Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this
A thrilling film from start to finish. Possibly one of Al Pacino's best roles to date along with Christopher Walken and a cameo role with Alan Arkin. It is not a film to watch sat next to your local vicar. It is simply life as it possibly is in the USA to some degree. I have no intention of spoiling your entertainment by relating the story as some posters sadly do other...
Published on 9 April 2013 by P. Waller

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely only average
Before I wrote this, I checked out some of the other reviews and, based on what I read, you're probably not going to agree with me. Apparently, from what I've seen, the majority of people who watched `Stand Up Guys' really enjoyed it.

I'm not saying that it wasn't an okay film, but, based on having two of the greatest actors in the leading roles, I thought it...
Published 20 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this, 9 April 2013
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A thrilling film from start to finish. Possibly one of Al Pacino's best roles to date along with Christopher Walken and a cameo role with Alan Arkin. It is not a film to watch sat next to your local vicar. It is simply life as it possibly is in the USA to some degree. I have no intention of spoiling your entertainment by relating the story as some posters sadly do other than to say if you like one or all of the 3 actors then you will not be disappointed. It is simply a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ageing actors in a solid premise, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
Stand Up Guys (SUG) is the tale of Val (Al Pacino - Scarface) who, on his release after a 28-year stay in prison, is picked up by Doc (Christopher Walken - The Deer Hunter), an old-friend and work associate from back in the day. The two reminisce about old-times, the jobs they pulled and the women, juxtaposing their lives today. They look up the final member of their trio, ex-driver Hirsch (Alan Arkin - Argo) and decide to hit the town to live like the old-days. As things progress, it becomes clear that the past hasn't stayed the past as ageing mob-boss Claphands (Tio Salamanaca from Breaking Bad) still has a score to settle, can the boys hold their own like they used to? Time will tell...

Stand Up guys is a tale of ageing mobsters, full of retrospective introspection over their lives and the way they used to be. Pacino plays a brilliant character; Val, who no longer cares what the future holds for him after nearly 3 decades inside. His lust for life is commendable though as he really wants to experience things one last time, aided and supported by Doc in all manner of odd requests that bring about some really interesting scenes that allow this triumvirate of hugely capable actors to riff off of one another and let the acting flow. And it doesn't disappoint; SUG delivers ninety-five minutes of quality, even if it is a touch derivative. Pacino asking for a dance is pretty much a reshoot of the same scene in Scent Of A Woman except he can see. Walken's performance is great, he provides advice and reminiscence but is largely a straight-man to Pacino's wild-man. Arkin is solid, again no runaway and the girls at the cat-house (the stunning duo Lucy Punch - Hot Fuzz - & Katheryn Winnick) really add a lot of comic-relief and eye-candy to the production.

So, all this praise and why the four-stars? Well the thing is, despite the hi-jinx and action-packed duration which includes a self-recapping moment where Pacino recounts all of his sins he committed in just this one-day to a Catholic priest in confession (hilarious), SUG is just a rehashing of characters already played. These hugely capable actors don't push the envelope in any respect and it just seems to be another in an endless string of self-parodying films containing geriatric actors (The Red & The Expendables franchises) who constantly run around paraphrasing Lethal Weapon, saying that they are "too old for this ....". All of this is set to fantastic soundtrack featuring some real classic soul hits that are featured prominently in the film.

Extra Content: American Muscle: The Stand Up Stunt Driving Scenes featurette, The Lowdown On Making Stand Up Guys featurette, The Stand Up Songs Of Jon Bon Jovi featurette - of all the music in the film, Jon Bon Jovi was the one I was least interested in hearing from.... There are a couple of deleted scenes and there is an audio-commentary with Director Fisher Stevens.

Whilst SUG is a great film, it's largely a pastiche of other gangster movies, it's exciting, has some great actors, beautiful women and sterling production values but it's all been done before. Recommended, but it's not going to blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stand up film, 26 April 2013
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Al Pacino, whilst acting royalty, has on times turned out the odd turkey, but with this he's back on great form. The same can be said for Christopher Walken, but no one can say that when these guys are on the A game they are dynamite to watch.

And thus this hybrid of comedy, thriller, and drama is superb, if far fetched and unbelievable at times, simply based on the subtle performances from the two leads it breezes along with it's short run time.

The story is simple - Pacino is released from prison and picked up by his old gangster buddy Walken, and they embark on a crazy booze, drug fuelled night of mayhem, involving numerous quirky characters, hookers, car chases, lots of food (random but they do eat a lot in a short space of time in this film) more hookers, assaults, robbery and much too much to list.

The film plays like a swansong to these old legends, as they reminisce about the past and indulge in everything on screen that made them such acting legends in other films.

Though no where near the same in tone (this is far more violent and foul mouthed) it did remind me of the Jack Nicolson/Morgan Freeman movie The bucket list, in that you got too very old world weary characters just hanging out doing wild stuff as they know there time in life is coming to a wind down.

Sometimes sweet, sometimes funny, sometimes sad, but very memorable - a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely only average, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
Before I wrote this, I checked out some of the other reviews and, based on what I read, you're probably not going to agree with me. Apparently, from what I've seen, the majority of people who watched `Stand Up Guys' really enjoyed it.

I'm not saying that it wasn't an okay film, but, based on having two of the greatest actors in the leading roles, I thought it was going to be better than it was.

Christopher Walken plays a hitman who's charged with the task of `offing' Al Pacino who has been released from prison after 28 years. The only trouble is... they're friends and so Walken takes Pacino on one last night of hell-raising.

It's a good premise and it is at its best when it's sentimental. However, it was also billed as a `comedy' and I didn't find that much to laugh at (primary some smutty jokes about the problems elderly men have between the sheets and that's about it).

Pacino overacts and Walken underacts. And, no matter how great the actors are (and they are great!), the somewhat average script makes little more than an average movie.

I didn't hate it. It passed an hour and a half. It's just I was expecting better, but, like I say, there are a lot of very positive 4 and 5 star reviews, so what do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Standing up the right way..., 19 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
Hey ole timer, how's it hanging?. If you're a drugged-up, loose cannon and former criminal like Al Pacino, who just got released after 28 years in the slammer for killing the son of a gangland boss who now wants revenge, it's a very firm, twelve o'clock high...

This feels like a cross between Glen Garry Glen Ross, Sexy Beast and Last Vegas with bits of Reservoir Dogs thrown in at the end. (although the second latter was made a few months later and did much better at the box office). The running time is way too short, the plot a bit thin on the ground and subplots even thinner (a nice touch with the granddaughter bit though), but still, this was a good watch. There's nothing intentionally crude or lewd about this, only a bitter, staunch feminist would say so. (ref: the scenes in the brothel and where he asks the much younger ladies to dance and she throws a drink in his face for being coarse).

This feisty little action-comedy, reminded me of the recent British gangland flick, 'We still kill the old way' which has a similar mentality and basic revenge is always the main ingredient. But this doesn't have enough action, and its hard to show really nasty bits in a movie that's supposed to be an action comedy, but the thing that bugs me most of all is why ask a first time feature director (Fisher Stevens) to do this movie with veteran actors? He's been involved in movies/documentaries a long time, but this is a near first time director of this type of movie per se. Was it like Patrick Hughes for Expendables 3 - let's see how he does, let's give him a break? This should have been Brian De Palma or David Lynch minimum, who would have made it much better... (there is a copy cat Frank Booth scene in the residential care home). But I guess either of them would have costed a lot more and would they have taken the project anyway? Who knows.

I do like the mentality of it though, the soundtrack (by another famous old timer called Jon Bon Jovi), the banter is good, the supplication of the characters, trying to show some empathy, remorse and regret, trying to make out they once (not sure when) ever gave a stuff - but still not caring in the end, because a leopard never changes its spots? Once a killer, always a killer. Yes if the, too short of an ending, is anything to go by.

Al Pacino was amazing in Heat (can't believe it's been 20 years since that) - still one of the best movies you'll ever watch.... In this he fills the screen, despite his lack of height, his presence is a force of nature. Walken (who is much taller, but less well known) has been around too. But we don't get to see enough of Arkin though, his time was up too soon. The other background cast do ok, but seem anonymous really to the overall plot and idea of the movie.

Not sure if this was made in competition with Last Vegas (for all the similarities) (as a side bar - just like Tombstone and Costner's Wyatt Earp in the mid 90s both released around the same time - we know who won that one) But for what it is, there's nothing wrong with this. But like 'We still kill the old way' it's way too short on running time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could do better Guys, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
M. Westfallen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this film having seen a trailer for it in another movie and thought it looked very good and funny, after all they always show you the best bits in the trailers don't they?

I thought the acting was slightly less professional than you`d expect from Pacino and Walken, but it was a light hearted film which with innuendos rather than full in your face swearing and sex (which seems the norm these days), it was a film you could watch with other family members who normally complain about the sex and swearing.

I thought the film was 4 stars and my parents (in their 60`s) though 4.5-5 stars....I`m in charge of the Amazon account so I give it and overall 4 for great entertainment for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow, but otherwise very good, 3 May 2014
By 
Chris Jackets (Hellingly, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stand Up Guys (Blu-ray)
This is actually a very good film. It is terrifically acted as you would expect from such a good cast. It does, however, have one failing: it is terribly slow! The story is good - even actually plausible (which is not very often the case in gangster movies) and it moves consistantly towards what rapidly becomes evident wlll be the outcome. And that really is the problem, you very quickly work out that there is only one solution to the situation where a long-time friend and associate is placed in an impossible position and so getting to that solution seems to take so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joy to watch, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw this film I just had to buy it on DVD. The 3 actors are brilliant I love watching the older generation behaving badly, there's not a lot of action but what do you expect from retired mobsters. In places it is really quit touching, and it is a comedy as well maybe some of the younger viewers don't get the humour but I loved every second and would love it if there was a second instalment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Great actors in a lousy film, 2 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
Great actors in a lousy film! So boring we only managed 45 mins before ejecting. I was amazed to see all the 5 star reviews on Amazon but I guess that is more for Al Pacino and Christopher Walken as for the actual film. They are both great actors and the premise of the film seemed like it would be a winning combination so I was shocked at how boring it was. As mentioned, the two actors do a great job of portraying 2 old has been gangsters but the story is lame and slow. Spoiler alert - the only exciting/amusing thing to happen was Al taking a whole bottle of Viagra, no wait, that was basically the only thing that happened in the first half of the film. Perhaps all the action and comedy was packed into the second half of the film but unfortunately I couldn't take any more. You can buy this film new and sealed on Amazon for just over £1 so that should tell you everything you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Zimmer Frame Up, 7 May 2015
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stand Up Guys [DVD] (DVD)
A gangster movie for old geezers as Al Pacino gets out of the slammer to face the revenge of his former boss. A strange mixture of violence, erectile dysfunction and saccharine sentiment, saved by Christopher Walken's quiet acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand Up Guys [Blu-ray]
Stand Up Guys [Blu-ray] by Fisher Stevens (Blu-ray - 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews