Customer Reviews


1,765 Reviews
5 star:
 (777)
4 star:
 (278)
3 star:
 (277)
2 star:
 (172)
1 star:
 (261)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 'A VISUAL TREAT' (SANDRA BULLOCK' PUT IN QUITE A SHIFT TO PERFORM MANY TESTING SEQUENCES)
A Film almost five years in the making of.
Special effects perfection an absolute minimum requirement.
(The special features on board essential viewing)
'Explorer' on the final day of it's mission is hit by space debris from a
satellite that has been destroyed to advert the risks involved with
large pieces of debris falling to earth.
The...
Published 14 months ago by rbmusicman

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth of character - poor script
Another case of effects taking over a story that is too thin and lacks depth, due in part to the actors. I think this is a film which benefits from cinema only viewing as anything other than a big screen will lose visual impact and rely too much on dialogue that the script cannot deliver. Judge this space yarn by "Interstellar' and you will realise that this is an...
Published 14 days ago by fallingforstars

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2177 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Super Space Journey, 28 April 2015
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A film that delivers breath-taking cinematography and mesmerizing visual effects, but delivers a very basic story, I was won over more by the spirit of humanity, of survival and of nature itself more than anything. At just over 80mins, it’s s a perfect running time that snowballs one basic idea to a fitting resolution and not dragging on too long as it could have done at the expense of “showing off” what modern film-making can do.

With an opening shot that lasts for 13 minutes, and many more shots throughout that are single takes, this is a film that is all about maintaining a thrilling, realistic feel as much as possible. To be authentic in delivery and execution to make the audience feel like they are taking the journey in space also. Little of the film is actually horizontal and on the level; many sequences have you watching action upside down, on its side or spinning in a brave move that triggers as much motion sickness as it does alienation and isolation in the depths of space.

A huge cast of 2, fronted by Sandra Bullock and George Clooney, are perfectly grounded in their roles. Bullock plays the fearful, anxious and desperate Dr Stone who has a text-book role as a woman trying to prove something to herself and to never give up in the face of tragedy. Clooney has that charming, professional and experienced persona that Lt. Kowalski needs to take control of a situation, maintain calm on all levels for Stone (and us) when facing delirious panic, and generally being a likeable guy. With little but well-scripted screen time together, they are a great pair and both really are convincing in their roles as NASA astronauts, whether they are working on a space station, navigating a shuttle control panel or talking space-lingo.

Supporting vocal roles from Ed Harris and Orto Ignatiussen are just as important as the physical stars in which they represent their humanity back on Earth and a contact with mankind that, be it broken English or staggered through static, is more valuable than anything when you are alone and afraid with nothing and no-one to help you. From claustrophobic POV shots in space helmets and narrow tracking shots through contained space stations, we experience the intensity of working in space as much as we may ever do without going up there.

With lots of disorientating action that favours a thrilling and dangerous soundtrack by Steven Price at the expense of noisy explosions and destruction (maintain reality with no sound being carried in space), this is technically brilliant and the effects are stunning. With Earth the 3rd major star in this film always present, you are lost alongside Clooney and Bullock as they stare down at our mighty planet and see it in all its glory. I could have spent 80mins with them simply talking through muted headsets as they look down at the planet; the visuals are so perfect and relaxing, it was a strange emotion to feel because this makes you appreciate our planet and our humanity more than ever. Or so I found.

Especially towards the finale, which I won’t spoil, we are treated to some beautiful shots from Earth itself looking up at danger and disaster taking place up above, and those few seconds were stunning, coupled with the gentle diegetic sound of nature and a palate of natural colours after spending so much time in the cold, lifeless and bleak depths of space. And the closing seconds were fantastic after such a rollercoaster ride.

Over-hyped? I don't think so, not for the achievement it makes for film-making. So the story may have been done before, but in this setting and with such a brave production to make it exciting and authentic You easily forget the simplicity of it and become engrossed in the beauty and danger staged before you. I mean, set in space in a very real situation, don't expect zooming spaceships, fierce battles or exploding stars - this is science fact, not fiction.

I’m saddened I never saw it on the big screen because there are some truly beautiful shots here that, as I say, made me appreciate our planet and achievements as a species more than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'A VISUAL TREAT' (SANDRA BULLOCK' PUT IN QUITE A SHIFT TO PERFORM MANY TESTING SEQUENCES), 4 Mar. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A Film almost five years in the making of.
Special effects perfection an absolute minimum requirement.
(The special features on board essential viewing)
'Explorer' on the final day of it's mission is hit by space debris from a
satellite that has been destroyed to advert the risks involved with
large pieces of debris falling to earth.
The Shuttle has catastrophic damage, other than 'Dr Ryan Stone'
(Sandra Bullock) and 'Matt Kowalski' (George Clooney) all other crew
members have perished.
The two survivors now have to try and reach the 'Space Station' to use
as a go between in the hope of eventually reaching the 'Chinese Station'
to board an escape pod.
'Matt' and 'Ryan' become separated as they reach the first objective.
The tension and problems continue to mount as time after time things
continue to go wrong.
The film is perhaps the most gripping and tense eighty-odd minutes of
drama I've seen for many a day.
An outstanding performance from 'Sandra Bullock'
Superb attention to detail making the film virtual-reality to watch, this a
hi-tech visual-effects spectacle to behold.
A remarkable movie achievement.
(Whether you watch it on 3D-2D or indeed DVD you'll not be disappointed)
There are nearly 3-hours of special features (in 2D) on board.
# Experience the meticulous innovation necessary to create the world of
zero gravity.
# Witness the physical and emotional demands 'Sandra Bullock' endures
on set.
# Journey with 'Alfonso Cuar'on' through four years of filmmaking to forthest
boundries of cinema.
Worthy of the 'Oscars' and 'Bafta's awarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth of character - poor script, 22 April 2015
By 
fallingforstars (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Another case of effects taking over a story that is too thin and lacks depth, due in part to the actors. I think this is a film which benefits from cinema only viewing as anything other than a big screen will lose visual impact and rely too much on dialogue that the script cannot deliver. Judge this space yarn by "Interstellar' and you will realise that this is an incredibly pale effort in comparison. Different actors could probably have portrayed a greater and necessary feeling of jeopardy but as it stands this one you can miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


247 of 299 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov. 2013
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre film made somewhat better by the 3D, 1 May 2015
By 
Richard Hawkes (Orpington, Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Yeah, it's OK. I think this is more of a technology showcase than a decent movie. The 3D is good and all that, but the underlying plot is a bit weak, meaning it gets a bit tiring after a while. What's possibly not obvious (because directors make half the science up as they go along these days) is that the science, physics etc in this movie are deliberately kept accurate. It keeps things interesting as you imagine yourself on board.

But I wouldn't go out of my way to watch this. Wait until a mate offers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing!, 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The struggle of a person to learn the art of letting go and the will survive in a very hostile place is just pure feat of human greatness.
I don't have to convince the people who cannot see that way. Go watch Transformers and shut the hell up.

By the way, the picture quality is almost perfect but I noticed that clips in special features are more sharper, richer in colour, deeper blacks and simply looks better than the picture quality of the feature film. Why is that Warner?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over Rated, 10 April 2015
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It wasn't hard to defy Gravity....watchable but mediocre. A sort of distraction without deserving full attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 2 April 2014
By 
Fred P (Leigh-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wow! It needs more than one viewing to follow everything ( I am 76, after all ), and I recommend listening to the sound with headphones to get the full claustrophobic effect. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! When less is more!, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am sure that the grownup movie loving fans here have praised Gravity for what it is already.

Let me just add: Its a bold film! The film needs at least a surround system at home to really unfold, due to the subtle nature of the soundtrack. Seeing this film on a plain flat screen tv, will not allow you to feel the soundtrack as it was intended, and it really carries lot of the sensation of this masterpiece. I was not bored for a second watching this.

The Blu-Ray comes with a lot of extra material about the extremely difficult making of the film. Very impressive stuff. Also a genius short film that spins off on the "conversation" the lead role has with a greenlandic hunter - is a peach.

I am looking forward to enjoy this again. This story could not have been told in any other way, and to me sets a new standard for moviemaking. When less is more is the truth for this film. A lot can be learned here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2177 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Gravity [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Alfonso Cuaron (Blu-ray - 2014)
£13.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Avatar with Limited Edition Lenticular Artwork (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD) [2012] [Region Free]
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2,014)   
Buy new£13.30
In stock

Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013]
Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] by Matt Damon (Blu-ray - 2013)
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (534)   
Buy new£6.40
In stock

Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1,266)   
Buy new£7.00
In stock