Customer Reviews


1,724 Reviews
5 star:
 (761)
4 star:
 (270)
3 star:
 (272)
2 star:
 (167)
1 star:
 (254)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 'A STUNNING 'VISUAL' SPECTACLE'
A Film almost five years in the making of.
Special effects perfection an absolute minimum requirement.
(The special features on board essential viewing)
'Explorer' on the final day of it's mission is hit by space debris from a
satellite that has been destroyed to advert the risks involved with
large pieces of debris falling to earth.
The...
Published 13 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good effects but George Clooney and Sandra Bullock
good effects but George Clooney and Sandra Bullock??? no way would they be astronauts. Big hype around this film when it came out and to be honest it wasnt worth it.
Published 5 months ago by Bunny


‹ Previous | 1 2173 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars 'A STUNNING 'VISUAL' SPECTACLE', 4 Mar. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A Film almost five years in the making of.
Special effects perfection an absolute minimum requirement.
(The special features on board essential viewing)
'Explorer' on the final day of it's mission is hit by space debris from a
satellite that has been destroyed to advert the risks involved with
large pieces of debris falling to earth.
The Shuttle has catastrophic damage, other than 'Dr Ryan Stone'
(Sandra Bullock) and 'Matt Kowalski' (George Clooney) all other crew
members have perished.
The two survivors now have to try and reach the 'Space Station' to use
as a go between in the hope of eventually reaching the 'Chinese Station'
to board an escape pod.
'Matt' and 'Ryan' become separated as they reach the first objective.
The tension and problems continue to mount as time after time things
continue to go wrong.
The film is perhaps the most gripping and tense eighty-odd minutes of
drama I've seen for many a day.
An outstanding performance from 'Sandra Bullock'
Superb attention to detail making the film virtual-reality to watch, this a
hi-tech visual-effects spectacle to behold.
A remarkable movie achievement.
(Whether you watch it on 3D-2D or indeed DVD you'll not be disappointed)
There are nearly 3-hours of special features (in 2D) on board.
# Experience the meticulous innovation necessary to create the world of
zero gravity.
# Witness the physical and emotional demands 'Sandra Bullock' endures
on set.
# Journey with 'Alfonso Cuar'on' through four years of filmmaking to forthest
boundries of cinema.
Worthy of the 'Oscars' and 'Bafta's awarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


246 of 298 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov. 2013
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! When less is more!, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am sure that the grownup movie loving fans here have praised Gravity for what it is already.

Let me just add: Its a bold film! The film needs at least a surround system at home to really unfold, due to the subtle nature of the soundtrack. Seeing this film on a plain flat screen tv, will not allow you to feel the soundtrack as it was intended, and it really carries lot of the sensation of this masterpiece. I was not bored for a second watching this.

The Blu-Ray comes with a lot of extra material about the extremely difficult making of the film. Very impressive stuff. Also a genius short film that spins off on the "conversation" the lead role has with a greenlandic hunter - is a peach.

I am looking forward to enjoy this again. This story could not have been told in any other way, and to me sets a new standard for moviemaking. When less is more is the truth for this film. A lot can be learned here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 2 April 2014
By 
Fred P (Leigh-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wow! It needs more than one viewing to follow everything ( I am 76, after all ), and I recommend listening to the sound with headphones to get the full claustrophobic effect. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it...., 31 Mar. 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Despite the pre release plaudits for Gravity, I approached this movie without any preconceptions although I must say that I considered cancelling the order following some of the negative reviews on Amazon...I am glad that I didn't.
I found the film quite fascinating. It's not an action or adventure but more of an intense survival roller coaster that had me hooked from start to finish. Yes I will agree that the script appears weak but in the overall concept I believe that is what was intended. The film is short but again, there is only so much you could do with two primary actors and while dialogue was typical Americana, Sandra Bullock played her roll well.
The picture quality in 3D is outstanding as are the CGI effects and the soundtrack is commensurate with the film type.
There are a number of scientific inaccuracies in the film but I didn't buy it for a science lesson. If you want a sci fi action movie then this will not appeal, if you want something a little different, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, Literally!, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A gripping film with stunning visual effects. Althoughnit was so much better in 3D it is still a breathtaking experience in 2D still. The soundtrack is perfect and the acting is superb. It is a film that anyone can watch and enjoy. The DVD comes with a brilliant short film linked to Gravity which is also very entertaining. Another thing I love about this film is the favt it is all in real time (uncut) which means you really get the feel of the tension and fear the astronauts are going through. A film that will not be forgotten and a DVD that shoukd be owned in every household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good effects but George Clooney and Sandra Bullock, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
good effects but George Clooney and Sandra Bullock??? no way would they be astronauts. Big hype around this film when it came out and to be honest it wasnt worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good effects, good acting, 19 Dec. 2014
By 
J. A. Davies "jason_davies85" (north wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
thats it, just ok. good effects, good acting. forgot i watched the film and nearly watched it again a month later, till i was told. worth a watch but no way 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... been a sci-fi addict for many years and have loved many of the films that have been produced over ..., 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity (DVD) (FSK 12) (DVD)
I have been a sci-fi addict for many years and have loved many of the films that have been produced over the last twenty years but I was disappointed with this film that had been so hyped up. It wasn't a bad premise to base the film on, the acting was good, the effects were totally believable but it was boring! It is difficult for one actor to sustain a complete film, it can be done - Silent Running was one such - and I really like Sandra Bullock as an actor, but for me it just didn't work as well as it should have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2173 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Alfonso Cuaron (Blu-ray - 2014)
£13.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews