Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incisive and an entertaining read
"'Coffers' – where organisations of which we disapprove keep their money"

Hutton has cleverly identified the way that newspapers use language (often language never found outside of newspapers) to suit their agenda, and provides an entertaining guide to decoding it. A great book to dive into occasionally, especially when irritated with the media...
Published 13 months ago by Chalfont

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, but...
...it was very short. I had imagined more about each word, but after an initial discussion it lapsed into lists.
Published 6 months ago by Jill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and Entertaining, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book for any would be journalist or anyone who is interested in the phrases and language they use. Gym slip mothers and the like.

I picked up the kindle version for 99p, and I would not pay anymore for it, there are amusing parts, but most of the material is something you would read on a blog for free rather than pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version review: Nifty. Brief. Worth it., 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Nifty, brief and powerful writing that isn't meant to be anything other than a succinct digest. Helpful for media students and teachers without personal experience of the paper news world and its view: maybe the acerbic humour born of the media warfare state of mind may not be understood at first glance but I can sadly assure you it's genuine.
Kindle format works best in portrait setting and index is handy and functional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, short but enjoyable, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Raymond Sullivan (north Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Some laugh out loud bits, but generally just good fun. Will keep you amused on a journey or in a waiting room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A dictionary of terms, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Richard Bestic (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny, but possibly a little entre nous. Romps Tots and Boffins also has the merit of being true - and the little observations are quite clever. As Robert says, foreign Correspondents, for example don't ever just drop in where they've been on their travels, they mention it in the context of saying something entirely different. Well spotted Robert, I can see you've been to those parties where foreign corrs. relentless expound their 'when I' stories to one another. rb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny book and great for dipping, 9 Sep 2014
By 
Peers Carter (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Until I read this, I had not realised how many of these journalistic shorthand phrases they were.

A very funny book and great for dipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
An amusing list of words and phrases used by journalists. I had most fun thinking of my own favourites and waiting for them to appear. Most did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Great reference guide, but would've preferred more commentary about the provenance and usage of various phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK without being outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a dictionary than anything, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Okay book and did make me laugh in places but too much like a dictionary rather than a good read. Would have loved more stories and anecdotes to explain some of the terms better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews