Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film
I though it would be good, but it was even better.
Storyline was interesting and as a ,,of the sea'' person I enjoyed every moment.
Cast was very good and all actors have done excellent performances.
It was all so real and natural.
Gerard Butler was in this film brilliant.
Thank you all.
Published 12 months ago by Ocean Girl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars chasing mavericks
The best bit about the film is the surfing footage which was great.The film seemed slightly down beat and slow with butlers grouchy character becoming tiresome after a while" lighten up" surfings fun!
Published 4 months ago by alfa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 31 Mar 2013
I though it would be good, but it was even better.
Storyline was interesting and as a ,,of the sea'' person I enjoyed every moment.
Cast was very good and all actors have done excellent performances.
It was all so real and natural.
Gerard Butler was in this film brilliant.
Thank you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Pillar., 21 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, I only ordered this film for the heart-pounding surfing scenes (which were indeed fantastic AND real), barely hoping to also enjoy the script and the acting. Based on a true-life story of the legendary precocious surfer Jay Moriarity, played with boyish appeal by Jonny Weston, who, I thought, did a great job. Generally, the whole cast were very good and all actors performed excellently. I have a love-hate (more hate) relationship with Gerard Butler, but he was very organic and natural in the role of Frosty, this film was made for him.

"Chasing Mavericks" simply follows one young boy's extraordinary determination and training to conquer the legendary Maverick waves, at the same time touching on breaking and mending hearts, philosophical musings, high-school romance and father-son bonds. Sounds cheesy, right? Nevertheless I really enjoyed this film. It ain't The Endless Summer Collectors Edition (2 Disc) [DVD], but it is not trying to be. It is simply a good surfing movie.

What I did not at all expect is the tears at the end. What a story (and I am referring to the actual story of the life - and death - of Jay Moriarty, not the narrative of the film).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a GREAT surfing true story, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
This is a true story. Gerard Butler,Frosty, is a strong yet humble character who trains a fatherless boy to surf the most ENORMOUS waves......the wonders of creation !. The photography takes your breath away,the awesomeness of the sea and surfers. There is everything to like about this film,nothing to dislike. Top marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aazing cineatography!!, 16 Mar 2013
This film is worth watching for its great cinematography. Even if you are not a surfing fan, see this movie. It is really worth it. The waves are real!!. Gerard Butler is also very good as Frosty Hesson and Johnny Weston has also given a good performance as Jay. This is a true story about Jay Moriarty who rode these great waves at a very young age proving how we can do whatever we really want to!!
Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing mavericks, 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
Just excellent, this is the type of film you watch when you have had a long day at work and just want an uplifting, truly inspiring film to watch 110% a film to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Cinematography, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
I absolutely loved the dvd. One of Gerard Butlers best movies. A few cliches along the way, but overall a true touching story The cinematography in this film is just stunning.Whoever photographed it did a great job. Lovely cast.....all played their parts well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
chasing mavericks is an excellent film based on a true story im not into surfing but i admire the skill involed, the filming of surfing is absolutely amazing, story line is good and keeps you interested throughout, gerard bulter is fantastic as frosty hesson one of his finest performances to date, the rest of the cast are all excellent in their roles giving very convincing performances, that you actually care about the characters,moving,uplifting and inspiring movie well worth watching suitable for the whole family you dont have to be a surfing fan to enjoy this, watch enjoy you wont be dissapointed.[ did nt write description of film as thats posted above]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars snooze-fest, 12 Mar 2014
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (DVD)
Slow moving, poor cast, cheezy and boring- maybe I would've enjoyed it more if it wasn't so predictable. Surf's not up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Blu-ray)
Great film, great surfing, shows how powerful Mavericks really is. Flea was a stand out and will always be remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Film, 23 Feb 2014
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery. A great feel good film, based on a true story. Excellent surfing. Well worth watching. A good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2be4e0)

This product

Chasing Mavericks [DVD]
Chasing Mavericks [DVD] by Curtis Hanson (DVD - 2013)
6.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews