Customer Reviews


1,056 Reviews
5 star:
 (428)
4 star:
 (172)
3 star:
 (178)
2 star:
 (105)
1 star:
 (173)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it....
Despite the pre release plaudits for Gravity, I approached this movie without any preconceptions although I must say that I considered cancelling the order following some of the negative reviews on Amazon...I am glad that I didn't.
I found the film quite fascinating. It's not an action or adventure but more of an intense survival roller coaster that had me hooked...
Published 4 months ago by P. F. Cope

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... been a sci-fi addict for many years and have loved many of the films that have been produced over ...
I have been a sci-fi addict for many years and have loved many of the films that have been produced over the last twenty years but I was disappointed with this film that had been so hyped up. It wasn't a bad premise to base the film on, the acting was good, the effects were totally believable but it was boring! It is difficult for one actor to sustain a complete film, it...
Published 17 days ago by Catlady


‹ Previous | 1 2106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it...., 31 Mar 2014
By 
P. F. Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Despite the pre release plaudits for Gravity, I approached this movie without any preconceptions although I must say that I considered cancelling the order following some of the negative reviews on Amazon...I am glad that I didn't.
I found the film quite fascinating. It's not an action or adventure but more of an intense survival roller coaster that had me hooked from start to finish. Yes I will agree that the script appears weak but in the overall concept I believe that is what was intended. The film is short but again, there is only so much you could do with two primary actors and while dialogue was typical Americana, Sandra Bullock played her roll well.
The picture quality in 3D is outstanding as are the CGI effects and the soundtrack is commensurate with the film type.
There are a number of scientific inaccuracies in the film but I didn't buy it for a science lesson. If you want a sci fi action movie then this will not appeal, if you want something a little different, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TENSE MOVIE EXPIERIENCE', 4 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A Film almost five years in the making of.
Special effects perfection an absolute minimum requirement.
(The special features on board essential viewing)
'Explorer' on the final day of it's mission is hit by space debris from a
satellite that has been destroyed to advert the risks involved with
large pieces of debris falling to earth.
The Shuttle has catastrophic damage, other than 'Dr Ryan Stone'
(Sandra Bullock) and 'Matt Kowalski' (George Clooney) all other crew
members have perished.
The two survivors now have to try and reach the 'Space Station' to use
as a go between in the hope of eventually reaching the 'Chinese Station'
to board an escape pod.
'Matt' and 'Ryan' become separated as they reach the first objective.
The tension and problems continue to mount as time after time things
continue to go wrong.
The film is perhaps the most gripping and tense eighty-odd minutes of
drama I've seen for many a day.
An outstanding performance from 'Sandra Bullock'
Superb attention to detail making the film virtual-reality to watch, this a
hi-tech visual-effects spectacle to behold.
A remarkable movie achievement.
(Whether you watch it on 3D-2D or indeed DVD you'll not be disappointed)
There are nearly 3-hours of special features (in 2D) on board.
# Experience the meticulous innovation necessary to create the world of
zero gravity.
# Witness the physical and emotional demands 'Sandra Bullock' endures
on set.
# Journey with 'Alfonso Cuar'on' through four years of filmmaking to forthest
boundries of cinema.
Worthy of the 'Oscars' and 'Bafta's awarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Jun 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gravity is simply stunning. There really aren’t many other ways of describing it. From it’s opening moments to its blistering finale Gravity will hold you captivated by its tense story and beautiful visuals.

The tranquillity of its starting moments is breath taking. Alfonso Cuaron lets his camera swirl and move round his protagonists taking in the stunning views of our home planet. The voices ebbing in and out as we swing past them and off again into the distance. A feeling of weightlessness is palpable and it is with every trick that Cuaron uses that effortlessly pulls the audience in. You can really feel the cold, the silence, the awe of what you are seeing.

Huge kudos must go to Sandra Bullock for carrying the film. Her Ryan Stone is grounded yet feisty and capable. She never feels anything less than real. George Clooney is also brilliant in an understated role and makes a huge impact on this story of survival.

The effects are astounding and only add to the immense emotional rollercoaster ride Gravity takes you on. Battering you with tense moments, then huge thrills and then back to quietly distressing moments really does leave you drained in a positive way by the end.

Gravity is a huge triumph and one of the best sci-fi films since Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... been a sci-fi addict for many years and have loved many of the films that have been produced over ..., 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gravity (DVD) (FSK 12) (DVD)
I have been a sci-fi addict for many years and have loved many of the films that have been produced over the last twenty years but I was disappointed with this film that had been so hyped up. It wasn't a bad premise to base the film on, the acting was good, the effects were totally believable but it was boring! It is difficult for one actor to sustain a complete film, it can be done - Silent Running was one such - and I really like Sandra Bullock as an actor, but for me it just didn't work as well as it should have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I think that it looks really good but personally I just didn't care about the characters, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity (DVD)
It was OK. I think that it looks really good but personally I just didn't care about the characters. Towards the end I might just have begun to let Sandra Bullock's character grow on me a little. Story-wise there was nothing new. It was a typically disaster survival movie. Perhaps it needed to be seen on a big screen as a spectacle. But on the small screen it only looks OK and I couldn't tell you what was so groundbreaking about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best space film ever done, proving that out there nobody can hear you scream - VERY literally!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an AMAZING film, which I enjoyed greatly! This review includes very LIMITED SPOILERS.

At 90 minutes this space drama is a rather short film - but it packs much more tension, drama, scares and adventures than many two hours and a half action films. Only two actors really appear in it - three other people show themselves extremely briefly and elusively and there are also some voices on the radio and that is all. But those two actors are in fact exactly as much as this film needs and limiting the numbers was an excellent idea!

Almost all action takes place in space and a great effort was made to give this film a feeling of reality - especially the absence of sound in space is strictly respected, with muffled noises being heard only when one of the heroes holds some metal and hits other metal with it (metal, unlike void, conducts sound, even in space). One could think that it will hurt the film - but one would be VERY WRONG! It is actually exactly the contrary!

The rhythm of the film is very fast - an emergency occurs very early in the beginning and then all hell breaks loose and it continues until the incredibly dramatic, grandiose finale, with only brief pauses to catch breath. In the cinema where I saw this film, most people abandoned all attempts to munch after five minutes - me included. And I really like my popcorn...

This is NOT a sci-fi movie! The technology shown in this film really exists and purely in theory such a thing could really happen. Fiction elements were added by keeping the US space shuttle in service (they are all retired now) and by giving it a fictitious name, "Explorer". Real life space shuttles were named respectively "Enterprise" (the prototype, not capable of space flight), "Columbia", "Challenger", "Discovery", "Atlantis" and "Endeavour" - there never was a shuttle named "Explorer", but the name sounds like one a real shuttle could bear. Another fiction element is the presence of the Chinese space station "Tiangong", which is already fully operational, when in real life its construction should start only in 2020. BUT, the technology seen in this film is all there and there is no aliens, there is no mysterious forces, etc. - of course it is an adventure made in Hollywood, but in its nuts and bolts this movie is very realistic.

Both Sandra Bullock and George Clooney are excellent in this film. In fact I believe Ms Bullock deserves at least an Oscar nomination for this role. Clooney's character offers him a little less opportunities to shine, but he does it nevertheless!

I usually do not like 3D AT ALL, but in this film it actually adds a LOT! I advise strongly to go see this film on a big screen AND IN 3D, as long as it still plays in theatres! I will probably buy the Blu-ray version as soon as it is available, because here every pixel counts, but still, on a smaller screen and without a good 3D "Gravity" will lose part of its firepower.

Bottom line, this is an AMAZING, GREAT film which I loved in cinema and I absolutely want to re-watch it again. And again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Space junk, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity (Blu-ray)
Yes the effects are amazingly good but have been done before in other sci fi movies. The story is not bad.

The main drawback I feel is that Sandra Bullock just is not very convincing as the lead in this. She is slightly irritating at the start asking 'what do I do?' when all hell is breaking loose, and then a bit bland in the role of an astronaut desperately trying to survive. Getting undressed to her knickers twice seemed a bit cheesy as well, Sigourney Weaver only needed to do it once in Alien.

I also thought George Clooney's character was a bit too flippant with all the wise-cracks which just seemed a bit unrealistic in a life or death situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Gonna Send Them Outer Space, 19 Aug 2014
By 
Science Fiction has often bled into science fact. What was once wondrous becomes mundane; mobile technology, computers we can talk to, back to the future style hover boards (perhaps not the last one). Is ‘Gravity’ science fiction or fact? It paints itself as fact, but should probably be best watched as realistic science fiction. The film starts in space as Dr Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock), Matt Kowalski (George Clooney) and assorted other astronauts are fixing a satellite when things go wrong. The film then follows Stone as she struggles to survive the harsh environment and her own mind.

As a visual feast, ‘Gravity’ is sublime, even without the 3D of the cinema. In high definition the special effects still look amazing and feel rooted in truth. However, it is not the spectacle alone that makes ‘Gravity’ fun to watch. This is a film directed by Alfonso Cuarón, who also made ‘Children of Men’ and ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ (the best of the HP films) – two films that have high concepts, but are grounded in character. It is Bullock’s performance as Stone that makes the film, giving you someone to care about. It would have been very easy to make a film that had no real sense of jeopardy; it is testament to Cuarón’s direction that the film has such heart.

There are one or two issues with the film. The pacing is a little off at times, but that can be forgiven. What does undermine the film somewhat is the final act which moves it from one genre into the other. It did not sit well with me and slightly undermined the majority that had gone before. This is still a great film and one of the better Oscar winners in recent years, worth a watch for any fan of drama or science fiction.

The extras laden BluRay is the option to go for as it not only looks fantastic, but you get an extended documentary about the film that explores how it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


212 of 255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov 2013
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Alfonso Cuaron (Blu-ray - 2014)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews