Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars1,090
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2014
I thought this would be another boring sci-fi action film. You know the sort; humourless, monotonous clones of all the other boring sci-fi films that have gone before. Well it wasn't. The action gets going right away and we are shown the monster from the very beginning. Not only is the film a sci-fi action film, it also manages to weave in some convincing humour and comic relief. It is a big Hollywood film but somehow it feels different, the pace of the film stops you getting bored; it isn't constantly pushing forward. I was getting so bored of watching sci-fi without imagination and this film has been a refreshing watch.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The teenage boy within me would probably give this five stars for my love of monsters, robots and general big-scope city destruction, all of which is here by the bucketful and executed pretty well - this film is often visually stunning and looks great on the big screen with the volume ramped up, but it obviously has its flaws if you want to enjoy it as anything more than a turn-your-brain-off bonanza of big, bright punchy action sequences which are dominated by mammoth monsters from another dimension rising from the sea and battling giant human-controlled super robots trying to defend the major cities of earth. As an action packed Sci-Fi tinged monster fest, the film is great.

And while it wouldn't win any awards for the acting, screenplay, or the script, the film does its best to develop some of the main characters and their relationships but this is all served with lots of cheesy lines, typical cliches, average quality big-budget acting, plot-holes, and questionable decisions by the characters at all levels, so unless you're able to turn off from all that and just enjoy it for what it is then you should probably give it a miss. Otherwise, sit back and enjoy the mayhem! Some of the big battle sequences (and especially the finale) look amazing and give it a good re-watch factor.

This film is fun to watch and does what it's suppose to but I'm only giving 3.5 / 4 stars as even though I didn't expect wonders, I did expect a little more depth and development from Guillermo Del Toro, but there's no questioning that it's a good looking film with a decent pace and enough action and story to keep kids (and big kids) entertained through to the end.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
I wasn't sure what to expect with this, since films of this kind can be totally rubbish...but actually it was surprisingly good! The concept of the film was brilliant, characterization was well thought out so you really felt what the characters did and I have to admit, there were many really intense scenes that were totally insane. Good nail-biting action and fantastic visuals make for a superb film. I really enjoyed this and loved the fact that this was a clean film (with the exception of one use of the B word) and definitely family friendly. I would most certainly watch this again!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Great movie. Good actors, likeable characters, cool special effects, good story as well. For those who remember shows like Ultraman, this would be the update with better special effects, and more grown up fighting. Or even the Guyver live action movies on a much bigger scale.

We are not alone in the universe, but instead of attacking from the sky the aliens are using a portal to attack us from another dimension. Sending giant Godzilla type beasts. The army manages to Handel the first few, but as the beasts attacks become more frequent, a new measure is put into place. Giant robots. The problem is linking a human brain to the robot is too much for our neural system, so two humans are linked together and work in unison to share the load. Simulating the two hemispheres of the brain.

The other problem is mass producing giant robots is expansive and taxing all if the worlds resources. The program is put on hold. Now years later nothing else has worked but the attacks are getting more frequent. Now there is a last effort to the war once and for all using all the remaining Robots and pilots.

I really enjoyed the movie, it is pretty hard to go wrong with Giant Robot for me, but I was surprised my wife enjoyed it more that I did, despite her hatred for SciFi and aliens. She claims she liked the whole idea the effects and it was a bit different. That probably deserves a sixth star simple for the fact that she watched the thing loved it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
VIDEO 3D:

Pacific Rim (3D) arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. Athough it was derived from post-conversion, director Guillermo del Toro took complete control of the conversion process, which took 40 weeks. The regular conversion time is usually 8-12 weeks. This meticulous work results in a completely thrilling experience. Depth and dimensionality is terrific, from devastated cities that spill into the distance to the Kaiju and Jaeger warriors, which loom larger than life. Blades extend outward, claws slash the screen, sparks and alien blood fly, storms swirl, buildings crumble and apocalyptic battles ensue, all in eye-popping 3D. The film's design carries strong characteristics for defining the grand perspective of the Kaijus and Jaegers. One aspect from which the 3D is better than the 2D is in the way that the image's depth offers even more emphasis on the grandeur. The subtle effects of slowly falling ash, as well as the not-so-subtle effect of constantly raining environments, show the strength of the film's 3D quality. My favourite of the 3D enhancers is within the Shatterdome setting. If you focus on the wet flooring, you'll see that even the reflections in the water are perfectly three dimensional. The picture is usually dimmer and less bright in 3D than 2D, but not in this case. The brightness in this 3D version is heightened, so that one can distinguish details in dark scenes. (5/5)

VIDEO 2D:

Pacific Rim (2D) arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. This 2D transfer is equally stunning and simply pristine in quality. Colours erupt on screen and pierce the night skies and shadows in dazzling displays of primary-gushing brilliance. Skintones are warm and lifelike. Blacks are inky and deep. There are tremendous details especially on close-ups. Image is sharp. Athough the 2D video is very satisfying, I personally prefer the 3D version, which allows you to see the great visual effects and sets as they're meant to be seen. This film carries a great level of production value and the video quality really shows it. (5/5)

AUDIO (3D & 2D):

Pacific Rim comes with either DTS-HD 7.1 or 5.1 Master Audio. Being a big loud blockbuster, this full and constantly dynamic mix is powerful. Talk about perfectly organized chaos! During the fight sequences, the metallic fists crashing into rain-soaked Kaiju skin literally packs a punch. As Jaeger's are dented, destroyed and torn apart, soaring debris can be heard passing through the theatre space. The bass is very deep. Better still, dialogue is ever at the forefront of the chaos; always grounded, always intelligible. Prioritization is flawless, making for both a terrific 7.1 and 5.1 experience. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Pacific Rim has an estimated budget of $190 million, but thanks to great box office outside the United States, its worldwide gross was $470 million.

Did you know that a life-sized version of the robot cockpit was built on a soundstage at Pinewood Studios in our Toronto?

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Both the video and audio are demo-worthy, especially the first 17 minutes of the film. The story is solid fun and it is told through fantastic set pieces and top-notch CG effects. To our advantage, the perfect video and audio qualities show off the big-budget production value. The 3D video does a fantastic job showing off the grand scale and perspective of the battling monsters and robots. And the loud and immersive audio places you in the center of the action. My only personal gripe is that if the video is 2.35:1, the final result will be even more grand on my 12 foot wide screen. This set is definitely highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
How many movies have we seen in which the 'Golden Gate Bridge' is
destroyed ? ....well, I haven't got an answer, however seems to me
it occurs during just about every disaster movie....and yes, if but
briefly 'Pacific Rim' joins that ''elite'' club.
The Film....Over-sized alien beings 'The Kaijus' begin to arrive on
earth arriving through a porthole below the waves of the 'Pacific'
Five major cities are destroyed before the military are able to combat
the new enemy.
The invasion continues, man has to come up with a monster of their own
....Giant Robots called 'Jaegers' controlled to do battle by two pilots
on board.
However, it seems this may not be enough to stop the 'Kaijus' coming,
the 'Jaegers' program seems too be failing, the world is on the verge
of defeat.
A former pilot is teamed up with an unlikely co-pilot to operate an
outdated 'Jaeger' to do battle.
This may well be man's last stand ahead of an ''almost'' certain alien
victory bringing about the end of human existence.
The visual effects which are indeed impressive make the movie well worth
watching,
The 2D and 3D imagery will almost certainly keep the film alive for viewing
pleasure.
Great picture and sound quality throughout.
A 3-Disc set which includes the usual commentary.........'Disk three' is all
about 'Special Features' with hours of content which includes,,,featurettes
providing in-depth looks at 'Kaijus' ....along with a look at 'Sets' 'Stunts'
'Sounds' 'Effects' and the Mythology of making the film....and so much more.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I rented this in 3D for little other reason than wanting to explore the special effects. What I got was a blockbuster of a movie, non-stop action and thrills with amazing special effects, really brought to life in 3D. The story is pure sci-fi but the cast, acting and edge-of-the-seat pace make it a 'join in' movie. You can't help but want to cheer on the underdogs, worry that this is one movie that won't end in success for the all-American (British actor) heroes. One of the best sci-fi movies I have seen in years.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Giant robots punching out giant aliens... who could ask for more. Undemanding plot and dialogue don't spoil the action sequences which make this really worth watching. The two research scientist guys are unbelievably hilarious. All in all a great action movie that won't tax the old grey matter. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
I envy the kids of today, I really do. Growing up in the 90s, Jurassic Park was all we had, while kids today are spoiled with big budget superhero movies, Transformers, Godzilla, Battleship and now Pacific Rim.

Guillermo del Toro decided to give the Hobbit franchise back to the hands of Middle Earth's most successful cinema visionary, Peter Jackson, and went to direct this film instead. I think both ventures profited as a result. Pacific Rim takes the juvenile awe of humans piloting a gigantic mech robot striding the countryside with a fitting theme music to a whole new level. Now it's not just medium sized robots blasting each other to bits along highways and transforming into cars every now and then - now it is HUGE robots the size of skyscrapers protecting the Pacific coastline from even bigger monsters spawned from an inter-dimensional portal on the ocean floor. Can you say EPIC or what?

Most of the film takes place during night and rain, which of course is perfect, because the initial daylight shot of one of the monsters attacking the Golden Gate Bridge looked poorly rendered, for some reason (especially its skin). While Transformers has robots doing somersaults and transformation gymnastics all over the screen, barely allowing you (even on blu ray) to admire any details, the protagonists and antagonists in Pacific Rim are far more oldskool: slow, satisfyingly heavy strides, and a good old battering with the use of missiles only as a finisher.

Unexpected in a movie of this genre, a lot of time is devoted to making the characters more human and in-depth. Our protagonist, Raleigh, has lost his brother Yancy during an engagement and is struggling to get over it. Mako is troubled by her past, while Pentecost is very secretive about his. There's the Australian father-son duo who are rough and intimidating at first glance but you will be shedding a tear even during a scene involving the "bad guy". And then you have the scientist duo Gottlieb and Geiszler . One, cold, cynical and impatient, the other, quirky, eccentric and slightly deranged. All of these characters progress through the film. Which is also in my opinion something the film didnt really need. We wanted more giant robots fighting monsters!

Still, the film stirs the excitement and hype we've always had for giant robots and big monsters, even in adults. Seldom has a film's action sequences managed to engage me so much; I was gripping the edge of my seat and wincing with every blow our heroes took and grinned with satisfaction whenever the monsters took a good whooping. This film is good, watch it, love it; definitely a better showdown between humans and aliens compared to the rather disappointing Battleship, and definitely a more exciting monster film compared to the tedious Godzilla that had us waiting 2 hours for the final confrontation. Pacific Rim gets 5 out of 5 stars and I am hoping for an equally engaging sequel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 November 2013
Set in the not too distant future, colossal monsters, Kaiju, begin to rise out of an interdimensional portal from beneath the floor of the Pacific Ocean, bent on destroying humanity. In response, humanity pools it's resources & creates giant robots called Jaeger's, maned by 2 pilots that control either side of the machine as they're minds join, which is otherwise too much for one persons brain to withstand alone. Just as these robotic beasts stem the tide, more, larger & spohisticated Kaiju rise, and as humanity hinged all it's hopes & resources on a giant wall to protect them, is smashed to pieces. Only a handful of Jaeger's remain, maintained by a resistance group, and it falls upon them as the last line of defence to save humanity.

With Pacific Rim , director & writer Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy) along with Travis Beacham (Clash Of The Titans) have reached back into the 1950's for they're inspiration, with the science fiction & monster horror movies such as Godzilla. Using this as the basis for Pacific Rim, they have created they're own interpretation on these classic movies & the giant stars, by combining colossal monsters based on sea creatures against giant human shaped robots, with a unique & original idea, combined with one thought in mind, visually impressive & massive scale set pieces for a new generation to enjoy & get excited about.

Without doubt they achieved what they set out to do. Bringing in many talents of various top movies with specialized visual effect's personal from the likes of Iron Man, Independence Day & Star Wars. They have each base covered for the specific visual effects, and it shows. The armor suits & robots are the best iv'e seen to date. The combat visual effects of the monsters V's robots make for intense battles, as the scale of them against the backdrop of streets, cars & buildings really hits home the colossal stature of the event. It really feels like a modern update to the Godzilla legend.

The sometimes cheesy story & mixture of new acting talents has a little less shine to it compared to the visuals. But by no means does it do a bad job to back things up, there is plenty in it's story to follow the characters that have been touched by the events in they're own personal way. Charlie Hunnam (Sons of Anarchy) as Raleigh Becket & Rinko Kikuchi (The Sky Crawlers) as Mako Mori are quite the gamble to place in the lead roles, but they're on screen relationship clicks well. Idris Elba (Luther) is commanding as usual with his booming voice & screen presence as Marshall, Stacker Pentecost. Scientists Charlie Day (Horrible Bosses) as Newton & Burn Gorman (Torchwood) as Herman, add that release of humor from the series side of matters. And i'm pleased they didn't go that usual, British guy is wrong, American guy is right, route. They pleasantly surprised me there. Co-stars Ron Perlman (Hellboy) , Clifton Collins Jr. (Tigerland) & Max Martini (Saving Private Ryan) were great support. Robert Kazinsky (Eastenders [Sean]) as the bad apple who dislikes Raleigh, was a little hit & miss, but came better in the finish.

In conclusion, if you just can't wait for the 2014 summer blockbuster, Godzilla, then Pacific Rim will definitely tickle your fancy with it's huge, visual effects extravaganza with a futuristic twist on the Godzilla material. A perfect Christmas stocking filler & guilty pleasure to be sure. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.