Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this
A thrilling film from start to finish. Possibly one of Al Pacino's best roles to date along with Christopher Walken and a cameo role with Alan Arkin. It is not a film to watch sat next to your local vicar. It is simply life as it possibly is in the USA to some degree. I have no intention of spoiling your entertainment by relating the story as some posters sadly do other...
Published 18 months ago by P. Waller

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely only average
Before I wrote this, I checked out some of the other reviews and, based on what I read, you're probably not going to agree with me. Apparently, from what I've seen, the majority of people who watched `Stand Up Guys' really enjoyed it.

I'm not saying that it wasn't an okay film, but, based on having two of the greatest actors in the leading roles, I thought it...
Published 11 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this, 9 April 2013
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A thrilling film from start to finish. Possibly one of Al Pacino's best roles to date along with Christopher Walken and a cameo role with Alan Arkin. It is not a film to watch sat next to your local vicar. It is simply life as it possibly is in the USA to some degree. I have no intention of spoiling your entertainment by relating the story as some posters sadly do other than to say if you like one or all of the 3 actors then you will not be disappointed. It is simply a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stand up film, 26 April 2013
By 
Al Pacino, whilst acting royalty, has on times turned out the odd turkey, but with this he's back on great form. The same can be said for Christopher Walken, but no one can say that when these guys are on the A game they are dynamite to watch.

And thus this hybrid of comedy, thriller, and drama is superb, if far fetched and unbelievable at times, simply based on the subtle performances from the two leads it breezes along with it's short run time.

The story is simple - Pacino is released from prison and picked up by his old gangster buddy Walken, and they embark on a crazy booze, drug fuelled night of mayhem, involving numerous quirky characters, hookers, car chases, lots of food (random but they do eat a lot in a short space of time in this film) more hookers, assaults, robbery and much too much to list.

The film plays like a swansong to these old legends, as they reminisce about the past and indulge in everything on screen that made them such acting legends in other films.

Though no where near the same in tone (this is far more violent and foul mouthed) it did remind me of the Jack Nicolson/Morgan Freeman movie The bucket list, in that you got too very old world weary characters just hanging out doing wild stuff as they know there time in life is coming to a wind down.

Sometimes sweet, sometimes funny, sometimes sad, but very memorable - a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ageing actors in a solid premise, 18 Sep 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
Stand Up Guys (SUG) is the tale of Val (Al Pacino - Scarface) who, on his release after a 28-year stay in prison, is picked up by Doc (Christopher Walken - The Deer Hunter), an old-friend and work associate from back in the day. The two reminisce about old-times, the jobs they pulled and the women, juxtaposing their lives today. They look up the final member of their trio, ex-driver Hirsch (Alan Arkin - Argo) and decide to hit the town to live like the old-days. As things progress, it becomes clear that the past hasn't stayed the past as ageing mob-boss Claphands (Tio Salamanaca from Breaking Bad) still has a score to settle, can the boys hold their own like they used to? Time will tell...

Stand Up guys is a tale of ageing mobsters, full of retrospective introspection over their lives and the way they used to be. Pacino plays a brilliant character; Val, who no longer cares what the future holds for him after nearly 3 decades inside. His lust for life is commendable though as he really wants to experience things one last time, aided and supported by Doc in all manner of odd requests that bring about some really interesting scenes that allow this triumvirate of hugely capable actors to riff off of one another and let the acting flow. And it doesn't disappoint; SUG delivers ninety-five minutes of quality, even if it is a touch derivative. Pacino asking for a dance is pretty much a reshoot of the same scene in Scent Of A Woman except he can see. Walken's performance is great, he provides advice and reminiscence but is largely a straight-man to Pacino's wild-man. Arkin is solid, again no runaway and the girls at the cat-house (the stunning duo Lucy Punch - Hot Fuzz - & Katheryn Winnick) really add a lot of comic-relief and eye-candy to the production.

So, all this praise and why the four-stars? Well the thing is, despite the hi-jinx and action-packed duration which includes a self-recapping moment where Pacino recounts all of his sins he committed in just this one-day to a Catholic priest in confession (hilarious), SUG is just a rehashing of characters already played. These hugely capable actors don't push the envelope in any respect and it just seems to be another in an endless string of self-parodying films containing geriatric actors (The Red & The Expendables franchises) who constantly run around paraphrasing Lethal Weapon, saying that they are "too old for this ....". All of this is set to fantastic soundtrack featuring some real classic soul hits that are featured prominently in the film.

Extra Content: American Muscle: The Stand Up Stunt Driving Scenes featurette, The Lowdown On Making Stand Up Guys featurette, The Stand Up Songs Of Jon Bon Jovi featurette - of all the music in the film, Jon Bon Jovi was the one I was least interested in hearing from.... There are a couple of deleted scenes and there is an audio-commentary with Director Fisher Stevens.

Whilst SUG is a great film, it's largely a pastiche of other gangster movies, it's exciting, has some great actors, beautiful women and sterling production values but it's all been done before. Recommended, but it's not going to blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely only average, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
Before I wrote this, I checked out some of the other reviews and, based on what I read, you're probably not going to agree with me. Apparently, from what I've seen, the majority of people who watched `Stand Up Guys' really enjoyed it.

I'm not saying that it wasn't an okay film, but, based on having two of the greatest actors in the leading roles, I thought it was going to be better than it was.

Christopher Walken plays a hitman who's charged with the task of `offing' Al Pacino who has been released from prison after 28 years. The only trouble is... they're friends and so Walken takes Pacino on one last night of hell-raising.

It's a good premise and it is at its best when it's sentimental. However, it was also billed as a `comedy' and I didn't find that much to laugh at (primary some smutty jokes about the problems elderly men have between the sheets and that's about it).

Pacino overacts and Walken underacts. And, no matter how great the actors are (and they are great!), the somewhat average script makes little more than an average movie.

I didn't hate it. It passed an hour and a half. It's just I was expecting better, but, like I say, there are a lot of very positive 4 and 5 star reviews, so what do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected gem, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
I got this because my wife and I both like the actors and we just wanted something to watch one evening. I'm not sure what we expected but what we got was:a funny film: a poignant film; some drama; good acting; a gangster film; a film about old age and dying.
The crucial thing is that the film is well written. The dialogue does not consist of continual swearing, which is half what I expected, but it crackles with wit and humour. One of the other reviewers who gave it five stars said you couldn't show this to your vicar - I think you could.
Just one of the best films I've seen recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honour your friends. honour your family, 22 Jun 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand Up Guys (DVD)
The film starts out a bit slow with Al Pacino, being released from jail and picked up by his old an last friend Chirstopher Walkens. What happens next, is a cross between old friends reuniting, grudges, revenge, and honour. After the first 30 minutes the rest of the film is great. I don't want give any spoilers all i will say is old school honour never goes out of style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could do better Guys, 17 Jun 2014
By 
M. Westfallen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this film having seen a trailer for it in another movie and thought it looked very good and funny, after all they always show you the best bits in the trailers don't they?

I thought the acting was slightly less professional than you`d expect from Pacino and Walken, but it was a light hearted film which with innuendos rather than full in your face swearing and sex (which seems the norm these days), it was a film you could watch with other family members who normally complain about the sex and swearing.

I thought the film was 4 stars and my parents (in their 60`s) though 4.5-5 stars....I`m in charge of the Amazon account so I give it and overall 4 for great entertainment for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, but otherwise very good, 3 May 2014
By 
Chris Jackets (Hellingly, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stand Up Guys (Blu-ray)
This is actually a very good film. It is terrifically acted as you would expect from such a good cast. It does, however, have one failing: it is terribly slow! The story is good - even actually plausible (which is not very often the case in gangster movies) and it moves consistantly towards what rapidly becomes evident wlll be the outcome. And that really is the problem, you very quickly work out that there is only one solution to the situation where a long-time friend and associate is placed in an impossible position and so getting to that solution seems to take so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joy to watch, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw this film I just had to buy it on DVD. The 3 actors are brilliant I love watching the older generation behaving badly, there's not a lot of action but what do you expect from retired mobsters. In places it is really quit touching, and it is a comedy as well maybe some of the younger viewers don't get the humour but I loved every second and would love it if there was a second instalment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful, charming little surprise, 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: Stand Up Guys (Blu-ray)
This film pleasantly surprised me. I was worried that two of my favourite actors were going to belittle themselves in a nothing film. But boy was I wide of the mark. Stellar performances from both, a great on screen partnership. The film was superb, great humour and surprisingly deep. A mini masterpiece, I loved how it mixed a poignant message on life and modern society without losing its humour and being serious. One minute Pacino is giving a beautifully poetic eulogy at a friends graveside the next he has an unrelenting boner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand Up Guys [Blu-ray]
Stand Up Guys [Blu-ray] by Fisher Stevens (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews