Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incisive and an entertaining read
"'Coffers' – where organisations of which we disapprove keep their money"

Hutton has cleverly identified the way that newspapers use language (often language never found outside of newspapers) to suit their agenda, and provides an entertaining guide to decoding it. A great book to dive into occasionally, especially when irritated with the media...
Published 9 months ago by Chalfont

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, but...
...it was very short. I had imagined more about each word, but after an initial discussion it lapsed into lists.
Published 1 month ago by Jill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romps, Tots and Boffins, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Romps, Tots and Boffins is an amusing compendium of journalese, those idiosyncratic words and phrases that seem to only exist within the pages of newspapers and that are often multi-layered with peculiar meaning. Long-term newsman Robert Hutton has collated this excellent tribute to hyperbole and doublethink and there's bound to be something among the collected inanities to make everyone smile. A couple of favourite examples of journalese that I seem to have encountered a lot in this week's papers: "multimillion - what all developments are. Even a scout hut costs a million these days," "hellraiser - male star who 20 years ago could make women faint by taking his shirt off but who now is just a tubby drunk" and "Svengali - reference to an 1894 novel and a 1931 film. Now always preceded by `pop' and followed by `Simon Cowell'. It means, to those to whom it means anything, someone like Simon Cowell."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars want to read aloud to strangers!!, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book though daunted at reviewing it in case my recent immersion in Journalese causes the odd word to slip in to my review. But review it I must because I want everyone to read it as it adds such a lot to your daily newspaper read. Unbelievable how many of these words/phrases appear everyday once you start to look for them. Difficult book to read in company e.g. my commute, as I constantly wanted to read whole sections to my fellow commuters! Partly to explain my laughing aloud!

A great read, a great Christmas present (anyone being given this book for Christmas would be flattered that you were letting them in on the secret)and great for the imaginative Scrabble player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Hutton, the young Grandee of the language of news, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
A purchased this because of a recommendation from a friend, my friend was very right in the fact that I would enjoy it. I have always been fascinated by some of the odd language we encounter during our day to day lives. Journalists manage to hide some very odd and interesting language in plain sight, this book highlights exactly what they are trying to say.

You will read this book and smirk to yourself (if you have a sense of humour) when you come across much of the language when reading the papers the next day. Well written and a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Very funny book for anyone who takes more than a passing interest in the art of journalism. I would have thought this would be particularly well devoured by working journos thanks to the sprinkling of inside jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journalise, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Very worthy of my 5 sta rating.Absolutely fascinating A good insight into the working world of the journalist word usage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newspapers explained, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very amusing and enlightening eplanation of newspaper speak. The little hardback is so well laid out, itis easy to pick up and dip into. Great, liked it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, but..., 28 May 2014
By 
Jill (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
...it was very short. I had imagined more about each word, but after an initial discussion it lapsed into lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romping through journalese, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
Romps tots and boffins great book very funny,must have been fun to write.The most mundane can sound sensational with little effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Funny, 13 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. Halden "MR H" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book with some really nice touches . It proves that writing for the press is an art and is sometimes a long way from the facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and Entertaining, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romps, Tots and Boffins: The Strange Language of News (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book for any would be journalist or anyone who is interested in the phrases and language they use. Gym slip mothers and the like.

I picked up the kindle version for 99p, and I would not pay anymore for it, there are amusing parts, but most of the material is something you would read on a blog for free rather than pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews