Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
Oh yes, the 1970s and 1980s I er, remember them well. Well actually, I now recall some aspects of those decades a lot better thanks to this book. It was a time when a lot took place on our railway system and this book succinctly balances the business, the prime movers (all those HSTs nicking work off some of our favourite locomotive classes), the promotions and some of the people involved. May all your BRUTES be blue ones.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Greg has done well in this new book, takes you back to some of the event's of the days gone by
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This is a great introduction to a complex subject. It avoids the excessive detail that you so often get in railway books, but gives a decent overview.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Author had a good grasp of the subject. A reasonable summary of British Railways' history of the two decades specified. Illustrations were good too.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Avery well described book,a lot archive material posters from the 1970s. Yes excellent reading well put together. old and New a must.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
A very good & concise history of the BR heyday that I remember as a child nice to read what was happening in the days I remember of those big blue & yellow desiels clunking around
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Some great photo's and recollections prompting memories from my teenage years - recommended !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
A very interesting read and charts the much maligned BR through a very interesting period.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Thoroughly interesting a good book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
A good read,
it covers the period but with out going into to much depth
If you want a synopsis on BR in the 70/80's then this is the book for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)