Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film
I though it would be good, but it was even better.
Storyline was interesting and as a ,,of the sea'' person I enjoyed every moment.
Cast was very good and all actors have done excellent performances.
It was all so real and natural.
Gerard Butler was in this film brilliant.
Thank you all.
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by Ocean Girl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a "totally awesome" or "totally tubular" in sight. Totally bogus dude!!
Based on a true story means that the film doesn't have to rely too much on original writing, which is lucky for this movie. While the surfing scenes are good, the story does tend to limp along a little. There is plenty of emotion in the movie but it is glossed up and laid on thick. TV matinee material.
Published 11 months ago by LINGO


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 31 Mar. 2013
I though it would be good, but it was even better.
Storyline was interesting and as a ,,of the sea'' person I enjoyed every moment.
Cast was very good and all actors have done excellent performances.
It was all so real and natural.
Gerard Butler was in this film brilliant.
Thank you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth Pillar., 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, I only ordered this film for the heart-pounding surfing scenes (which were indeed fantastic AND real), barely hoping to also enjoy the script and the acting. Based on a true-life story of the legendary precocious surfer Jay Moriarity, played with boyish appeal by Jonny Weston, who, I thought, did a great job. Generally, the whole cast were very good and all actors performed excellently. I have a love-hate (more hate) relationship with Gerard Butler, but he was very organic and natural in the role of Frosty, this film was made for him.

"Chasing Mavericks" simply follows one young boy's extraordinary determination and training to conquer the legendary Maverick waves, at the same time touching on breaking and mending hearts, philosophical musings, high-school romance and father-son bonds. Sounds cheesy, right? Nevertheless I really enjoyed this film. It ain't The Endless Summer Collectors Edition (2 Disc) [DVD], but it is not trying to be. It is simply a good surfing movie.

What I did not at all expect is the tears at the end. What a story (and I am referring to the actual story of the life - and death - of Jay Moriarty, not the narrative of the film).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a GREAT surfing true story, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
This is a true story. Gerard Butler,Frosty, is a strong yet humble character who trains a fatherless boy to surf the most ENORMOUS waves......the wonders of creation !. The photography takes your breath away,the awesomeness of the sea and surfers. There is everything to like about this film,nothing to dislike. Top marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Cares About the Story! Just Catch the Action!, 30 April 2014
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks [DVD] (DVD)
I will admit straight away that I am possibly the world’s worst surfer! If I manage to get through the surf at all, it inevitably leads to multiple wipe outs. Those I am a leading expert on, but hey if you can’t surf then the next best thing is to watch a decent surf film, and they are pretty thin on the ground. John Milius’s elegiac coming of age hymn to sixties surfing “Big Wednesday”(78) has to be my favourite. That film also features some big wave action! Then there is Bruce Brown’s seminal “The Endless Summer”(66), with its quirky narration and great sense of fun. Aside from those and a few good documentaries there has not been anything of real quality, which probably indicates how hard it is to make a surf movie. Fans want to see a decent chunk of surf action in the film, which makes it hard to squeeze in a meaningful story. In truth this one is not very different in that respect, but that said it is genuine and honest in its attempt to dramatise the life of surf legend Jay Moriarty. It also happens to contain a lot of adrenalin fuelled action on monstrous waves.

In the film we follow young Jay, played by newcomer Jonny Weston, as he learns the skills needed to survive the huge waves at mighty Mavericks in northern California. He is mentored by his surfing neighbour Frosty Hesson played by Gerard Butler. Young Jay has a lot to learn before he takes on the big one when El Nino blows. In between the surf action there are growing up issues, and tragedy also rears its ugly head. It is easy to shoot the story down in flames, but to be honest it provides just enough framework of a story without taking away from the surfing which is rightfully at the heart of the movie. A love of the sea and surfing is the overpowering theme that drives the film, and it also gives us an inkling of what drove Jay Moriarty to take the risks he did. The highlight of the film is of course the beautifully shot action on the waves. Those big wave surfers working on the film simply gave their all and put their bodies on the line to jump the rides of a lifetime. The film is worth waiting for just for those final scenes, just as it was in “Big Wednesday”. It is then you forget all about the paper thin story and just get caught up in the action. Those scenes are better than anything I can remember seeing! Butler is much better than I expected and young Weston acquits himself well. The film unsurprisingly failed at the box office. Trying to stay true to the subject matter and appeal to a mainstream audience is a very tricky juggling act. Perhaps like “Big Wednesday”, which was also a flop on its release, it will gain a cult following in time. I hope so! As a tribute to the memory of Jay Moriarty it is a heartfelt one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aazing cineatography!!, 16 Mar. 2013
This film is worth watching for its great cinematography. Even if you are not a surfing fan, see this movie. It is really worth it. The waves are real!!. Gerard Butler is also very good as Frosty Hesson and Johnny Weston has also given a good performance as Jay. This is a true story about Jay Moriarty who rode these great waves at a very young age proving how we can do whatever we really want to!!
Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good waves - but more about relationships, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks [DVD] (DVD)
A really good film on the face of it about surfing , and it contains some great shots of enormous waves and good surfers but it's really a true story about a young boy's struggle for recognition and acceptance and shows what you can achieve if you want something badly enough. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing mavericks, 7 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
Just excellent, this is the type of film you watch when you have had a long day at work and just want an uplifting, truly inspiring film to watch 110% a film to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
chasing mavericks is an excellent film based on a true story im not into surfing but i admire the skill involed, the filming of surfing is absolutely amazing, story line is good and keeps you interested throughout, gerard bulter is fantastic as frosty hesson one of his finest performances to date, the rest of the cast are all excellent in their roles giving very convincing performances, that you actually care about the characters,moving,uplifting and inspiring movie well worth watching suitable for the whole family you dont have to be a surfing fan to enjoy this, watch enjoy you wont be dissapointed.[ did nt write description of film as thats posted above]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Cinematography, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (Region 2) (DVD)
I absolutely loved the dvd. One of Gerard Butlers best movies. A few cliches along the way, but overall a true touching story The cinematography in this film is just stunning.Whoever photographed it did a great job. Lovely cast.....all played their parts well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a "totally awesome" or "totally tubular" in sight. Totally bogus dude!!, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chasing Mavericks (DVD)
Based on a true story means that the film doesn't have to rely too much on original writing, which is lucky for this movie. While the surfing scenes are good, the story does tend to limp along a little. There is plenty of emotion in the movie but it is glossed up and laid on thick. TV matinee material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chasing Mavericks [DVD]
Chasing Mavericks [DVD] by Michael Apted (DVD - 2013)
£3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews