear in it - three other people show themselves extremely briefly and elusively and there are also some voices on the radio and that is all. But those two actors are in fact exactly as much as this film needs and limiting the numbers was an excellent idea!

Almost all action takes place in space and a great effort was made to give this film a feeling of reality - especially the absence of sound in space is strictly respected, with muffled noises being heard only when one of the heroes holds some metal and hits other metal with it (metal, unlike void, conducts sound, even in space). One could think that it will hurt the film - but one would be VERY WRONG! It is actually exactly the contrary!

The rhythm of the film is very fast - an emergency occurs very early in the beginning and then all hell breaks loose and it continues until the incredibly dramatic, grandiose finale, with only brief pauses to catch breath. In the cinema where I saw this film, most people abandoned all attempts to munch after five minutes - me included. And I really like my popcorn...

This is NOT a sci-fi movie! The technology shown in this film really exists and purely in theory such a thing could really happen. Fiction elements were added by keeping the US space shuttle in service (they are all retired now) and by giving it a fictitious name, "Explorer". Real life space shuttles were named respectively "Enterprise" (the prototype, not capable of space flight), "Columbia", "Challenger", "Discovery", "Atlantis" and "Endeavour" - there never was a shuttle named "Explorer", but the name sounds like one a real shuttle could bear. Another fiction element is the presence of the Chinese space station "Tiangong", which is already fully operational, when in real life its construction should start only in 2020. BUT, the technology seen in this film is all there and there is no aliens, there is no mysterious forces, etc. - of course it is an adventure made in Hollywood, but in its nuts and bolts this movie is very realistic.

Both Sandra Bullock and George Clooney are excellent in this film. In fact I believe Ms Bullock deserves at least an Oscar nomination for this role. Clooney's character offers him a little less opportunities to shine, but he does it nevertheless!

I usually do not like 3D AT ALL, but in this film it actually adds a LOT! I advise strongly to go see this film on a big screen AND IN 3D, as long as it still plays in theatres! I will probably buy the Blu-ray version as soon as it is available, because here every pixel counts, but still, on a smaller screen and without a good 3D "Gravity" will lose part of its firepower.

Bottom line, this is an AMAZING, GREAT film which I loved in cinema and I absolutely want to re-watch it again. And again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
L. Whitesmith (County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to show off the quality of your tv but I found this film a bit disappointing after all the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gravitate towards it..., 10 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Gravity (DVD)
Stunning space-age Cinematography, with a geeky, Scientifically focused opening that lulls you into a false sense of security, after which mishaps galore & panic keep you gripped, sometimes breathlessly. At a key point that forces you to think "What would I do, how would I feel right now?" a superb Twist re-ignites proceedings, after which it's a fight to the death
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The 3D on this one was not good. Probably because the entire movie is in letterbox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gravity - it needed to be more gripping!, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Special effects were good but storyline was week, I was expecting more action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You won't feel the same way about space travel after this..., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a very original, and tense film, it's only short (about 85 minutes), but, it's got some really
brilliant CGI and a great sense of peril, in it, that makes you feel quite thankful you
didn't become an astronaut.. When you always wanted to be one as a child... Well worth getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2153 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Alfonso Cuaron (Blu-ray - 2014)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews