Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best F1 yet
This came is better than F1 2012. I found the cars a bit difficult to control in F1 2012 but F1 2013 is a good step forward and makes the game more enjoyable. The AI also seems better in this game so the whole basics of knowing the track and practicing to find where the grip lies does very much count to any decent result.
Published 17 months ago by Gatehouse

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I used to be pretty good at the older F1 games for PC years ...
I used to be pretty good at the older F1 games for PC years ago, but even using an expensive wheel and pedals setup this is ust too hard for beginners to win at. At the rate I’m going it’ll take me years. There should be more amateur levels to slowly build up the difficulty as even the entry level is almost impossible to win at unless you’re a very...
Published 7 months ago by Dr. Jon Brody


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best F1 yet, 25 Oct. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
This came is better than F1 2012. I found the cars a bit difficult to control in F1 2012 but F1 2013 is a good step forward and makes the game more enjoyable. The AI also seems better in this game so the whole basics of knowing the track and practicing to find where the grip lies does very much count to any decent result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution Over Revolution Puts F1 2013 On The Top Step, 5 Oct. 2013
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
Being a huge F1 fan, I look forward to the new release of the Formula One game every year. Often I'm left a little bit disappointed by the annual release, however, this year was a different story.

Like last year's game, you start at the young driver test at the Yas Marina Circuit. Having played 2012, I had the option to skip the first day, but choose to play it anyway. While the majority of the challenges are the same as last years, there a few variations, especially now tyre wear challenges. A nice update to this mode is that it shows you your progress, effectively the list of teams unlocked for career mode at the start of the game, this time ranging from Marussia to Lotus.

Going straight into the career mode I choose Marussia. Instantly there's a familiar feel to the career menu, however going to the options there is now an additional difficulty setting. Expert has been added between Professional and the hardest difficulty Legend. On evidence of playing so far, Legend seems to have improved the AI by about a second.

Heading into practice the first thing which blew me away was how much of a step Codemasters have made with the graphics. The cars are a lot more detailed this year and the surrounding environment has really improved. It really is a good looking game.

Hardcore fans will be disappointed to know that there is still only one practice session rather than the three in really life.

In terms of driving, the cars are much easier to control than its predecessor. In F1 2012, losing the rear of the car on the exit of a corner meant a one way trip to the barrier, however 2013 is far more responsive in correcting over steer. Tyres are also far more prone to wearing out quickly, and changing the setup to be more conservative on the tyres seems a must.

Qualifying is a definite improvement. Firstly the times are far more competitive, having been use to finishing a second clear of the Marussia-Caterham battle in previous games, I ended up half a tenth behind my teammate Bianchi. Secondly the other drivers are far better at getting out of the way, rather than coasting on the racing line. A downside is that all the drivers still go out on track through-out the sessions, rather than in real-life where the drivers at the top of the timesheets will save tyres in the garage.

Heading into the race, the starts seem far more realistic. I only gained one position, rather the ten or so positions I'm use to in previous editions. The AI also seems far more aggressive; however there is still a tendency for the other drivers to back out of a move where'd I prefer them to dive down the inside. The penalty system has also been updated, seeming less harsh on corner cutting, and the collision penalties have been spilt between minor and major, the former resulting in a warning and the later in a penalty.

Worryingly while the AI seems more aggressive, at least five of the drivers lost their front wing in the early laps but it seemed to calm down later on. I haven't experienced these problems to that extent since though.

Pit-stops now have really cool camera angles when you make your stop, similar to what you see on TV

Another great feature is a mid-game save, allowing gamers to easily race 100% distance this year.

Of course classic content was a big feature to be introduced this year, and it lives up to expectations. Codemasters deserve massive credit for getting the licenses and hopefully will lay the foundations to expand from the collection of Ferraris, Williams and Lotus' in the current game. The cars feel dramatically different between eras. The 1980s cars feel vulnerable, have very little grip and sound fantastic. Driving Emerson Fittipaldi's Lotus 98T felt perfect, with the car dancing around on the track, it felt like I was driving in a way Senna use to in the Lotus a few years later (probably just in my head though!). The HUD is also updated in classic mode to look like it did in the 1980s and 1990s with a sepia filter in place for additional effect. The 1990s is almost the complete opposite to the 80s. You can fling the car into the corners and it will stick, and everything feels so quick through the corners. Driving the `92 and `96 Williams is a highlight of the game.
*The 90s content either comes in the classic edition or as DLC from the Playstation store, but is well worth it.

In addition to these modes, Season Challenge is back and identical to last time. Champion's mode has been replaced by a new scenario mode, where you have to complete challenges like finishing ahead of your teammate etc.

Online has the same layout as before, but hopefully the new penalty system will solve some of the issues from last time.

It must also be said the loading screens now look amazing with high definition pictures of real life formula 1 action.

Overall F1 2013 is a really great game, with the problems from F1 2012 having been mended. The game feels like it is on the limit on the current generation, and the future looks bright for Formula 1 on the next generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the 80's, 26 Jan. 2014
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of f1,and when I read that it would include 80's classics,i was sold.Driving around a sepia toned Brands hatch in an 1200BHP Lotus made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.In my opinion the cars sounded so much better back then.The added feeling of danger these cars give you is a real thrill.Modern F1 seems so sterile in comparison,and dare I say it seems to be too safe now.You can't beat flying round Brands Hatch in a bona fida death trap!!.I LOVE THIS GAME!!!,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I used to be pretty good at the older F1 games for PC years ..., 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Dr. Jon Brody (SE UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
I used to be pretty good at the older F1 games for PC years ago, but even using an expensive wheel and pedals setup this is ust too hard for beginners to win at. At the rate I’m going it’ll take me years. There should be more amateur levels to slowly build up the difficulty as even the entry level is almost impossible to win at unless you’re a very experienced gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great once you get into it..., 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Cheekysheep - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
The detail is great, the different games are great, the driving school is great too... I find it just a little to involved learning all the different bits of stuff, I guess thats the whole idea and I'll get in to it Im sure but for plug and play with heaps of fun you cant beat Nascar...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing purchase, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
This was a Christmas present for my husband.
He hasn't stopped playing it so I can only assume that it's really good.
I've stopped to watch a bit of it and looks real, graphics and sounds.
He hasn't complained to I got green points for that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game suitable for all the family. challenging for the grown ups but easy enough for kids to have a little turn.hubby has played for hours. Really good buy, fast arrival
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
it was sent quite quickly than expected game is good but i would only recommend the game to someone who likes that sorta thing as after a while the game looses its charm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
A great game but you can struggle to reach your goals if you don't have a steering wheel, such is the level of play. Love the Classic F1 cars & old school tracks mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great buy to enjoy your spare time..., 13 Nov. 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2013 (PS3) (Video Game)
The Formula One franchise seems to get better each year, with this one no exception. I'll keep the review short because no one wants to read through a dragging review. The graphical detail in the game is outstanding. From cars to trees and views, especially shows in the Monte Carlo Grand Prix, stunning. Career mode again is 5 seasons long, which I see a bit of a shame. Young Drivers Test is still there, held of course at Abu Dhabi, but it does come in handy.

One thing that I would strongly suggest however is to not race on an easier level. I feel that the problem with this type of game is that if it's too easy, perhaps winning back-to-back races in a Force India, it'll just become very, very boring come a quarter of the way through the season. Mechanical problems and having to think of and apply tactical strategies before and in-race just make the race itself a whole lot more interesting and engaging.

The inclusion of F1 Classics adds a different dimension to the game, allowing you to race at the Brands Hatch Grand Prix and Gran Premio de España, competing as, or with, the like of Damon Hill, Michael Schumacher, Alain Prost and so on in their respective cars. Not something that I play alot, but it gives you a bit of a break from racing with the almost perfect car of 2013.

I'm half-way through the season and haven't regretted buying it so far. It was the price that alerted me to look into buying this game and it was £28 well spent. Would recommend this game to those who like the racing game, but as I said, you'll want a bit of a challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

F1 2013 (PS3)
F1 2013 (PS3) by Imports (PlayStation 3)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews