Customer Reviews


971 Reviews
5 star:
 (387)
4 star:
 (155)
3 star:
 (168)
2 star:
 (95)
1 star:
 (166)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it....
Despite the pre release plaudits for Gravity, I approached this movie without any preconceptions although I must say that I considered cancelling the order following some of the negative reviews on Amazon...I am glad that I didn't.
I found the film quite fascinating. It's not an action or adventure but more of an intense survival roller coaster that had me hooked...
Published 3 months ago by P. F. Cope

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How did this win any awards!???
A film that felt like it was originally scripted for a 30 minute gimmicky 3d effect attraction at Universal. Someone has then decided to keep adding more and more disasters to stretch the script to construct a film that was still a gimmick for the 3d special effect supervisors!
If you want to see a film that has good acting and a proper storyline set in space watch...
Published 2 days ago by Stuart Bott


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it...., 31 Mar 2014
By 
P. F. Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite the pre release plaudits for Gravity, I approached this movie without any preconceptions although I must say that I considered cancelling the order following some of the negative reviews on Amazon...I am glad that I didn't.
I found the film quite fascinating. It's not an action or adventure but more of an intense survival roller coaster that had me hooked from start to finish. Yes I will agree that the script appears weak but in the overall concept I believe that is what was intended. The film is short but again, there is only so much you could do with two primary actors and while dialogue was typical Americana, Sandra Bullock played her roll well.
The picture quality in 3D is outstanding as are the CGI effects and the soundtrack is commensurate with the film type.
There are a number of scientific inaccuracies in the film but I didn't buy it for a science lesson. If you want a sci fi action movie then this will not appeal, if you want something a little different, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How did this win any awards!???, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity (Blu-ray)
A film that felt like it was originally scripted for a 30 minute gimmicky 3d effect attraction at Universal. Someone has then decided to keep adding more and more disasters to stretch the script to construct a film that was still a gimmick for the 3d special effect supervisors!
If you want to see a film that has good acting and a proper storyline set in space watch Apollo 13.
Gravity is both tedious and a struggle to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes good performances from people particularly Sandra bullock, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't help thinking this film was over hyped a bit. Yes good performances from people particularly Sandra bullock. Yes draw dropping special effects so nicely done they look completely real. But the film does drag out longer than it should and tbh not that much really happens. Film was delivered within dates specified and was nicely packed as always. But a bit of a blah film if you know what I mean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok as a one watch thrill ride, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A couple of good tense action scenes and a great soundtrack but that's it,the rest of the time there is lots of spinning around and way too many lucky Escapes,Sandra Bullock puts in a ok performance but gets on your nerves being in a constant state of panic and in one weird and wacky scene barks like a dog!,George Clooney does the all American astronaut in his usual smug way but never stops singing and talking and what happens to his character is silly and has no impact,maybe you are just meant to see it in 3D on a Imax screen and get sucked into believing you are up there in space along side them but on a 37inch tv like mine it is all rather head spinning,repetitive and silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on for dear life, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This technically brilliant film contains beautiful shots of the earth viewed from space, there are some tense moments as the two space workers (Clooney and Bullock) struggle to survive when they find themselves stranded after a disaster not of their making and it is intriguing to watch them floating about surrounded by a motley collection of objects and dealing with weightlessness in a matter of fact way, at least until calamity strikes. As with most adventure films, the desire to create ever more exciting situations sends plausibility spinning into the outer galaxies and it is probably an advantage to be ignorant of some of the basic laws of physics. At the end, despite the ludicrous twists, the film succeeds in leaving you with a sobering sense of mortality combined with the strengh of the will to survive.

"Gravity" is definitely greatly enhanced if seen on a large screen in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


211 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk about the worst first mission ever, 12 Nov 2013
Went to see this movie the other night on impulse and without knowing anything at all. Not a huge fan of either of the leads but for some reason i just had this idea in my head that it would be worth it. I had no idea what i was in for but i treated myself to an IMAX ticket. I sat down and got comfly with some popcorn...

The start sequence is so amazing and probably one of the only place for you go grab a breath before all hell breaks loose, literally. By the time the movie was over i had not even touched my pop corn and had almost torn the arm of the chair from the tension. My heart was racing but i was smiling my head off and wanted to watch it all over again. I could have watched another 5 hours of this movie yet it was perfect the length it is.

I am simply dazzled and amazed by the work that went in by everyone involved in making this, there were no short cuts or cheap shots. the acting is beyond the call of duty and must have been such a mind job. Bullock is outstanding and deserves a massive reward for her performance. Clooney just stole my heart from the beginning and fit into his role nice and snug.

Seriously, do yourself a favour and treat yourself to watching this superb movie with a huge screen and roaring sound that shakes the ground. I am most certainly going to see this again. Then im getting the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best space film ever done, proving that out there nobody can hear you scream - VERY literally!, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an AMAZING film, which I enjoyed greatly! This review includes very LIMITED SPOILERS.

At 90 minutes this space drama is a rather short film - but it packs much more tension, drama, scares and adventures than many two hours and a half action films. Only two actors really appear in it - three other people show themselves extremely briefly and elusively and there are also some voices on the radio and that is all. But those two actors are in fact exactly as much as this film needs and limiting the numbers was an excellent idea!

Almost all action takes place in space and a great effort was made to give this film a feeling of reality - especially the absence of sound in space is strictly respected, with muffled noises being heard only when one of the heroes holds some metal and hits other metal with it (metal, unlike void, conducts sound, even in space). One could think that it will hurt the film - but one would be VERY WRONG! It is actually exactly the contrary!

The rhythm of the film is very fast - an emergency occurs very early in the beginning and then all hell breaks loose and it continues until the incredibly dramatic, grandiose finale, with only brief pauses to catch breath. In the cinema where I saw this film, most people abandoned all attempts to munch after five minutes - me included. And I really like my popcorn...

This is NOT a sci-fi movie! The technology shown in this film really exists and purely in theory such a thing could really happen. Fiction elements were added by keeping the US space shuttle in service (they are all retired now) and by giving it a fictitious name, "Explorer". Real life space shuttles were named respectively "Enterprise" (the prototype, not capable of space flight), "Columbia", "Challenger", "Discovery", "Atlantis" and "Endeavour" - there never was a shuttle named "Explorer", but the name sounds like one a real shuttle could bear. Another fiction element is the presence of the Chinese space station "Tiangong", which is already fully operational, when in real life its construction should start only in 2020. BUT, the technology seen in this film is all there and there is no aliens, there is no mysterious forces, etc. - of course it is an adventure made in Hollywood, but in its nuts and bolts this movie is very realistic.

Both Sandra Bullock and George Clooney are excellent in this film. In fact I believe Ms Bullock deserves at least an Oscar nomination for this role. Clooney's character offers him a little less opportunities to shine, but he does it nevertheless!

I usually do not like 3D AT ALL, but in this film it actually adds a LOT! I advise strongly to go see this film on a big screen AND IN 3D, as long as it still plays in theatres! I will probably buy the Blu-ray version as soon as it is available, because here every pixel counts, but still, on a smaller screen and without a good 3D "Gravity" will lose part of its firepower.

Bottom line, this is an AMAZING, GREAT film which I loved in cinema and I absolutely want to re-watch it again. And again. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like Sandra Bullock but not sure what all the hype ..., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravity [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I like Sandra Bullock but not sure what all the hype was about this, I guess it was the effects as not much else to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TENSE MOVIE EXPIERIENCE', 4 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Film almost five years in the making of.
Special effects perfection an absolute minimum requirement.
(The special features on board essential viewing)
'Explorer' on the final day of it's mission is hit by space debris from a
satellite that has been destroyed to advert the risks involved with
large pieces of debris falling to earth.
The Shuttle has catastrophic damage, other than 'Dr Ryan Stone'
(Sandra Bullock) and 'Matt Kowalski' (George Clooney) all other crew
members have perished.
The two survivors now have to try and reach the 'Space Station' to use
as a go between in the hope of eventually reaching the 'Chinese Station'
to board an escape pod.
'Matt' and 'Ryan' become separated as they reach the first objective.
The tension and problems continue to mount as time after time things
continue to go wrong.
The film is perhaps the most gripping and tense eighty-odd minutes of
drama I've seen for many a day.
An outstanding performance from 'Sandra Bullock'
Superb attention to detail making the film virtual-reality to watch, this a
hi-tech visual-effects spectacle to behold.
A remarkable movie achievement.
(Whether you watch it on 3D-2D or indeed DVD you'll not be disappointed)
There are nearly 3-hours of special features (in 2D) on board.
# Experience the meticulous innovation necessary to create the world of
zero gravity.
# Witness the physical and emotional demands 'Sandra Bullock' endures
on set.
# Journey with 'Alfonso Cuar'on' through four years of filmmaking to forthest
boundries of cinema.
Worthy of the 'Oscars' and 'Bafta's awarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would have enjoyed watching the taps on the kitchen sink more, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Gravity (Blu-ray)
Total rubbish! Why did I bother? I would have enjoyed watching the taps on the kitchen sink more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravity [DVD] [2013]
Gravity [DVD] [2013] by Alfonso Cuaron (DVD - 2014)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews